We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and cheap - what more to ask?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caye Casa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caye Casa
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
814 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap - what more to ask?”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spent a few days in this hotel. We had the cheapest room which has no view and only 2 small windows looking to the back. We were ok with this as we did not spend much time during the day in our room. when at the hotel in daytime, we just used the chairs in front of the hotel.
The hotel and surrounding grounds are very clean, not always the case in San Pedro. The room was spacious enough, had a fridge as well as a couple of plates and some utensils. The AC worked well. And wifi was fast enough and worked also outside when you sit in front of the property.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant recommendations were all good.
They paid for the taxis to and from the property and you also we got complimentary drinks on arrival. The price was excellent for what we had as this island is not cheap. The rooms with kitchen should be good too if you want to cook although I am not sure anybody does.
They have a dock right in front of the hotel and the beach is reasonably clean. You are a short walk to all the action. Not sure why people can't walk in such a small town and feel the need to rent those annoying noisy "golf cart". Avoid the street and walk along the beach, there is hardly anyone there, go figure.
Can't ask much in terms of possible improvements. Maybe a curtain on the window would allow to sleep in bit more although you are right behind the reception so it is noisy in the morning in any case. People should be aware that the shower is in the bathroom and not enclosed. See my photos to understand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    43
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
180
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for two weeks at Caye Casa and was very impressed. The service is terrific, George, Andrew, Beth ans Julie were very helpful with all reservations. The resident dog, Reef is amazing. Maid services daily and are so friendly. Close to all services and a bakery right behind the hotel! Very intimate hotel with just a few rooms, which gives opportunity to visit with other guests or be by yourselves. Thanks Miss Julie for creating a most wonderful establishment..looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Caye Casa is a very quint & quiet boutique resort. Miss Julie makes sure you have everything needed as well as her staff and Reef, the resident dog, makes sure no one is on property that shouldn't be. My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. Your also right near Mateo's, which is a great little local bar that also carries American Football. We would definitely stay there again when back on Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteorPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week stay. It was wonderful. Beautiful view and convenient location. The staff (George and Andrew) were friendly and made snorkeling and dinner reservations. They took care of everything. Will stay there again on our next visit.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Caye Casa for one week in November and absolutely loved it. We were on the 2nd floor in a simple room, but it was perfect for us. The staff is amazing and the location of the hotel is perfect for those who don't want to be in town. Everything is just a short walk away and it's nice to be able to retreat at the end of the day to quiet, cozy place. We will definitely be returning and would advise any traveler to visit Belize and stay a Caye Casa.

Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews and am glad I did. This is a great place to relax and enjoy San Pedro. For some reason we got upgraded to a suit on the first floor (second floor in "American"), which was terrific. The balcony overlooking the ocean is where we spent a lot of time during the day, particularly as the weather was rainy and stormy. The staff is wonderful, especially George and Andrew, two very polite and helpful young men. The property is about a 15 minute from the town itself, which keeps it insulated from the hustle and bustle. One can walk on the beach, and we felt perfectly safe going up and down, even at night. The rooms are tastefully decorated. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeshiMusafeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was a great place to stay. As a solo traveller, the single room was the perfect size for what I needed and it was always kept very clean. The location is ideally situated on the north end of San Pedro and is only a 15 minute walk from the airport through the centre of town (Bike and golf cart rentals are available throughout town and taxi service is also available). It is also in close proximity to the majority of restaurants and dive operators in town. Andrew met me when I arrived and was very helpful in booking excursions and making recommendations on places to eat, all of which were very good. All the staff were very friendly, including Reef the German Shepherd, and will help you wherever they can to make your experience a good one.
Even though I stayed in a one bedroom unit, the two bedroom units have kitchens if you do not want to eat out all the time and there are many grocery stores close by.
Overall, this is great hotel if you are looking for somewhere quiet to get away, but be close to everything in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
776 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
993 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
941 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Casa

Property: Caye Casa
Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caye Casa is an exclusive boutique hotel on the beach in Belize. It is the perfect barefoot base for the adventure of exploring San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. Beachfront. Small. Quiet. Elegant. Private. Attractive. Convenient. Caye Casa is a sanctuary for the discriminating tourist yet all of San Pedro is still at your fingertips. It's all about location. We're close to town; yet far enough away to hear the birds in the morning and watch the blue herons fish during the day. We offer all the charm of San Pedro with the privacy of your own beach. Walking along the beach, you can choose from dozens of restaurants and bars - you're not captive. Here you are an individual. Around the corner is a fitness center. On the beach next door is a masseuse. Caye Casa offers all the amenities most people desire and provides you with the convenience you require - wifi, like running water, air conditioning, food, restaurants, bars, shopping and a wonderful vacation. There’s nothing else like it in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caye Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caye Casa Hotel San Pedro
Caye Casa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing