We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Clean & Comfortable Rooms”
Review of Caye Casa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caye Casa
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location! Clean & Comfortable Rooms”
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Caye Casa in January. Julie, the proprietor is extremely nice and welcoming, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed on the top level, which has a great view and a private balcony with great breezes - what more could you ask for?
The location is great, a nice walk down the beach to town, but not too busy or noisy like other resorts on the beach can be. My only complaint is that there was no hair dryer in the room, but after about a minute I realized: why do I need a hair dryer anyway? We enjoyed our relaxing time at Caye Casa and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quimbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    45
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
186
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed at Caye Casa at the end of July for about a week. It's amazing!!! Great location, a little north of the "downtown". It's just about a ten minute stroll to the center of town. I checked out a few other hotels and resorts during my stay and I would still definitely come back to Caye Casa. Belize is amazing and the Cayes were a great way to end my trip. I can't wait to go back!

Julie and her staff are great. The rooms are impeccably clean and everyone is friendly and helpful! One afternoon while I was laying out Julie offered me a ride to check out the island a little further north. Ms. B recommended Eco Divers, where her son works, they were awesome! Boxter is tons of fun to go out with, he's happy to give you a ride to wherev the best music is that evening! I can't stress enough how much I highly recommend this place!!! Don't go to a resort and spend more money for less quality accommodations. Caye Casa is amazing!! I cannot wait to come back!

I recommend going to Caye Casa's website. Their photos and 360 views are completely accurate. Everything REALLY does look that amazing when you get there! :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandolph84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Julie and her staff took care of what little needs we had immediately, and always with a smile. The room, Water Caye, was great with a full kitchen 2 bedrooms and an awesome view of the beach and ocean. We opened the windows and doors everyday and just let the breeze keep the place perfectly temperate. There is a bakery right around the corner and a little corner store just beyond that. It's an easy walk along the beach to restaurants or town for shopping. Zero complaints and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjennings124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We stayed on the top floor in a 2bed/2bath condo at Caye Casa for 7 nights and were more than satisfied with our choice. Caye Casa is an excellent alternative to some of the island's bigger resorts. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning with the view of the turquoise sea. Our balcony overlooked a quiet courtyard lined with tropical shrubbery. Julie and Capt Boxter took excellent care to make sure our trip was perfect. Julie's an extremely gracious hostess who will make you feel like this is your Caribbean home. She arranged a personalized welcome banner and to have our kitchen stocked before we arrived. Also, she scheduled our island transfers, diving, sailing, snorkeling and rented our golf cart for the week. Her help made the trip quite simple.

We visited San Pedro in the off-season so some of the restaurants were closed but not all. Our favorites were: Wild Orchids, Blue Water Grill, Calliente, Lazy Croc Barbecue, Jambel Jerk, Waraguma and Elvi's.

On Wednesdays at 6pm, the Pier Lounge has a contest called the Chicken Drop. It's a funny little adventure and worth it, if you have the time to spare.

The kindest man in the world is Hipolito Ruiz of Polo's Golf Cart Rentals ([--]). He delivered our cart to us and was so helpful with directions and hints about the island. On the last day, we arrived (unannounced) to drop off our cart and walk to the airport. He wouldn't hear of it. He stopped what he was doing and drove us to the plane.

In our group, there are people who have been diving for years all of the world (Austrailia, Thailand, etc). They said this was the best diving they've ever seen in terms of wildlife. We saw dolphins, sharks, rays, turtles, eels and an abudance of fish. It was fantastic. We dove with Chuck & Robbie's Dive Shop ([--]). They took care of us completely, even cleaning and housing our equipment so we didn't have to carry it back to the condo each night. There was a slight misunderstanding. At the end of our trip, I was surprised by some additional charges for BCs, Regulators, Flash Lights and Wetsuites because I thought that our dive package was charged at a total amount. My fault, I should have been specific on what was included in the package. At any rate, I'll definately dive with them again.

All and all it was a perfect vacation and I can't wait to go back next May!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSULizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed in a Casita at Caye Casa for 3 nights in May. I did a lot of research before selecting this property, and would not have wanted to stay elsewhere! Located about a 10 minute walk from town, it was the perfect distance making it accessible to restaurants, shops and activities, but not right in the thick of things. Right around the corner from two large supermarkets, small local markets and a fantastic bakery, we had breakfast every morning sitting on the front porch of our Casita. The rooms were spotless, Julie and her staff were more than helpful in suggesting activities and restaurants and after a long day in the heat, having the option of using the AC at night was a lifesaver! If you have small kids or are avid swimmers, the pool is very small -- more to just get wet to escape the heat -- and the beach across the "street" is nice, but you cannot go into the water due to rocks, plant life, etc.

All in all, an enjoyable and AFFORDABLE stay...Would recommend it to anyone going to San Pedro!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We just finished spending 7 nights at caye casa and absoutely enjoyed ourselves. It is a quiet place that is north of the busier downtown area but not too far to walk to. The room we stayed in (#2) was quaint but clean and has a nice view of the ocean and pier. It came with a microwave, small fridge and sink. There are other bigger rooms that are really nice and have full kitchens. The air conditioning comes in handy and they provide clean drinking water and the chairs on the porch make for a nice place to relax at the end of the day (or anytime)
Julie and Boxter are very helpful in answering any questions and Reef, the little puppy German Shepard, keeps everyone laughing.
Restaurant suggestions - (in order) Hidden Treasure, Wild Mango, Blue Water Grill, Sunset Grill, Elvi's....breakfast - Estel's, George's
Rent bikes and see the island north and south
We used Ecological divers for SCUBA diving and liked them
Strongly recommend Tanisha for the Laminai tours,cave tubing

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YahtzeeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at Caye Casa this month and it was a beautiful place. We were given a fabulous room ......Julie upgraded us and even accomodated us showing up a night early! It is a great location- close to town: shopping and dining. The staff was great and helpful. They were even able to take care of our laundry which saved us a walk to town with dirty clothes.
There is a great pier out front to swim from which was great for us. It is an ideal spot to hang out and relax. But it is close enough to walk to town and enjoy all the day and night time activities!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in San Pedro
141 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Casa

Property: Caye Casa
Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Casa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caye Casa is an exclusive boutique hotel on the beach in Belize. It is the perfect barefoot base for the adventure of exploring San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. Beachfront. Small. Quiet. Elegant. Private. Attractive. Convenient. Caye Casa is a sanctuary for the discriminating tourist yet all of San Pedro is still at your fingertips. It's all about location. We're close to town; yet far enough away to hear the birds in the morning and watch the blue herons fish during the day. We offer all the charm of San Pedro with the privacy of your own beach. Walking along the beach, you can choose from dozens of restaurants and bars - you're not captive. Here you are an individual. Around the corner is a fitness center. On the beach next door is a masseuse. Caye Casa offers all the amenities most people desire and provides you with the convenience you require - wifi, like running water, air conditioning, food, restaurants, bars, shopping and a wonderful vacation. There’s nothing else like it in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caye Casa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caye Casa Hotel San Pedro
Caye Casa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing