We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caye Casa
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Spindrift Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pedro's Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$430
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Seas Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Tide Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$382
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$237
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
248
49
7
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
49
7
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguard doggerman shepherdclassic roomopen showerhotel dogmassage tentgolf cartgreat boutiquesmall poolnight security guardboutique hotelnight watchmancoffee makerfront porchshort walkbars and restaurantssmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Caye Casa is terrific. The rooms are new and clean, the staff happy and friendly. Julie and Captain Boxter are so nice. The location could not have been more beautiful, as you could easliy walk on the beach to downtown, and around the corner to a great bakery or local food. The view is outstanding, as is the value. In the past, we stayed out in resort hotels where you need a boat to get to town, and we really liked this a lot better.

This was a second time back at Caye Casa and we stayed for 12 days. My sister and I have already booked two weeks for 2011. We also fell in love with Reef , the hotel dog, who we were allowed to walk every day.

It doesn't get better than Caye Casa.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJALaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We chose this hotel based on the price and great trip advisor reviews. It was an excellent choice.

Location: Although the hotel is little more removed from the central portion of the beach where most restaurants are located, its location is great. It sits in the quiet south end of the beach and very close to a bakery which is a plus since eating at restaurants can be somewhat expensive in San Pedro. We walked to the bakery each morning for a breakfast under $5 for 2 people. It is ~ 0.5 mile away from most restaurants but this was not an issue since we rented a golf cart for all 3 days of our stay. We had not planned to do this, but once we got there, we realized that it is incredibly difficult to walk ANY distance in the burning sun and 90% humidity. Therefore, highly recommend gold cart rental which will enable you to explore the north portion of the island (4-5 miles away).

Beach: As with most hotels, Caye Casa does not have a good swimming beach because underwater grass comes right upto the shore. Most hotels, including this one, have a pier which goes out to a semi-grass-free area where one can swim. This is the case with most if not all hotels.

Rooms: The hotel looks very newly built. All floors are tile with very modern room decor, furniture and bedding. We stayed in a middle-of -the-tier room ($85 per night) and had our own balcony with a partial beach view. There was a fridge in the room and the hotel provided large bins of drinking water which we cooled in the fridge. The bathrooms are also super modern with good water pressure and temperature.

Service: The hotel is staffed by 2 extremely friendly office workers (in their 20s). It was a pleasure dealing with them each time. They were very helpful and accomodating. There is no restaurant on site which is not a big deal and is actually a good thing since this usually causes large crowd gatherings which can disrupt a nice vacation.

Tours: My husband and I love snorkeling. There is nowhere one can do this off the beach because of the grass and lack of reef 1-2 miles off beach. Therefore, there are several companies on the island that arrange snorkeling trips to the protected reef areas which are absolutely AWESOME. We took one of these tours (with aqua dives) and were deeply dissapointed. Boats go out for only 2 hrs and lot of time is wasted getting people in/out of the boat. in addition, the guide insisted that we all stay close to him and we ended up being kicked in the head, kicking others in the head and seeing lots of fins and butts instead of having a better view of the reef. We thought the reef was amazing and wanted to see more of it, so the 2nd time we payed little more ($120 for 2 people) and took Caye Casa's Captain Baxter's tour. It was EXCELLENT. It was just me and my husband and Captain Baxter who told us to take as much time as we wanted on the reef. So we ended up staying 3 hrs and exploring on our own. Highly recommend doing this if you really like snorkeling. It is little more expensive than $35/person that most other companies charge, but you get 1/4 as much snorkeling with them.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shopsudan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We loved everything abut Cay Casa. We stayed in room 8 which takes up the entire third floor, for 6 nights. This was our 7th visit to San Pedro and our first at Caye Casa - we will never stay elsewhere. Julie and her staff are amazing. Perfect in every respect, thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We recently spent 8 days at Caye Casa, staying in the 1st floor 2 bed/2 bath villa. Very roomy, modern, and well kept. Bottled water was supplied. Water pressure in the showers was very good. Total size must have been around 1500 sq. ft. Julie and her staff do a very good job of making sure that the property is kept up and things run smoothly. Shared the villa with another couple and never felt cramped. Location is great, as it's quiet, but close enough to town to walk to the stores, dive shops etc. There's a bakery with great breakfast rolls a couple of blocks away. We found a little restaurant not far away called Mamita's (a block or two north of Ritchies grocery on Middle street). Great fried and stewed chicken. Also has breakfast. Can be busy right before the kids head to school.
We've stayed at a number of different places on Ambergris over the years, and if you're looking for something that is very nice, close to town, quiet, and a gorgeous view from the veranda, just steps away from the turquoise sea, you can't beat Caye Casa.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granny2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We really liked this place, which was nice, quaint and clean. It was an easy walk to all of the activity, but just far enough away that we felt quite and relaxed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews