We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the BEST Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Everything you are reading in the other excellent reviews are accurate. The villas are exceptionally nice and super clean. There were 2 of us and we rented a 2 bed/2 bath and had plenty of room. The service is truly top notch. Terri didn't just arrange all of our activities with ease and good humor, we watched her give the same time and consideration to others. The food is good here but they have no problem recommending other excellent places to eat as well. They have free bikes and kayaks to check out, and they also have gas powered golf carts on site to rent. I recommend you get a cart because its 2.5 miles to town. What makes that nice is you don't have people besides other guests around the property or on the beach. Resorts in town get a lot of public traffic.Go to the pier at night, there are rays and huge tarpon looking fish that cruise around there after dark. They also have security that pays attention to who comes and goes. This is a beautiful, comfortable, peaceful, safe place to stay.They do not have so many rooms that the staff is over loaded either. Beds were good and had quality linen. I'm picky about my bed so that was a big plus. We didn't want for anything and if we ever come back to San Pedro, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawlinrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

From the moment we arrived, this place felt like home. Terri greeted us with cool towels and Will met us with rum punch! The resort is breath taking and the pictures do not do it justice. The whole staff (Terri, Ruth, Carol, Will) exceeded our expectations. Every moving they start you with a huge breakfast ( everything tastes great) and greet you with a smile. Terri was able to arrange all of our excursions and was able to give us information on every place we wanted to go. The places they recommended always exceeded our expectations.

The resort is clean and run very smoothly. The beds were comfortable and housecleaning does a great job. The kitchens are stocked with everything you need to cook and the bath products they supply are also good. Additionally, they give you detergent to do laundry, which was a huge plus. The pool is very nice but being on the beach with a private pier was great! We loved to go out swimming and snorkeling around it. The resort is 2.5 miles from town but that did not bother us. Every morning we would bike into town (they provide bikes) and at night we would take a cab, which was 10 US each way. The cab drivers give you their number so you can call then when you want to be picked up ( Carlos and Alberto were who we used and they were great) you just have to ask the place your at to call and they will.

As for Belize, it's a beautiful country where you can relax and have fun. It is very laid back on the island, and the locals were always nice. We did snorkeling with lil Alfonso who was excellent and the Lamani jungle tour (this was a long day but worth it). Our family can't wait to go back and visit again. It was sad to have to leave.

Toniann

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toniannc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This resort is beautiful. We rented an ocean view room and, the view from our back door was insane! The pool was beautiful and clean. The pier is one of the best ammenties of the property. We loved either sitting or swimming and snorkleing right from our "back door". The staff is very nice and takes care of EVERYTHING. Having breakfast provided is a huge plus also. We will return and, will be staying at Pelican Reef again.

Room Tip: Condo 7 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pokerchick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

You remember that feeling you got when you were leaving home when you we young? The quezzy feeling in your stomach, the one that told you that you were not quite ready to go, that you needed just one more hug? Well that is how it felt when we left Pelican Reef Villas, our "home" in San Pedro.

Our hostess, Teri, knew all our names from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with cold towels, fruit punch, and we're quickly introduced to the "no shoes" rule. Each morning started with a big breakfast that everyone loved (make sure to try the pancake sandwich, with banana pancakes, and the fresh squeezed orange juice is a must. As for our days there, Teri asked us a few questions and quickly worked up an itinerary of snorkeling, fishing, ziplining, ruins exploration, and cave tubing. I am a calendar driven person, but ther i threw it all away and just wandered down and found Teri, or any of the other wonderful staff, and the would tell me where to go next, it was great! Nothing to worry about, no clocks to watch, if a cab was needed for us to go some where it would appear without us lifting a finger.

On our last full day Teri arranged to have the chef on-site cook up our fishing catch from the day before and it was waiting for us in our room after our day's adventure (even had rice,fries, and salad with it).

The property is high end, with king and queen bed's in room jacuzzis, kitchenettes, granite counters, and more. It is 2.5 miles from town, which was great from our perspective. We loved the peace and quite.

We can't wait until we can save up our pennies to go back "home" and see our "family" in Belize.

Thank you for a wonderful week Teri and crew.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank DDayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days at Pelican reef in July, and couldn't have been happier. The employees and management are friendly and helpful, the room was gorgeous and the property probably the nicest I saw on the island. It was just outside of town for some privacy, but close enough (5 minutes) to easily go to for dinner, massages, or just people watching.

Fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

When traveling to Belize for our honeymoon, we were unsure where to stay. Unlike more popular destinations such as Europe or the Carribean Islands we did not know anyone who had recently traveled to Belize who could offer suggestions or recommendations. Working off Tripadvisor and various other travel sites we selected our accommodations relatively blind. Pelican Reef comes up #2 for a reason: the fantastic personalized service, intimate environment, quiet beach, and stellar accommodations.

The reservations agent, Karol made booking seamless, helping to arrange our flights to and from Belize City as well as transportation to and from the tiny airport of San Pedro. On arrival at Pelican Reef after nearly 12 hours of travel, we were warmly greeted by name, handed cool minted towels to wipe off the travel, and fresh rum punch drinks by the infinity pool. Terri, the concierge/guest relations coordinator acclimated us to the property, gave us a general orientation of where things are on Ambergis Caye and how to arrange excursions.

Our 2 bedroom/2 bath condo was directly on the beach with a beautiful view of the water, Hol Chan preserve, and Pelican Reef's pier. The condo was warmly decorated and fully stocked with any amenities you need. The washer and dryer is a huge plus as it allowed us to pack lightly for our full 10 day trip to Belize. All we had to bring was a carry-on suitcase for our honeymoon!

Daily we took the complimentary bikes into town, a 2 1/2 mile bike ride one way. What a great way get a feel of the local streets and town! We loved heading out in the morning after our delicious complimentary breakfast (the banana pancakes are a must!) to go on a new adventure each time.

Terri made sure to arrange the excursions and recommend the restaurants that were best for us and what we were looking for from our experience in Belize. From snorkeling at Hol Chan to recommending restaurants as lovely and romantic as Hidden Treasure and insisting we root and holler at Thursday's Chicken Drop at Caliente Restaurant. I feel sure we would have missed out on something special without her and the rest of the wonderful staff's personalized guidance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess and Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Pelican Reef Villas for a week in June. We picked Pelican Reef based on traveller's reviews and were very pleased with the accomodations. Upon check-in, we did encounter a snaffoo with our room; we had been confirmed for an upper level 2 bedroom ocean view unit. (I had requested this via email to Karol the reservation agent/manager, months ahead of time). When we arrived, we waited an hour, only to find out we had been placed in a lower level unit. After providing the documented emails to Karol to confirm what she had promised us (she did not recall confirming my request; and had apparently deleted the email correspondence), we were finally relocated to an upper level room (after another hour and a half of waiting). Though this was a small disappointment and inconvenience for us, we were happy to find that we were eventually placed in a great 2nd floor unit (room #4) looking out upon the ocean. The villa was spacious, with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, and a fully stocked kitchen for our needs. The pool was great, with an infinity edge; and the beach (though unswimmable) was lovely. Pelican Reef, though 2.5 miles from town, was a perfect location for us...far enough from the busy, touristy part of town but only a short bike ride or cab drive (beware the horrendous bumpy roads!!) from PRV. PRV had two bartenders at the swim-up bar...William & Ruth. Though they were both good, we loved William! Great personality and very attentive to our needs.
We spent most of our time relaxing at PRV and bike-riding into town a couple times to check out the local scene. We were there during Lobsterfest and had a blast at the Lobsterfest block party. We did one snorkelling excursion to Hol Chan, which, despite rave reviews, was only mediocre for us. On the day we were there, the water was murky and there were way too many snorkellers in the water; it made it difficult to navigate the waters and see the sea life. The number of organized tours in the water made the experience less than satisfactory for us.
As far as memorable dining experiences at PRV, we loved taking a short walk down the street to the local Tex-Mex restaurant, Mr. Joe's Lone Star restaurant. But by far our best and favorite meal of the trip, however, was Robin's Kitchen, a local family-owned little shack roadside that served barbeque jerk chicken and curried chicken, with beans & rice, plantains and potato salad. It was absolutely delicious!
The Belizean people were a joy to meet and learn from; very nice and warm and welcoming.
Overall, we really enjoyed our relaxing stay in Ambergris Caye at PRV.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachlover575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 53 in San Pedro
356 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
990 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 53 in San Pedro
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £274 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.6 Mls South of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing