We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED EVERY MINUTE! Best hotel in San Pedro!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED EVERY MINUTE! Best hotel in San Pedro!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Where do I begin?! After a long, exhausting morning of flying, my boyfriend Justin and I were welcomed with warm smiles from Terry and Ruth and freshly made rum punchs! We felt instantly at home and were immediately tagged with the nickname "Double J" (LOL).

Although a bit of a golf cart ride from the center of down, Pelican Reef is DEFINITELY where you want to stay! Terry could not have been more accomodating, helping us with dinner reservations/recommendations, cab rides and golf cart rentals and nightlife/bar suggestions. She even arranged a PRIVATE tour for us in Belize City (yup, just Charlie our tourguide, Justin and myself!) where we cave tubed, ziplined and toured the Xunantunich ruins - so much fun! Thank you Terry for hooking us up!

Some other things totally worth mentioning - our condo was beautiful (Room 21), we had free breakfast EVERY morning (and the food was awesome), the drinks were delicious, the Infinity pool was beautiful, the dock was super nice to relax on and the service was OUTSTANDING. We were so sad to leave, but loved the hugs we got from everyone as we were about to get into our cab! Where else do you get hugs from everyone on your last day - including the owner (thanks for everything Greg)?! We will definitely be back and would absolutely recommend Pelican Reef to anyone looking for a wonderful vacation in San Pedro.

Terry, Ruth and Greg - thank you again! With Hurricane Sandy just days behind us, we are already missing Belize so much!! If you are every in the NY area, let us know - we would love to show you around!

xo - Jenn and Justin

Room Tip: We opted for the partial Ocean View and had a beautiful view of both the pool and the Ocean. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennvanpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    79
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
345
435
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

When I think of the perfect place to relax in the sun with white sandy beaches, palm trees and clear carribean water it's Pelican Reef Resort. Located in the quiet south area of town this place was all that I was hoping for and expected after the busy adventures we had on the mainland. The staff was incredible and took care of every need. The condos are luxurious. I kept telling my wife that I felt like we were on vacation back in the States while we were indoors because of the granite countertops, leather couches, and jucuzzi tub. Then to walk out the sliding door and see the pool and the ocean just steps away was the best of both worlds.
We loved having access to the bikes to ride into town, but unfortunately didn't get around to taking the kayaks out.
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeakHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

You must stay at this resort!! My husband and I came for a trip to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. We found Pelican Reef to be truly outstanding and feel it made our trip incredible. They took care of every aspect of our trip from the beautiful resort to booking adventure tours, dinner reservations, golf cart rentals and providing a courteous and dependable driver whenever needed. Terry, Ruth and all of the staff were so friendly and welcoming, but more importantly, they genuinely care about their guests. They made recommendations for dinner & activities based on our individual preferences. Anything we asked for, Terry arranged. They brought our food poolside or out on the beach and I had a massage out in the palapa at sunset. Beyond relaxing!

The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean. The food was yummy and Ruth makes an excellent Mojito! We are already planning a return trip and will bring the kiddos with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boozlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We spoiled ourselves at Pelican Reef for 5 days after bailing out on a terrible accommodation closer to town. Pelican Reef knew the drill. Greg and his staff bent over backwards to make us feel at home and turn our trip around. Even better, the price was heavily discounted due to the off-season. The rooms were modern, well furnished and very comfortable. The resort was a little farther south of town but not a bad drive. The infinity pool was located just off the beach with a swim up bar. You could snorkel off the private dock. Breakfast was included and was very good. What more could you ask for?...well they had it. Excellent staff (Terry, Ruth, Karol,...), accommodations and price.

Room Tip: Room 21 was great. Pool and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Four of us stayed at the Pelican Reef Villas for 7 days and 6 nights. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was there. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa and felt immediately at home. The villa itself was very modern, clean and welcoming. I recommend springing for the villas with the ocean views. They will cost you a little more than the others, but trust me when I say its worth the money.

The staff is so attentive and friendly and really blew away any other place I have stayed in including The Four Seasons. It is just a different intimate setting and they know your names and offer suggestions on how to keep you happy on a regular basis. Ruth the bartender is such a sweetheart and so accommodating, we felt like we knew her for years. Teri was also very helpful when it came to planning trips, and our flights back. She took care of everything so we could just relax and have a good time.

Definitely get the golf carts. We got ours for the week and it really helped save $$$ vs using a taxi service. Plus, you will notice that 90% of the people on the island including the tourists use the golf carts. We went in the off season so it rained at some point every day and we ended up with a flat tire in the mud. We called Ruth and she had someone come over to fix our flat within 15 minutes. Like I said earlier, soooooo accommodating!

Take the time to go grocery shopping and take advantage of the kitchens that you have. It will save some $$$ and they have tons of grocery stores in the area. Teri will help guide you in the right direction but its almost impossible to get lost on the island. The only thing I did not like about Belize are the bugs that they call the 'no see 'ems' They ate us alive and OFF and Skin So Soft doesnt work, only baby oil does. Bring baby oil for night time, you will thank me later.

The snorkeling and activities that are offered are amazing and I highly recommend going to the Hurricane Ceviche bar and ask for Josh or Daniel. They hold a lot of excursions and they became friends of our while we stayed there. Plus their food is AMAZING!

We are already talking to our friends about getting a larger group to go back next year. You will not be disappointed with the Pelican Reef Villas. It is nothing like the party town of Cancun, but more of a relaxing, activity filled laid back island with underwater sea life that will blow your mind.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean front views. The sun comes in early in the morning but at least it will wake yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennevieve77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The people and the accomodations were simply some of the best my wife, Kathy, and I have ever experienced. First, the staff was very knowledgable, helpful and available. Karol took good care of our reservations. Ruth was the best behind the bar, and frequently with our food and room service. And Terri - she simply took care of everything. She helped with our trips and tours and meals and hot sauces and golf cart and ... well, everything. As to the resort itself, you can read the other reviews to see how this place is furnished and equipped. Interestingly enough, the villas are owned by individuals so they are each furnished differently. We ultimately stayed in two and both were lavish. The marble, the tile, the jacuzzi in the bathroom, the full kitchen, everything was top notch. Belize, and Ambergris Caye, are also highly recommended. Best snorkeling I've ever experienced. Thanx guys, we will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Was there last week with my wife for a 5 day stay ay PRVR and cannot say enough about the great staff there. From Terry to Ruth to Greg to everyone. They made us feel special and at home and no need was left taken care of. The basics as stated before:
1) The staff will assist you in all your transportation and events.
2) The location in perfect - a bit on the far south end of AC, but away from all the hustle and bustle.
3) The 2 bedroom we had (#10) was perfect, although we thought the A/C unit was way too loud and furnace was located in master. We got used to it, but may be a bit loud for others. Worked very well though!
4) The beach is perfect....simply perfect. You can swim out by the end of the dock (saw a moray eel out there!) or lounge in a swinging hammock under the palms.
5) Food was great - drinks were great. Ruth needs to add a Chocolate Monkey though :)
6) I would suggest you book the sail boat trip - that way, you get personal attention and crew on a catamaran and a very relaxed ride to Hol Chan, then to Shark Ray Alley and then to Caye Caulker. Very relaxed trip and make sure to book through Terry.

At the end of the day, San Pedro is not all about the beautiful waters and islands, but it's about the people. The people...is what made this trip one of our most memorable trips to date and you cannot say that about all the places we have been in the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank last_flight_0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Property: Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Address: 2.5 Miles South | 2.5 Miles South, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing