We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautifully arranged for ease and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautifully arranged for ease and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We just returned from Belize, San Pedro. The Pelican Reef Villas are a great choice that we found on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased with this choice. The hotel is located away from the center of town so renting a golf cart was a good idea. We used it a lot. (For instance, restaurants may send a cart to get you but you will wait quite a while. We found it easier to drive ourselves to the places we wanted to go.) The hotel serves breakfast and lunch but no dinner. There are many good restaurants which Terri, the concierge, recommended and all were excellent. She is very attentive to details and knows exactly what to arrange. We had been in contact with the management before arrival to book tours. They did this but were flexible to be able to make last minute changes after we arrived. They were very helpful at all times.

The villa (#15) we were in has two bedrooms, two baths, a washer dryer, fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, dining room area, sitting room with TV, safe, balconies and TV's in the bedrooms as well. It was so easy to be there. We did not cook but we fixed coffee and snacks. You could cook if you wanted to. The villa was equipped with a lot of towells as well which we appreciated. The fans in every room helped to keep the temperature pleasant but there was also AC. We did not have problems with bugs in the room. We were bitten just a few times on the streets at dusk, but we used DEET in the morning and evening. The front desk has sun block lotion and anti-mosquito sprays. We kept the doors closed mostly. Villa #15 has no real view and is more on the street side but we were not disturbed by noise. It was fine.

They keep the property in very clean condition, including the beach. Every morning I saw removal of the grass that grows in the water. The water right from the beach has a lot of sea grass but they have a pier so that you can swim off into slightly deeper water with less weeds. We spent our time out in the lagoon anyhow where the water is clear and full of colorful fish. The pool is beautiful, clean, pleasant. Plantings,I noticed were all well tended. The personnel were all friendly and helpful. The owner, Greg, sought us out the first day we arrived to go over our schedule and advise. He seemed to enjoy his work a lot. I had the impression of a very well run property.

We spent most of our time snorkeling. The snorkeling is fantastic and safe. Terri, the concierge, booked us with Amigos del Mar for the Blue Hole excursion. It was all day, stopping at several places. We do not scuba dive but there were divers mostly aboard. Edgar guided us in snorkeling. He was very kind to help one person who was nervous and had not done a lot of snorkeling. He knew all the fish and made the viewing interesting. They take you to an area they call the "Aquarium" where they feed the fish with watermellon rind. They were all around us, beautiful fish! I felt that we were safe and with very qualified guides. The boat was big enough to be very comfortable. They provided a very nice lunch on an island where we saw nesting red footed Booby birds in the canopy. Then we went with the company called "Searious" to Hol Chan and the (Nurse) Shark/Ray Alley as well as to Mexican Rocks. These are spots in the lagoon and good for a half day excursion. The guides were great as well and they know what they are doing so you are safe and see a lot.

The only disappointment we had was probably our own making - we wanted to fish for grouper. We saw a lot of those while snorkeling and my husband had communicated this to the Pelican Reef Villas, but he also said he did not want to get sea sick and he wanted to fish on the reef. Therefore they arranged a small boat to take us on the flats to fish for snapper and barracuda. We caught both and that was fine. However we have run into the problem of not getting what we envisioned from hotels for fishing trips. I think this is because the hotel will call those companies that they know and deal with regularly because they want their clients to be safe and happy. We should have done some research as to the kind of boats and trips available. In our case case we would have had to go not on the flats but the other deep side of the reef and in rocky water. We should have gotten suggestions of fishing companies from the hotel but called them independently. However the Pelican Reef Villas cooked us a feast from the fish we brought back and in several different styles for our lunch. They were so nice to do this. It was a wonderful meal to which they added vegetables, salad, sauces.

One other note about Caribbean weather in December. I have experienced Caribbean weather in December in Puerto Rico where the wind kicked up and there were big waves, in Panama where the Caribbean side can be very turbulent and in Belize where the weather was beautiful but with some rains. If you go over the Christmas holiday you can experience some occasional wind and rain even though they say the rainy season ends in November. The rain blew in and away quickly, but we found ourselves snorkeling in fairly heavy rain and it was rather exotic. The rain was, in fact, beautiful.

In all, I would say that the Pelican Reef Villas is a beautiful, friendly, well equipped and well tended establishment. We are glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: Room #15 was very nicely furnished but without a view. You could ask for a room more on the beach si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    73
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
320
421
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were three couples vacationing in Belize in early December. We had done a lot of research on the different condo properties on Ambergris Caye and we definitely made the right choice. Our stay was perfect and the staff at Pelican Reef was exceptional. We were very pleased with our three bedroom oceanfront condo, plenty of room and beautiful views. We did not take advantage of cooking in the kitchen as there were too many wonderful restaurants to experience in San Pedro, but the kitchen is fully equipped for cooking meals. The included breakfast was always very good and it was nice to sit by the pool each morning and enjoy our breakfast. The pier off the beach provided good snorkeling experiences. We rented a six seater golf cart and were glad to have that for the quick ride into San Pedro.

Things you should do, and Terri will help you set them up. Full day fishing/snorkeling excursion with Oliver and Bryan. Includes lunch at a private island. Two hour reef trip to Hol Chan with Alfonso that includes snorkeling and swimming with sting rays and sharks. Wonderful restaurants: Hidden Treasure, Wild Mango, Blue Water Grill, Caliente.

I have been a travel agent for many years and Belize is at the top of my list for a repeat visit. The people are warm and wonderful. I would not stay anywhere else than the Pelican Reef. Thank you Terri, Karol, Ruth, Ruben, Santos, Leno and all of the staff. You made our vacation so memorable and your friends from Kansas can't wait to come back! Leslie, Mark, Marc, Shelli, Bob and Cocktail Katie

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland HIlls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

My students and I stayed and Pelican Reef for a cultural trip and had a wonderful time. Greg (the owner) was very great! The hotel was right on the beach and offered free canoeing. Everything in the hotel was brand new. We had our own washer and dryers as well which made it even better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We started our vacation at the Pelican Reef Villas. It was amazing. The staff, Ruben, Terry and Ruth made us feel so welcome. The made sure we needed nothing. Everything was taken care of for us. The water around the dock was perfectly clear. We rode bikes everyday into town. We were glad to outside of the town area for the peace and quiet. Loved every minute we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa #8. It was a perfect 2 bed/2 bath condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

After staying 3 nights in the jungles of Belize, my group of 8 were so excited to visit the sunny beach town of San Pedro. The Pelican Reef Villas Resort is a little further out of the town but the location gives you a feel of privacy and seclusion that allows you to relax and soak in the sites. Our group was divided into 4 to sleep in the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suites. The suites are so nice; leather couches, comparable dining and kitchen space, large master bedroom with an 5 piece en suite but most importantly a WASHER/DRYER!! After 3 days in the jungle and reusing wet clothes, our group was most excited for the washer!

The resort offers complimentary kayaks to ride in the serene ocean and bikes when you want to visit town. Breakfast was included in our stay and there is a great selection of entrees to choose from. The staff is equally fantastic, friendly and helpful; Terri especially. Even though this resort is listed as the #2 hotel to stay in San Pedro, it should absolutely be the #1. I would stay at the Pelican Reef Villas again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCCholita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

This place is a bit away from the main drag but we loved its location. It's a quieter beach feel with a wonderf pool, a fun bar and great rooms that are in excellent shape.

The staff is great and biking into town was a blast. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
296 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Pelican Reef is a fabulous getaway on the South side of Ambergris Caye. The location is remote and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of San Pedro. The property is beautiful! The beach and pool area are perfect for relaxing. Our unit was gorgeous and provided us with everything we needed and more. Next time, we'll bring some friends to share the place with, as it was huge (and that will make the price very reasonable)! The meals are delicious, just be aware that there is no food service after 3pm. The staff was over-the-top helpful and friendly and made sure all of our needs were met. They worked hard to find out information, so that my husband could golf on Caye Chapel. We took out the kayak and bicycles (free for guests) and explored. This was the perfect ending to our trip in Belize! After a few nights in the jungle and then in town (San Pedro), it felt good to get away from it all and relax our last few nights (oh and be able to do laundry, for free, before heading back home). I would definitely return to Pelican Reef.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#2 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Property: Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Address: 2.5 Miles South | 2.5 Miles South, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing