We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our family loved it”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Highly recommend this great condo resort located south of town. It's not in the busy section of town and we liked being a little off the main path. we love our riding bikes and taking the golf cart into town for groceries, wine and restaurants. We went out on the boat almost every day and Pelican Reef has a very nice dock. We caught our dinner 4 out of 7 nights and enjoyed cooking in our condo which was well supplied and had everything we needed to cook. The condos are RIGHT on the beach and Pelican Reef has a small but excellent beach (better than most beaches on the island). We like having a pool to hang out around and this is a great one for kids and adults - lovely pool deck, can even do some laps, stop and gaze at the ocean and do a few more. The little cabana bar is great. The breakfasts were included - very delicious but a little slow - who's in a hurry anyway? You can get lunch as well which we did a few days but we also made our own lunch or went to town for a change of scenery. Condos are comfortable and clean with everything you need to cookm do laundry, etc. Mostly I found Pelican Reef to be in a pretty and very relaxing surroundings with a friendly staff, wonderful beach and a beautiful view of the ocean. It was perfect for us. We did find that groceries in town were expensive and we have teenage boys so the 2nd year, we brought a suitcase full of dry goods like cereal, pasta, peanut butter, SPICES, mustard, canned tomotoes, etc. We enjoyed buying local produce and crazy delicious salsas from the fruit and veggie stands along the road. We had a case of beer delivered to our room - ask the staff and they will arrange. We went to Wine de Vine for wine and cheese. We used the local dive shop for scuba and snorkeling - they picked us up on the dock and our friends found local fisherman to take them fishing. We ate our catch for 50% of our lunch and dinners which was definitley part of the experience. We stayed at Pelican Reef two years in a row and would go back without a second thought. Again, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front. If you have kids, ask for beach level/bottom floor so you aren't up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueendeColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    80
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
348
436
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Family of four adults spent Christmas week at the Pelican Reef (based on TripAdvisor ratings). It exceeded all of our expectations: location/atmosphere, décor/quality of condo, free wi-fi, breakfast and lunch poolside, resort services, etc. Manager Greg, office assistant Glori, and most especially concierge Terri met our every need: transportation, snorkeling and fishing reservations, restaurant recommendations/reservations, etc. Key points about Pelican Reef: it is a 24-condo unit (almost all San Pedro resorts are condo-units) about 3 miles south of San Pedro. Quiet, private resort with resort pier for swimming and snorkeling in the Caribbean, small pool and poolside bar. We used resort –contracted shuttle service (Carlos) to/from San Pedro ($10 each way) vice taxi or expensive golf carts. Used Pelican Reef feee bicyles to explore San Pedro and environs during daylight hours. This is NOT your Spring Break bar-hopping, loud-music scene (that scene is easily accessible in San Pedro by taxi or golf cart). It is upscale and quiet and best suited for adults or families w/ young children. Would be a great spot for a wedding or family gathering.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were fortunate to have an amazing New Year's week stay at Pelican Reef. Our experience was marked by not only the staff, but by the beautiful property, and rich accommodations.

Our first encounter with the staff began the moment we landed in San Pedro, as we were immediately greated by Carlos, the hotel's friendly driver. After a short drive we arrived at Pelican and received the most friendly welcome - by name - from Teri - and with a complimentary drink - from Ruth. Over the next five days these ladies provided us an unparalleled level of service done with the most positive, gracious attitude. They truly made you feel like family, not guests on the property. Additionally, Greg, the property manager, was always warm, helpful, and most approachable for any request.

The property itself is quaint with beautiful beachfront accessibility. We spent equal time between the white sandy beach with gorgeous blue/green water and the pool's swim up bar. Based on it's location on San Pedro, the property is the last pickup / first drop off on most water excursions - another key perk! Our room itself was a modern and spacious 2/2 with a beautiful beachfront view and patio. The Pelican also serves complimentary breakfast with freshly squeezed juices and hot, cooked to order offerings. Never did a breakfast nor lunch dissappoint! (For lunch the fish tacos are a MUST, along with Ruth's special pina colada!)

We chose the resort based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were in no way disappointed. Overall I cannot imagine a property on San Pedro offering a matched level of hospitality and atmosphere and have suggested the Pelican to friends for their upcoming honeymoon.

Room Tip: Book a second or third floor beachfront if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I hardly know where to start. I spent many hours researching properties in Ambergris Caye and decided that Pelican Reef was the perfect spot for a brief getaway with my husband. And I was not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. Well, better than family. Carlos drove us to the resort and Terri and Ruth greeted us as we arrived, with Rum Punch in hand! We stayed in unit 8 and everything about it was great... the villa was beautifully decorated, and we were able to walk right out of the patio to the beach or pool area, which were also beautifully maintained (thanks, Santos!). And the sunrises - wow!

One of the first noticeable impressions was how quiet everything was - right on the ocean, but because of the outlying reef, there are no wave crashes. It was all very serene. My favorite spot was in the hammock.

We only rented a golf cart for one day during our visit so that we could go into town and explore the northern part of the island. Otherwise, there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance, a couple of restaurants that offered free shuttle service, and Carlos (cab driver) was always available. Always. So we managed okay. We also liked that we were far enough away from town that there was minimal traffic, but we never had a problem getting to town when we wanted.

Glori arranged a half-day snorkeling trip and a full day at Lamanai with SEArious, two of the most fun trips we've ever taken. We were picked right up from the docked and dropped off there at the end of our excursions. And anything else that we considered, all we had to do was mention it, and Terri, Ruth or Karol either took care of our request, or made a phone call and it was done. The service really, really was top-notch. No wonder that PRV has received the accolades that it has. Thanks to everyone for making our short vacation so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysACritic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Wow! Loved Pelican Reef Villas! The hotel grounds are absolutely breathtaking beautiful! The beach is gorgeous, the sand super soft, and the relaxing palm trees refreshing! There were 8 girlfriends who stayed for a long weekend and enjoyed every moment. The enagement with each staff member was superior from Glori in making the reservations, booking our excursion, to Terry who answers every question, Ruth who makes a tasty rum punch, Santos who cleans the beach, launches the kayaks, Irma who is the chef preparing delicious breakfasts and lunches, Carol who assisted with making reservations. The Pelican Reef family will make your stay enjoyable and provide you with anything you may need. For us we ran out of beer so they arranged for a case of beer to be delivered. We just happened to be there the day after Pelican Reef was chosen number 16 in the world for small hotels and the staff were being taken out by the owners to celebrate. The difference at P.R. was the staff and every single person we encountered was pleasant ,happy, and knew us by name. We loved it that they arranged a driver for us everywhere we wanted to go ( airport, shopping, dinner). We had Carlos's phone number and we had the restaurant or bar call him when we were ready to leave. We felt totally safe and appreciated that he too knew us by the end of our trip. Even though I had researched Trip Advisor for recommendations on restaurants we were interested in what Terry and Carol's recommendations were. Just to caution others the pool area looks like it is built into rocks (which it is) and then there appeared to be water slide in the rocks so we jumped up to take a picture and stand on the rocks and Terry quickly assured us that it was not a rock slide!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the bar meeting area if you want silence. We stayed in room 16 and had our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We took up two units with our large family. It was beautiful and comfortable. Beautiful view from every unit. There was some small construction while we where there, but they were good about noise and timing. Terry, the manager, gave wonderful recommendations on where to eat in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinleyville, CA
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The villa was beautiful and the staff were outstanding. They helped us plan excursions everyday. Carlos, cab driver took us anywhere we wanted to go for dinner every evening. We spent our days on the water fishing or snorkeling and never needed a golf cart. The breakfast was excellent with eggs, bacon and the works. The drinks from the bar were great too. We are already planning a return trip. We have been to Hawaii several times and our stay here was much better than anything we experienced in Hawaii. The overall price was less too. We enjoyed being away from town. It was much quieter and more relaxing. Getting to town every evening was easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
335 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
791 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Property: Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Address: 2.5 Miles South | 2.5 Miles South, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing