We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding at Pelican Reef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We chose Pelican Reef Villas for our destination wedding. Everyone at this resort was so nice and accommodating that you never waited or wanted for anything. I feel like we made friends with the entire staff and even the guests....everyone was so nice. Our villas was super nice and huge.....fully stocked with everything we needed. The food was amazing! We had breakfast and lunch at the resort everyday and everything we ate was exceptional. We were given a private dinner for two one of the nights we were there and the set up and food blew us away.....the most deliciously prepared fish we have ever eaten. On the day of our wedding a tropical storm blew in but the staff at the resort stayed very positive and kept me informed every step of the way (I admit I was freaking out and falling apart). They kept telling me it was going to be ok and that it would still be a beautiful wedding.......and it was. The rain stopped just before the wedding and they were able to set everything up quickly and we had an amazing ceremony. I can't say enough good things about Pelican Reef and we can't wait to go back and visit. The beaches are beautiful and the food was amazing at every restaurant we visited. I love the short trip into town and I love that the mode of transportation is golf cart. Everything is so laid back on this island and that is how life should be lived. Thank you guys so much for giving Cody and I an amazing vacation, wedding and honeymoon. See you soon!!

Cody and Diana Brown

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful view but beach front is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLBrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week here in June 2013. The condos are decorated very nicely and are very spacious. There was much more room than we really needed, but I can see coming here again with another couple or other family members. The kitchen was gorgeous with granite countertops and stainless appliances. I wish we would have used it more, but we found it more affordable to eat out most meals, since groceries were very expensive in San Pedro. The washer/dryer combo was a nice feature to have for the week, as well. We packed a little lighter due to the Tropic Air flight baggage restrictions, so it was handy to do laundry while we were there.

The beds were very comfy, but we had issues getting a good night's sleep. The master bedroom contained a closet with the air conditioning unit that was extremely loud. Every time the A/C kicked on at night, it would wake us up. So, we ended up sleeping in the other bedroom in the front of the unit. The only problem with that was that it didn't have the blackout drapes, so we ended up having to hang blankets over the windows to not be woken up as soon as it was light outside.

The Jacuzzi tub was nice when it worked. Once the Jacuzzi turned on by itself when the shower curtain touched the switch, and we tried multiple times to turn it off. Then, another time, we got all situated in the tub and the Jacuzzi wouldn't turn on. Once we finally got the Jacuzzi to work, it would power on and off randomly. Maybe we just had a unit with gremlins.

Carol and Ruth were great hostesses, and they took care of us well. We were thrilled with one of the snorkel trips that they got us on (Seaduced to Hol Chan, Shark Ray Alley and Caye Caulker). We couldn't have asked for a better trip!

The banana pancakes for breakfast were great, too. We had some inconsistencies with our breakfast beverages, depending on who was taking our order. Some days we got juice included for both of us, other days we were told it would cost us if we wanted juice for each of us. We never could figure out what the "rule" was, but it wasn't that big of deal to us.

The infinity pool was very nice, and the beach was nice overall. But, the beach is not like your typical Florida Gulf-Coast or Mexico beach with lots of white sand and waves crashing over you. That was the one thing that I wish I would have read in someone's review before I came to Belize. It probably wouldn't have changed my mind on the trip, because I came to Belize to experience the snorkeling and the local culture. However, it would have been nice to understand that because of the reef's location parallel to the island, you don't get the waves on the shoreline. That means, that if you want to get in the water, you go out the dock and go down the steps or take a kayak out further. For us adults, it was still wonderful, but if my kids would have been there, they would have really missed the beach they have grown accustomed to in the Gulf. Otherwise, the beach seemed like a great place to take a nap or read a book under an umbrella. Oh yes, and it was nice that the companies that we used for the snorkel trips came and picked us up at our dock. You couldn't beat that.

A couple of other note-worthy things -- 1) It was extremely nice that the little hut at the entrance had bug spray available for use. We brought our own, but we figured out quickly that we simply didn't have enough for the healthy mosquito population in Belize. 2) The welcome sign with our names on arrival and the welcome drink were also great. 3) Rent a golf cart for the week, because you will need it. It addition to our trips into town for dinner and shopping, we also took it exploring on both the north and south sides of the island. We would have never been able to do that without the golf cart. The roads are bumpy and town is far away, but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and even gave a few locals rides on the back of the go carts. That scared us a bit at first, but then we realized that it was very common in San Pedro to "hitch a ride". 4) Go to Robin's kitchen to eat, several times if you can. Despite many good meals on the island, we both agree that Robin's was the best in flavor and price. Don't let the roadside "shack" scare you away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunandSand_St_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the property for 8 nights, there were 7 of us (3 adults and 4 kids). From the moment you get to the property and till you leave, the staff (and the owner) is there to ensure that you are having a comfortable and enjoyable stay. They arrange all the activities efficiently and the providers are all top notch and equally geared to please you. The 3 BR villas are very spacious and well appointed.

Few things to note:
- The property is at the south end of town.
- Dining choices within walking distance are limited. The resort does not have a dinner service.
- You must get the morning breakfast. It is excellent and starts the day off nicely.
- If you are into fishing, bring your catch and they will prepare the fish as you like (grilled, blackened, fried)
- If you are looking for a large resort with multiple dining choices, spa, and entertainment this is not the right place.
- If you are looking for a small resort with personal attention, large accommodations, and a peaceful location, this is the right place.

We had a great time and would recommend the property to families with kids. If you are into diving, snorkeling, and fishing Belize is a great place to visit. People are very nice and the reef is one of the best to see marine life.

Room Tip: It is a very quiet location so all villas are quiet and there is no noise issue anywhere in the reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for a week in Pelican Reef Villas in a beachfront two bedroom unit. For the most part a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Positives:

1). Condo unit was completely furnished, including kitchen utensils and linens.
2). Condo furnishings were generally high quality.
3). Comfortable queen size beds.
4). Friendly and helpful staff.
5). Comfortable outdoor bar area for breakfast, lunch and meals.
6). Pretty tasty breakfasts that are included in certain package deals.

Negatives:

1). Facility is a long walk or bike ride from town. Golf cart rental is a desirable extra.
2). Bar area gets pretty noisy at night, especially on weekends.
3). Condos do not provide any paper towels or napkins; you have to buy your own.
4). We felt like activity planning was steered to specific businesses in San Pedro. Better and more flexible deals may be arranged on your own.
5). There appeared to be a tendency to direct guests to only Native Belizian owned businesses and services.

In conclusion, a pretty good place to stay. We enjoyed the experience, but not enough for a repeat visit. Too many other interesting and quality lodging options in San Pedro for this lifetime.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor room access by stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at Pelican Reef Villas. We had a three bedroom, beach front condo and stayed there with some friends. Everything at this resort exceeded our expectations! The condo was equipped with everything we needed and the views were amazing The infinity pool looks out onto the beach and has a nice swim up bar and the food is really good.

The service is also amazing.........from the moment Carlos picked us up, we were treated like VIPs by everyone. Ruth and Karol are fantastic.......every time we saw them they greeted us by name and always had smiles for us. Ruth is a great bartender and always made sure we had everything we needed. They gave us great recommendations for excursions (check out Searious Aventures - ask for Captain Frank and bartender/snorkel guide James!), restaurants, shops, etc. They really went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time.

Brandon and Libby are awesome, too, and also gave us some great tips on where to eat and things to do.

The only con I can think of is that you definitely need to pack your bug spray if you are going in August but that wouldn't stop us from returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were a group of 10 (two families) and all of us had an amazing trip. Karol made sure every request was taken care of. We had two ocean front rooms that fit our 2 families of 5 perfectly. Karol suggested great restaurants in town arranged for all our day trips. Oliver took us fishing, spear fishing and made us lunch on a private island. One of the best vacation excursions ever! We also spent an afternoon at shark alley. Very informative and fun! Our kids even held a nurse shark and sting ray. I heard the people of Belize were friendly but never thought they would be as kind and amazing as they were. I highly recommend Belize as a family vacation and think Pelican Reef is the perfect place.

To do: Fishing with Oliver,Shark alley, rent golf carts.

Eat: Wild Mango,Hidden Treasure and ask Carol of the little restaurant on middle street -they make these stuffed tortillas out front on a grill - YUMMIE.

Bring: Bug spray and I brought some quick snack from home for late night eating (teen boys) easy mac, top roman noodles etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 Ocean view very nice and well decorated! Our friends had room 10 next door not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from one week at Pelican Reef Villas. We stayed in a 2br 2ba garden view unit on the second floor. We absolutely loved the resort and very much appreciated all the extra space (two thumbs up for his/hers bathrooms and way more storage space than we could use). The resort was well maintained and the staff was absolutely amazing - catering to our every need with friendly personal service. True to their word, the staff at the resort set everything up for us from air transfers to tours and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. We would definitely recommend the reef fishing, our guide Alex was amazing and worked really hard to find us several lobster and many fish (which the cook at Pelican Reef expertly prepared for us, to the envy of many other guests). The Caye Cauker day sail (2 snorkels and a trip to Caye Cauker) was another highlight and definitely worth the money, the guides at Searius Adventures were EXCELLENT and went out of their way to make our tour amazing. Also well worth the money is a golf cart for your stay. We loved being able to jump in our cart and explore the island at will. Overall a wonderful experience on an amazing island at a great resort. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The bugs were a bit bad on some of our golf cart adventures so bring bug spray if you want to explor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraPlusWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £247 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.6 Mls South of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing