We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My mom and I stayed at Pelican Reef for 4 nights at the beginning of December. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were very good and the common property was lovely and clean, although not quite as 'posh' as I thought it looked from the photos on the Internet. There was some minor construction taking place on the property during our visit, which was unfortunate. However, the staff tried to mitigate the noise and would have the workers stop working if there was anyone at the bar. There weren't many people staying at the property while we were there, so they probably chose that time to do some updates to the common areas. We spent most of our outside time lazing at the end of the pier, listening to the water, so we weren't bothered by any construction.

The value for the money was good and the unit that we had was on the beach and had been recently renovated, which was great. The unit was roomy and I think that I was the first one to use the master bedroom, as everything was extremely new. The hotel is a ways from town (about an hours walk down the beach), but we had the taxi driver stop at the grocery store after picking us up at the airport, which was very handy. Make sure to take strong bug spray, as the little buggers are merciless. We were in the jungle for 4 nights prior to visiting Ambergris Caye, and I got a total of 3 bites while in the jungle. I constantly wore OFF lotion while at the beach, which evidently wasn't strong enough, as I was still able to count 50 bites on one leg! All in all, Pelican Reef was a lovely spot!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie0393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    80
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
350
439
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Traveled here with my girlfriend Jan 2012 but I am just reviewing now because I have been lazy creating an account...

We traveled from Costa Rica to Belize. We stayed at Pelican Reef the entire time we were on San Pedro

Pros / Recommendations
-Staff is great, real nice.
The unit was large on the bottom floor with a small porch about 20 feet off the beach. Great view. Clean with full kitchen, 2 baths, 2 bedrooms, living room. Way more space then we needed.
- Its away from town center (maybe 10 minutes by golf cart) which is nothing for a drive, though the walk would be too long for most unless you like long walks in humid weather. You basically need a cart or taxi to get to anywhere good.
- Kayaks were fun to take out around sunset
- You can snorkel off the dock. Nothing exciting there because its shallow and a lot of grass but there are some fish around. To really snorkel you need to head out to the reef and deeper.
-We had a golf cart for a couple days and it made traveling much more convenient and fun. They are worth renting to drive around the island.
- Booked a private boat charter with Oliver... He took us to where we wanted to go snorkeling but also took us to spots that aren't as frequently traveled by others so it's less crowded. We spearfished and had lunch on a little island owned by his friend and it was just us and them. We cooked up the fish we caught earlier. Spent the day with Oliver and his crew member and it was a good time. Was not cheap but we felt it was worth it.
- We ate at quite a few places, all were good. A few that stand out for dinner were Victoria House, Hidden Treasure, and Wild Mangoes.

Nothing bad to say about the place or the island. Its safe and a good time.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: Just ask them which are best. That is what we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at Pelican Reef for our honeymoon and every time we've traveled since then we compare all hotel/resort experiences to the amazing service we received at Pelican Reef! From the beautiful rooms to day trips to Hol Chan, we loved every minute in this paradise!


Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank googooliNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Pelican Reef! So beautiful! So clean! So perfectly situated away from it all!

I cannot say enough good things about the resort itself: The staff is amazing at making you feel welcome from the moment you arrive to paying-attention-to-detail at every little thing during your entire stay! They are warm and friendly (genuinely friendly!) and ready to help with anything you might need.
The pool is straight out of a dream. And the food, should you choose to dine at the resort, is made-from-scratch delicious, and the fresh squeezed orange juice is a must have! The drinks are ever-flowing and Ruth #2 can make you a rum punch like no other!

The condo was clean, spacious, and beautiful!

Driving to and from town is a hoot! I loved it! There are a few potholes, yes, but what is a vacation get-away without a little adventure? *wink*

Five Stars for Pelican Reef Villas Resort! Now how to duplicate Ruth's rum punch talent here in the States? Hmmm....

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LlamaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pelican Reef Villas for seven days for our honeymoon at the end of November 2013.The service goes above and beyond what is expected for the price - Ruthie M. Always had a smile on her face and was the most helpful. Everyone that worked there was really kind and went extra lengths to make sure our stay was memorable. The view is priceless, the breakfast was awesome (banana pancakes), and the condos are very well taken care of, modern, and very clean. We absolutely enjoyed our time at this quiet vacation spot. It is approximately three miles south on a unpaved road, so get ready to ride a bike or drive a golf cart into town. Most adventure outfits will pick you up at your dock. We didn't mind the seclusion so much, as it always made for a new adventure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Missyandmicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Pelican Reef the 3rd week of November. The resort was picturesque and very well maintained.
We look for lots of activities and also peace and quiet when we vacation. This spot had it all for two active adults, but younger couples and families will fit in here also. First, the welcome at arrival was warm and set the tone for the whole visit. Karol, Ruth 1, Ruth 2, and Gladys allowed us to relax and not worry about anything. Santos and all the staff met our needs quickly. All the staff consider Pelican Reef their second home and take great pride in their work. Here are some specifics:

- If you want to take any excursions, have dinner reservations, or need anything at all, let the staff arrange it for you. They will schedule and create the voucher, arrange for transport, whether it is with Carlos (who made us feel safe and always got us at the right place and on time) or at the end of the pier for boat pickup. Tropic Air back to Belize City is in their hands also. It can't be easier.

- You can rent a golf cart if you don't want to use a taxi to get into town. At about 2.5 miles we easily rode the bikes there too. Check out the AWSOME crocodiles on your left as you ride into town. We never needed a golf cart and saved our money for other fun things. No need to reserve a golf cart ahead of time as they were readily available.

- Excursions: Yes, you have to see Hol Chan Marina and Shark/Ray Alley. We did the night snorkel which was fun just because snorkeling by flashlight is different. But the day snorkel is great because of the marine life variety and exciting coral reef. Alphonse and Rex were knowledgeable and shared great info. Being the last pickup and first drop off was a real bonus also.

- Take advantage of the bikes, paddle boards and kayaks. The snorkeling off the pier was convenient. All free and right outside your door.

- We flew to the Bocawina Mayflower Forest for a day of waterfall repelling and zipline runs. Absolutely worth the money and short plane hops. Tony and Julio were so careful with safety measures assuring us a lot of fun and no worries. The included lunch was delicious. It is a long day, but not to be missed. (Don't forget to take dry clothes to change into after the fun.) You have to fly from San Pedro to Belize International, to Belize Municipal and then on to Dangriga. Same trip coming back. The Tropic Air pilots are great and the little 10 seater planes are fun to fly in.

- If you like nightlife, town is a short taxi ride away. (Let Carlos transport you. He will give you his phone number to call when you are ready to go back to the resort. The going rate is $10 American per ride.) If you wake up with a hangover, the peaceful location of Pelican Reef is where you want to recover.

- Wild Mangos, Blue Water Grill and The Black Orchid are great dining spots, but it seems new management at El Davino still needs to figure it all out. But be sure to go to The Lone Star Tex-Mex, just a short walk away, and enjoy the atmosphere, people and food. A PLUS was that the eating area was all screened in. Football on the big screen TV was fun to share with all the new friends we made there.

- Need a massage? Sol Spa was perfect. We relaxed at the spa, but they can also come to the end of Pelican Reef pier if you prefer. As usual, let Karol arrange it for you.

- Plan to tip well; you will want to. The resort pools all tips and this assures quality service from everyone. But, we also personally tipped throughout the trip.

- Our condo was beautifully decorated. The washer and dryer in the unit was a very nice touch, and there were no amenities missing. We had unit #11, third floor facing the water. Having coffee on the balcony each morning was a perfect way to start the day. The only drawback to our unit was the A/C which was VERY LOUD while you are trying to sleep. Luckily there are fans in all the rooms and we turned the AC off several nights.

- Here is the downside to this location: the bugs! But this is across the island, not just Pelican Reef. We used lots of baby oil but sadly we didn't do it immediately upon arrival. We paid the price, and we are still itching and scratching terribly days after coming home. The resort has a basket of oils and sprays. USE THEM all day every day!!!

- Talk to everyone you meet. Local or visitors, it doesn't matter. We really enjoyed meeting new friends.

- Belizean dollars are double the value of American dollars. ($10 American is $20 Belizean.) Most prices are listed in Belizean, but ask if you are not sure. Pay with either but you can also get back either in change. No need to exchange the currency. We used Belizean when we had it, but also used it as tips at the end of the trip so we didn't have to bring it home.

Pelican Reef is wonderful. We plan to return and do it all again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are great for morning coffee on the porch/patio, but you can save money on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 41christined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The location and the resort itself is amazing, and we could not have stayed at a better place. What made Pelican Reef Villas truly outstanding was the warm and caring attitude of Carol, Ruth, Ruth and Gladys and their colleagues combined with their attention to detail and knowledge about activities, restaurants and the island. The staff made each of us feel special and welcome, starting with Carlos, the driver who picked us up when we arrived and dropped us off when we left. It does not matter that the resort is 2 1/2 miles south of San Pedro because if you go on any trip, the tour operator will pick you up from the dock. Gladys and Carol organized several diving trips for us through Ecologic Divers and a snorkel trip to Hol Chan through Searious, and both were excellent recommendations. After one expedition into San Pedro with a golf cart, we decided to borrow bicycles instead, because it is easier to navigate the potholes with two rather than four wheels. If you just want to relax and de-stress, it can be done on the premises, the beach is lovely, you can swim and snorkel in the crystal clear water off the pier, and there is a pool. We made good use of the on-site kayaks and the paddle boards.
Breakfast was included, and we particularly enjoyed the sun-ripened tropical fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaviotaGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate
Athens Gate
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
6.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Property: Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Address: 2.5 Miles South | 2.5 Miles South, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.5 Miles south of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing