We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is as good as the reviews say!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our family of 5 enjoyed a 3 bedroom beach view in unit 5. Everything with the unit was great. Plenty of closets and open space to enjoy the view in comfort. There were 4 TV's- which we did not use, and a clock radio to put iphone4 and older for music. Our family does not usually stay at "resorts". I am now officially spoiled. I loved not cooking a meal, but having the freedom to warm up something on a couple nights. Ruthie and Helen took great care of any food or beverage needs we had, from fresh coffee at sun rise to the yummy coconut mojito at night. The "host" at the information hut took care of every need- from a lost suitcase on arrival to helping with dinner plans. We loved the paddle boards, kayaks, bikes and overall amenities. We were happy with the distance to town. We rode bikes in for fun, or a quick golf cart ride to dinner. Although the beach is generally narrow in San Pedro area. We really enjoyed the beach front area at Pelican reef, especially the beautiful coconut trees shade and hearing the breeze through the trees.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent four nights from March 13-17th at Pelican Reef. We found the service, location, amenities to be perfect. We were two groups of 3 adults and 4 kids (7-12) and had two ocean view rooms. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The rooms came with all of the comforts of home including 3 tv's. There was even laundry in the room which allowed us to pack light as this was the last leg of our Belizean adventure and we took advantage of refreshing our laundry. The rooms were also air conditioned too.

Travel on the island is done mostly via golf carts. We had rented for 3 days but only ended up really using it for 2 days. Driving is straight forward except for the speed bumps which you need to pay attention otherwise the passengers in the back get a surprise!

We were met at the airport by the ever reliable Carlos. He was kind enough to stop at a local grocery store to allow us to pick up some food for our stay. The food is very expensive in San Pedro. It cost us $185 US for cereal, milk, spaghetti sauce, noodles, crackers, cheese and some chips. We had breakfast as part of our package and there is more than enough selection to appease most palates. We would simply give our order and room number and it would be delivered with a smile.

The amenities are great with sit on top kayaks, paddle boards, life jackets, a small selection of snorkel gear. The reef is close enough to paddle out in a kayak for those seeking a combination of exercise and adventure. As some reviewers have indicated, there are flies but we didn't find them to be a nuisance.....people need to remember that you are going to a tropical country where this is natural phenomena. Most days there was a gentle breeze which resulted in no biting flies!!

Hol Chan is a must and is about a 3-4 mins boat ride from the dock. All excursions can be arranged with Enrique and was very customer focused in our opinion. Our two kids came down with a fever the morning of our booked snorkeling excursion and we were able to cancel that morning without penalty.....the value of the hotel always booking with the same outfit as the outfitter realizes the value of this relationship!!

The water is very shallow around the dock hence why they extend so far out into the water. We snorkeled around the dock and saw a small selection of fish and the resident moray eel. Rays can also be spotted either lying in the turtle grass or swimming past the dock. The kids also loved watching the pelicans diving for fish.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms offered great scenery and a cool breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WayneB936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was looking forward to this trip for so long, that the expectations I had set in my mind were very high. It was even better than I had imagined.The customer service was outstanding and the untis were extremely comfortable.

This is the one vacation spot I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Pelican reef villas is a great place to relax and vacation. It is fairly far from the town of San pedro, either a golf cart ride, or a 12$ taxi. It has paddle boards and bikes to rent, and a beautiful pool and beach to relax on.

Our DVD player did not work, and it took a bit of time to get a new one, but eventually it was replaced.

As a young, adventurous person, I did feel a little smothered by not being allowed to borrow the bikes after 5pm, and being strongly suggested to go with the diving company that they know "so that we would be safe". I know it was just them caring for us, but felt a bit restrictive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the Pelican Reef with my wife and in-laws. We echo the sentiment of nearly all the other reviews. The villas were in great shape, and well represented on the website. The staff provided excellent service: both Ruth's at the Bar/Restaurant were always delightful and Enrique was the go to man for booking excellent trips and golf cart rentals (at prices lower than anything else we were offered). We saw one or both of the owners, Charlie and Greg, nearly every day. They extremely welcoming, always took the time to chat, and seemed 110% invested in offering all their guests a top notch experience.

We also appreciated the distance of Pelican Reef from the hustle and bustle of downtown San Pedro. Being ~ 2.5 miles away, a golf cart is a must unless you plan to cook most dinners in your villa. We highly recommend the obligatory trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley (we went with Lil Alfonso) as well as a day at sea with Captain Oliver (among the highlights of the trip). We had an amazing experience in San Pedro and would without a doubt return to the Pelican Reef Villas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My girlfriends and I stayed at Pelican Reef for our annual girls getaway, and we loved it! Upon arrival, there was a welcome sign with our names on it, and we received a welcome drink, which was brewed up nice and strong by the able bartender Ruth. Once we introduced ourselves to the staff, we were addressed by our names every day. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, two story villa with an oceanfront view (we were on the 2 and 3rd level). The room was very well equipped with a full kitchen, comfortable furniture, cable (we normally don't watch TV on our trips, but we tuned in for some of the Olympics), wireless internet, 3 full bathrooms, and a jacuzzi tub on the top floor. The hotel grounds are also comfortable, with a nice big beach and plenty of lounge chairs for everyone there (go to the beach early to claim the area with the two hammocks!). the swim up bar is pretty much always open. A hearty breakfast was included every morning, including fresh juice and coffee. The staff was happy to take special requests for our meals. We had one day where we waited an hour for breakfast, but the hotel manager was very apologetic when we told him, and he explained that they had been short a cook that morning. Besides, we were overlooking the infinity pool and the beach, so we weren't terribly upset. We also rented a golf cart from the hotel, which is the main mode of transport on the island.

The hotel staff takes care of booking any activity you might possibly want to do- for us, that included a half day snorkel trip, which was wonderful! Beautiful reefs with lots of fish, rays and sharks, and a snack of conch ceviche served by our fantastic guide, Bradley (request him by name!). The hotel staff also made a dinner reservation at one of the resorts in the north part of the island for us, and changed it when we postponed for a night. 4 of us also booked massages, and they were delightful (ask for Tiffany and Sherlette!). All of us did massages in different places- the end of the pier, the beach next to the hammocks, and the balcony of our villa. All were amazing.
Kayaks and stand up paddle boards are free to use, and both were a ton of fun. Lunch is available at the hotel, and the staff were happy to give dinner recommendations.

On our last day, the owner stopped by to ask how our stay was, and he listened very attentively to our feedback, both positive and "constructive" (nothing bad, just a few recommendations). we felt very valued as guests, and all of us would recommend this place for people who don't like the feeling of being herded like cattle as you do sometimes at a large resort. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Probably worth it to pay the extra $$ for oceanfront- we really enjoyed the view from our balcony an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our family of 5 had an outstanding week at Pelican Reef. The accommodations were top notch and the service was exceptional. Everything from home made breakfast every morning delivered poolside by Ruth or Helen to the full time assistance from Enrique and Katrina in planning all of our activities and meals, exceeded all of our expectations. Renting a golf cart to travel the island is a must do. When we come back, there is no doubt we will stay at Pelican Reef again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank EJ00155711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.2 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
358 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
997 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
478 reviews
1.6 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort
Xanadu Island Resort
#5 of 54 in San Pedro
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Reef Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Reef Villas Resort

Address: 2.5 Miles South | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £247 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Experience Luxury! Swaying Palms, sandy beaches, and warm ocean breezes welcome you to Pelican Reef Villas. Experience unparalleled luxury, and service that is raising the standards, in one of our 2 or 3 bedroom villas. Pelican Reef Villas blends deluxe amenities and breath-taking views with a discreet location 2.6 Mls South of San Pedro to give your trip seclusion with real panache! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pelican Reef Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Reef Villas Hotel San Pedro
Pelican Reef Hotel
Pelican Reef Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing