We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mata Rocks Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
US$465
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pedro's Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$340
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Caribbean Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$224
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$178
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
1,048
84
13
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,048
84
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartfishbanana pancakesambergris cayecaptain oliverbreakfast was includeddinner reservationsin townhidden treasureswim up barevery morningpaddle boardswasher dryerblack orchidfull kitchenlong pierprivate island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I just recently returned from our first trip to Belize. After reviewing Tripadvisor, we chose to stay at Pelican Reef Villas and boy were we happy!

Condo: We stayed in condo #10 (2 bed/2 bath/oceanfront) and loved it. It was well maintained and the ocean/beach view from the balconies were outstanding. Spend extra on oceanfront. Well worth it.

Kitchen: Modern and well maintained. Everything you need. Free coffee and dishwashing detergent in room. Water from tap is okay to drink. Don't spend your money on bottled water.

Bathrooms: Modern and very well maintained. Very clean. Two full bathrooms (one with a shower/tub and one with only a shower). Shampoo, soap and lotion is included.

Bedrooms: Views from the Master Bedroom were wonderful to wake up to in the mornings. Beds were good. Overall very clean. TV's in both bedrooms.

Condo Others: Satellite TV's and DVD player. The resort has a small DVD library - free. All electric is the same as USA. Free wi-fi.

Pool: This is really the only small negative. I'm not sure who designed the pool, but it has VERY little shallow areas. This is okay for adults, but not ideal for children. Most people sit on the stairs leading into the pool, otherwise you are probably treading water. Pool was clean and well maintained. Swim-up bar area is shallow.

Beach: Outstanding. Amazing views. Did I say ... Amazing Views?!?! Just note ... like all other resorts on the strip, you can NOT walk out into the ocean water directly from the beach. Lots of sea grass, etc. You can walk to the end of the resort pier and go swimming from there. They have cleared away all sea grass, etc. The resort also offers free paddle boards and canoes.

Location: Yes, the resort is about 2 1/2 miles from town. At first we thought this could be a problem, but it wasn't. Once we ventured into town, we were so happy our resort was not located there. Crazy, busy, dirty and loud. Town is a must see, but I wouldn't stay there. Instead Pelican Reef is located in a very quiet, beautiful section. A small grocery store is about an 8 min bike ride away. A larger one is about 18 mins away. A few local restaurants are located close by (within easy walking distance). Keep in mind, you can also rent golf carts to venture further into town. After hiking up the beach one day into town, there was only one other resort I would consider staying. Pelican Reef is perfect! Don't pass it up.

Perks: Free bike rentals but they must be back by 5pm. Free breakfast - pick anything off the menu and it is free. Anything!!! Banana pancakes were a hit. Omelets and french toast are also good. Both breakfasts and lunches were delicious. Lunches were not expensive. Good selection.

Bar: We loved Ruth and her daily drink specials. Our favorite was cucumber and jalapeño margarita. Yummm. Don't knock it until you try it! LOL Thanks Ruth! We miss your smile.

Go to the Pelican Reef Villas website and look for booking specials!!!

Excursion #1: Lamanai - If you have seen any other Mayan ruins, you might want to consider passing on this trip. It is a 3 hr boat/bus/boat ride in both directions. The ruins are nice, but not worth the long trip ... unless these are your first Mayan ruins. We were able to climb up to the top of the large temple and the views were amazing.

Excursion #2: Scuba diving. GET CERTIFIED prior to coming to Belize. WOW! A must do activity. Lot of fish, corals and plants. We even saw turtles, rays, lobsters, crabs and even nurse sharks. If scuba is not your thing, at least go on a snorkeling trip.

Belize City Airport - Arriving from the USA, the transfer to the small local airline for our flight to Ambergris Caye was easy. Leaving Belize City was not. The airline checkin counters, immigration and security was crazy. Long, long lines!!! No A/C. Bring water. It took us 2 1/2 hrs to get through the entire mess. Not an ideal way to end a wonderful vacation.

"Belize me" ... this is a vacation you will never forget.

Room Tip: Same electric as USA (no adapters necessary). Every place takes US Dollars.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank OhioStateBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a nice quiet resort on the south end of town. It's small and perfect for families! They have kayaks and paddle boards for your use as well. If you want to snorkel you'll need to either bring your own gear or rent it in town. The manager was super nice and loaned us his own fishing reels so our grandsons could fish off of the dock.

Lovely staff; especially Ruth; she just rocks! Enrique and Glori do a great job as well. Overall we had to get used to the more slow casual island attitude. Don't take that as bad, just be prepared things don't move at the pace or sense of urgency we're used to.

There are a few reasons I've rated it a 4 versus a 5.

#1 although we loved the location, the staff really should let you know ahead of time you're going to need to rent a golf cart to get around. Only 2 restaurants are walkable for dinner as the resort only serves breakfast and lunch. There were 8 of us so one cart is tough, but we managed. [take 4/5 people, come back and get the 2nd group, repeat on the way back] Be prepared the carts are pretty close in price to actually renting a cheaper car in the states. $300+ for about 4 days.

#2 my son had the unfortunate experience of getting bumped by the waves into one of the dock piers and had an allergic reaction to the barnacles. Here is where we were really surprised. No first aid kit was available, just a bottle of ammonia spray. The staff knows people have allergic reactions to these barnacles so not having an epi pen, benedryl, or anything for a severe reaction is just asking for disaster. We saw no local urgent care centers, so if you have a real problem it looks like you're a flight away from help.

#3 although our unit was nice, the master bedroom had no door [no door means no privacy]. All the showers had no doors as well, so showers were quite cold. An addition of a shower curtain would help immensely.

#4 the cost is at the upper end of any of the resorts we've stayed at from stateside in Hawaii to overseas in Italy and they've all been as nice or nicer than here.

Unfortunately the kitchen's are really limited help because grocery stores are not what you have at home either. Aside from a few tomatoes, fresh produce was not available and we paid $120+ for 4 lbs. of sliced lunch meat. In all the stores we visited we weren't willing to risk buying anything out of the freezers because everything appeared to have been thawed and refrozen several times. So we basically used our kitchen to make sandwiches a couple of times, store snacks and my daily coffee. It seemed a waste which was sad because we generally cook a meal at night together when on vacation and this was not possible due to the limited food available.

The resort's restaurant was okay. They prepared the fish our guys caught twice for us and it was awesome. As was the coleslaw, yum!! Stay away from beef and shrimp on the island in general. Beef is chewy and the shrimp always seemed to be overcooked.

Overall a nice small resort, but you need to rent a golf cart and be ready for dining in restaurants nightly.

All tours were awesome and would definitely recommend Hol Chan Marine reserve, Shark Ray Alley, fishing with Ramon and especially a day at sea with Captain Oliver!

Room Tip: Free wifi pool side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Reef, Owner at Pelican Reef Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

As with all of our reviewers, we truly appreciate the time and effort Tracy C took to talk about our property, and Belize, to future island and PRV visitors! However, there are a few things that I feel I must clarify for our readers and future guests.

Golf Carts – As stated in our inquiry response and confirmation email sent to all guests, golf carts are the main mode of transportation on the island. We are 2.5 miles south of the center of San Pedro and we handle cart rentals on-site for added convenience. We also mention that we have free bikes and can arrange taxis for $10 USD each way to/from town. Any way you look at it, it is 15 minutes to town by taxi, cart, or bike. It’s an island--the streets are sand and cobble stone, so no method of street transportation moves very fast. But hey, most of us call that island charm. :)

To be clear, this family rented a two bench seat cart for 4 days for $221.00 USD. This price included 12.5% general sales tax and fuel.

Allergic Reaction – When we were approached with the small arm rash and asked what it was, we said it was most likely a reaction to sea barnacles that tend to grow on the pier pilings. We recommended putting some ammonia spray (which we keep on hand for these types of things) on it, since this is typically what works for these types of rashes, and it must have worked since it was reported the next day that all was fine!

However, we do have a first aid kit in our office and we have all of the medical doctors’ numbers on speed dial for trickier situations. If this would have been a moderate rash, we would have certainly arranged for a doctor to look at it for our guest, and we would have certainly made these arrangements for even a minor rash like this if we had been asked to. We don’t take these things lightly.

*Please note: you have to have a prescription for an EpiPen (which we do not), and if used improperly, the patient could have SEVERE reactions. So no, we do not (and will not) have EpiPens on hand. If you have a prescription for one, we HIGHLY recommend bringing one (or two) with you on your travels.

The reviewer is right in saying “there are no urgent care centers” on the island; however, we do have a Poly Clinic (which is between an urgent care center and hospital) and at least ten private practices, as well as doctors on-call after hours for emergencies.

Grocery Stores – The reviewer is right in saying “the grocery stores are not what you have at home”, and that is mostly because we are in Belize. :) No really, the grocery stores are more like markets and you do have to visit a few to complete a grocery list (most of the time). However, I would like to make a few clarifications in reference to the information given in the review…

You can buy a package of sliced deli turkey for approx. $16 Belize Dollars, which is $8 USD. This is a little more than what you’d pay in the States, but please keep in mind that our little island market had to buy it from the States, pay shipping and duty (plus taxes) to get it TO Belize, and then additional shipping to get it to our small island. So yes, things that aren’t “local” may be a few bucks more than what you are used to paying at home. Shop local and it’s much less expensive! To help our guests, we give suggestions on where to shop, and where not to. Try and take advantage of our recommendations to save money and frustrations!

Greg and I have lived in Belize going on 10 years now, have three children 5 and under, and have never had any problems buying anything out of the freezer section. We do prefer to visit Lino’s and buy fresh, but to each their own. Also, Belize beef is grass fed so it may be a little “chewier”, but also a LOT healthier. :)

Lastly, there are so many options for delicious and fresh produce on the island, and considering the streets are littered with produce stands, I find it extremely unfortunate that the family could only find a few tomatoes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pelican Reef Villas is everything you want when you go on vacation. Very relaxed atmosphere, gorgeous swimming pool overlooking the ocean, clean rooms, super friendly staff, and tasty drinks AND food (thank you Ruth and Armando)! We arrived late in the afternoon and were immediately greeted with a cool towel and rum punch. Our room had an ocean view (#7) and a great layout for two couples to share. The room was super clean, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and kitchen, and had A/C. We arranged three excursions (snorkeling, sunset cruise, and a catamaran trip) through Enrique and they were all exceptional, it was nice that the outings were added to your bill that you paid when you checked out. There are also kayaks and paddle boards for the guests and it is a blast. San Pedro is about a two mile trip by golf cart and it was actually pretty fun bumping to town with the locals. I cannot wait to return to this little piece of paradise!

Room Tip: We were really happy with Room #7, great ocean view but next to the pool
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deberah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed Pelican Reef Villas. Nice property, and well maintained. It is well out of town, so it is very quiet, however, it is tough to imagine staying here more than a couple nights without having a golf cart, since there are only a couple restaurants that are within reasonable walking distance. I was impressed with the staff, they seem do everything they can to accommodate requests. I stayed in a very nice, fully equipped 2 room oceanfront condo. My particular condo had very sheer curtains, which meant the morning sun came in quite brightly....sleeping in was a challenge. Under their pier is actually pretty decent snorkeling....they've put in some rocks underneath that has attracted numerous smaller colorful fish. Thumbs up if you're going to San Pedro!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Floydbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a great time here. Rooms are nice and comfortable. It's on a the beach about 2 miles south of town. Easy trip by golf cart. But the best thing about this place is the staff. They really go out of the way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Everyone here is great. Glori took care of all our travel changes like she was our own personal travel assistant. Everyone liked Ruth who was our bartender. Armando is the man to see here for whatever you need. Bartender, concierge, advisor, the guy does it all. The food was great as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob19611987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews