We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sands Cove Resort
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing & relaxing!”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at White Sands Cove for five nights and loved every one of them. The hotel is beautiful. The room had a small kitchenette, TV & DVD player, very comfortable bed, and nice, hot shower. It's located a mile or so north of San Pedro, which we found to be the perfect location. It was easy to get into San Pedro when we wanted - either via water taxi or bicycle - and easy to get back to the hotel when we were ready to relax. There are numerous restaurants along or near the beach, in close walking distance to the hotel. Nikki and Ben are incredibly friendly and helpful. Anything we needed, they helped with. Nikki, Ben, & Marlin helped us organize outings, and helped us to order dinner in on the nights we needed down time (which we often needed after all day snorkeling trips). I don't have one complaint about my stay at White Sands - in fact, I've decided to make it a new annual tradition. So, if you're thinking about going to Belize? GO! And if you're thinking about staying at White Sands? DO IT!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    45
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
84
259
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

White Sands was very relaxing. Marlon,Doris and the cute lil guy that took us diving were all very accomadating. Bikes available on premises to ride along beach with the locals, book excursions or just lay around in a hammock drinking coccunut thanks to the personal service you get from Marlon. Grounds were quiet and clean. Between bikes and golf crts we covered most of the island and I would like to say we were at the best Resort by far. I don't like to visit the same place twice but I will be returning to White Sands in 2013.

Room Tip: All great view. Upstairs closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barca1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at White Sands Cove at the beginning of November. It's well-located on the island, being just a short water taxi ride away from all of the action, yet still separate enough to provide tranquility. The resort offers the perfect balance of fun and relaxation. You can do simple things like ride the bikes on the beach or take a kayaks out for swimming and snorkeling. It's also the right place to depart for some of the islands more adventurous activities. The onsite dive shop was a convenient way to snorkel, fish, and SCUBA. We ate and drank at the bar every day and thought the food and staff were great. The staff even made fresh ceviche with the lobsters that we brought back from a spear fishing trip. It was awesome!
The biggest surprise of the trip was the balance of a small perfectly manicured resort with the company of a nice group of guests. I do believe that there were more guests at White Sands than there may have been at some of big commercial-looking resorts nearby. Yet, it always felt intimate. It was my son and I there, on our first ever father-son trip and so many of the guests at the resort embraced him and his young adventurous spirit. It was pretty amazing.
Special thanks to Ben for picking us up one rainy night and to the kitchen staff for going out of their way to accommodate some special request.
We like to try new places often, but White Sands Cove will definitely see us for many repeat visits. Great resort!!

Room Tip: We got to stay in the unit closest to the water and on the upper level. It's spacious enough fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at White Sands Cove during the first week of November and had one of the most relaxing vacations that we have probably ever had. Getting there is an adventure, but well worth the effort. Our accomodations were perfect, an out of the way suite with a large bedroom, seating area with kitchen and large screened-in porch. It was private, very clean and well maintained. Sitting on the beach or around the pool and looking out over the water, the view is like something from a travel magazine. I could have spent the entire week drinking a great Rum Punch by the bar (thank you, Ben and Doris), enjoying the view and the warm tropical weather reading a book; it was just so relaxing. We did go on a couple of excursions; fishing, snorkeling and to Caye Caulker, all arranged by the manager, Marlon. Our fishing trip was great, this was the kind of fishing my husband loves, throw out a line, and reel in a red snapper. We rented a golf cart for the week to get into town, and really enjoyed eating at many of the local restaurants, (the pupusas were a definite favorite), and shopping the small stores in town. White Sands is a great destination for a true vacation experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathermi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, ca
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here at the end of October. The resort was near empty. The grounds are kept up nicely and the property is beautiful. The staff was always helpful and friendly and by the end of our stay it was like having to leave friends. A couple of notes, 1 - PIZZA Wednesdays (kitchen is closed Wednesday night) and 2 - Say "hi" to Chico and Chica (just go and find out).

Overall, our stay was great. We stayed in the hummingbird loft suite which was nice. My only complaint would be the kitchen was a bit slow at turning out meals during dinner and the food selection was small although the food was excellent. There are plenty of other resorts within walking distance which gives you a lot of options for food and entertainment.

I would certainly recommend this resort to anyone staying on the Island. A side bonus is Scuba School Belize has an office out of this resort making it a great place to go diving from.

Tips for staying here:
1 - Food at resorts (any) is expensive for dinner
2 - Travel into town is best by water taxi ($5 pp each way)
3 - Bring bug spray, seriously.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanerene02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girlchisholm, General Manager at White Sands Cove Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are continually working to add new entrees our menu and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing White Sands Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It's hard to put into words how great out experience was at White Sands Cove. The staff exceeded all of our expectations, It was like having our own personal assistant, we let them know the excursions we wish to take they made it happen, we asked them about a golf cart to travel the Island within the hour they informed us it was on its way. They arranged to have it delivered and picked up eliminating any hassles for us. Ben was our man at the bar his Rum Punch was the bomb he made sure you were never thirsty. If you ever get by as Ben about 3's a fun little game of dice. For us White Sands Cove will be a place we use to measure how well other resorts take care of there guests.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool and bar have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girlchisholm, General Manager at White Sands Cove Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have you at the resort and we wish you many more Happy Anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

White Sands Cove is a modern, clean and comfortable boutique hotel with large bedrooms and full kitchens. Marlon the manager, Doris in the bar/restaurant, and the guys in the dive shop all took good care of us, and we fell in love with the resident dogs. We could book all excursions through the hotel. White Sands is located at a very convenient spot for strolling along the path that stretches the length of Ambergris along the waterfront. There are restaurants within walking distance, and the water taxi will stop at the hotel’s pier to take you to town. If you want relax and be well taken care of, you would enjoy White Sands Cove.

Room Tip: Save a little money and get a room one building back from the water. Its still very close to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertsearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
5.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,279 reviews
4.6 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Property: White Sands Cove Resort
Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances | 2.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away among tropical fauna and turquoise waters, White Sands Cove Resort sits 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, on the Island of Ambergris Caye. Just off the coast of Belize, our cozy boutique resort is tastefully defined by its unique balance of tranquility and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing