We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sands Cove Resort
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We loved our stay at White Sands Cove. The staff was absolutely lovely and planned a plethora of excursions for us. From zip-lining to cave tubing, deep sea fishing, snorkeling, swimming with sharks and rays, and several scuba trips. They coordinated water taxis on a daily basis and gave excellent dinner recommendations. The pool was a perfect oasis and the bar hosted yummy lunch and dinner. Make sure to take out the kayaks to finish off your perfect beach experience! Have fun:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    43
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
80
253
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed 7 days at the WSC resort over the Christmas holidays. We were two adults and two teenagers. We stayed in a lower 2-bedroom unit. We were steps from the pool, bar and restaurant. The room was very clean and well-maintained. The staff and service were the highlights of the stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful throughout the week. Flight delays caused us to be almost five hours late in arriving at San Pedro. The airport staff in Belize City allowed us to call and advise the hotel. Ward was able to adjust their schedule and had a car waiting upon our arrival. The driver was friendly and courteous and took us to the local grocery store to stock-up before continuing to the hotel. When we finally arrived at about 8:30, we were warmly welcomed by Ward and Jenna. The bar and restaurant also stayed open and made us a delicious meal for our first night on the Caye. We made breakfasts in the condo and ate out for lunch and dinners. The hotel is an easy walk from a variety of restaurants all of which were quite good. Jenna gave us an accurate and complete run-down of the local restaurant scene on our first morning. Our family consensus was that the food and service at WSC were the best of the stay. Ms. Miguela’s jerk, curry and seafood dishes were amazing: we like some spice in our food and were not disappointed. We took advantage of the pool, bikes, on-site dive shop and kayaks during the week. The day we took the bikes, we were the last out, so the bikes were a bit rough, but functional. The pool and grounds are beautiful and very well-maintained. Our main activity was diving. The dive-shop staff were great and we had several spectacular dives. The on-site shop is run by Belize Pro Dive Centre. All of the arrangements are made at the hotel and the dive shop provides a water taxi to-and-from their main location, about 10 minutes away. Overall, we loved the location of the hotel, it’s not in town, but it’s not far. We made a couple of trips to town by water taxi. We were also well- treated by the dogs, Chico and Chica. They adopted our family on arrival and were good companions throughout. We were sad to say goodbye at the end of the week. We would highly recommend the WSC for a stay on Ambergris Caye.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Before arriving to White Sands Cove I became ill and sick I was. I was very thankful for the spacious accommodations and all of the comforts of home; they made the thought of being ill in a foreign country less intimidating. Also, with the help of Jenna and Ward, I was well on my way to recovery, just as I had to depart. In the worst of times, I was very fortunate to have such a positive experience at White Sands Cove Resort. I would be eager to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiErinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived at White Sands Cove from cold temperatures and couldn't have been more excited about the resort. From first glance, the property is clean, well-maintained, quiet, safe, and welcoming. The resort is just off the ocean, and its 20+ sky blue condos are all neatly organized around the periphery with the bar/restaurant and pool are centrally located. The vegetation in the setting is plentiful. There are many local trees, plants, and flowers, including hibiscus and coconut. It is beautiful. The sandy ground is raked daily, the pool is cleaned daily, and the beachfront is cleaned up and maintained. There are hammocks and beach chairs to lounge in and the condos have porches to relax on as well. We did experience some rain while there, so the covered hammock cabanas and the porch areas were a bonus that allowed us to still be outside and enjoy the weather and sounds of nature, but kept us dry.

The food cooked by Ms. Miguela was delicious. The curry dishes, chicken/shrimp alfredo dishes, stuffed grouper, key lime pie were delicious. My husband especially enjoyed the stuffed grouper, which is the cooks specialty (we were told). For the quality and quantity, everything is very well priced. I could have eaten her food every night! The bar was in a great location with a nice selection. Happy hour runs every day from one to five and prices are the best around.

The resort has a dive shop on location, which offers a number of excursion opportunities. The Hol Chan and Shark Ray areas are some of the best to see a variety of fish, sea turtles, lobster, stingrays, eel, and shark. There are even dolphins and manatee in the area if you are lucky. We happened to come across two dolphins on our day excursion. The turquoise water is crystal clear and clean, and the reef well-protected and beautiful. You can't ask for a better location to visit. The resort also has kayaks and bikes available to guests for no charge. If you can manage to get a wind-free day, the kayaks would be a blast. We went out one afternoon, and it was a lot of work with the wind, but so fun to be on the water! They also have a small spa on location and can make arrangements for guests depending on their requests.

From WSC, you are within walking distance of many other resorts, bars, and restaurants. You can turn left or right on the main beach path and travel as little or far as you would like. It is not particularly well-lit at night, so a flashlight or cell phone light would be helpful. It is also a good idea to bring deep woods bug repellant for the 4-7 pm times, as the bugs go to special work at this time. I was only bit a few times (I used the spray often on my feet and legs and mainly wore long dresses), but my husband's legs bitten quite a bit when he was wearing shorts.

To get to town (San Pedro), you can either take a water taxi (Costal or private, ask the managers Ward and Jenna...they will get you anything you need!), a bike, or you can walk. There are also water taxis (Belize Express or Costal) that can take you to Caye Caulker (the next nearest island) or to mainland. The managers will also help arrange any trips to mainland for excursions (ATM caves, zip lining, Mayan ruins, cave tubing).

Overall, the entire Belizean and WSC experience was wonderful. After visiting other resorts in the area for food and drinks, we would still hands down stay at White Sands Cove. We enjoyed the small, private "community", the personalized "care" of the staff, the friendliness of everyone (staff and other guests/homeowners), and the beautiful setting (loved the lights on the trees). The beds were extremely comfortable, as were the linens, beach towels were available, air conditioning was available, television, Wi-Fi (in some areas), and so much more. We've been to large, all-inclusive resorts before, and this just wasn't the same experience (THANK GOODNESS!). It was so much better.

We highly recommend staying at this location. Calling with questions or e-mailing the management is easy prior to your booking or arrival. They are very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorslover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at WSC Resort for 3 nights, it was a cloudy day and we did the Hol Chan snorkeling with Bernie. So glad we did, as soon as you went under the water you could see beautiful fish, sea turtles, lobster and even an octopus. Bernie was great, bringing sting rays up so you could see them up close.
After a long day not expecting much from the restaurant attached to the resort- but the stuffed grouper proved me wrong. Great food to end the day. I'll be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just returned from our trip to Belize and we loved every minute!

We stayed in a beach front unit that was beautiful, clean, with picturesque views. It was a great place to stay. The staff at White Sands Cove was incredible. Jenna, Ward, Marlon and Chris were extremely helpful in getting all of our excursions and dinners planned. They went out of their way to arrange cave tubing, blue hole, and manatee trips for us. They also made dinner reservations for us when needed which made life so much easier. The resort has bikes and kayaks free to those staying there. It was great for us to kayak out to the reef and snorkel!

The location of the resort was perfect for us. It was quiet and beautiful, away from the scene of downtown San Pedro, however it was a quick trip when we did want to venture into town.

The food at White Sands Cove was delicious, Ms. Miguela and Doris do a great job with food and drinks. We at quite often at Ak'Bol for breakfast, which was delicious and ventured a short walk to Palapa Bar, Capricorn and Captain Morgans other nights for a change of scenery. All the restaurants were very good. However, we were surprised at the lack of cheaper options for food. Just an FYI.

As for travel tips to Belize....the bugs were pretty terrible (through no fault of the resort, just the weather). Bring bug spray!!! They also said that baby oil helps to keep the sand fleas away, although I didnt get a chance to try it.

I definitely suggest White Sands Cove!!

Room Tip: We loved our beach front view and think it was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

White Sands is by far the best resort on Ambergris Caye. Jenna and Ward the managers are super attentive as well as Marlin who is everywhere and Doris who makes awesome pina Coladas! The grounds are kept up on a daily basis. There are plenty of hammocks to hang in for a relaxing afternoon. We had a condo right on the beach and the view was incredible. The unit was very clean and had maid service daily. Wifi was available if you need to stay in touch with the outside world. For guests there are bikes and kayaks available. Kayak to the reef and you will see amazing sea life. When we were picked up from the airport, the driver took us to the grocery store and we were able to buy food for breakfast and snacks. Lunch and dinners were eaten at the resort or in town which is only three miles away. Town is easily accessible by water taxi for $5.00 US per person. Well worth it! Can't wait to return to WSC. 5 days was not enough. Thank you for making our vacation so special.

Room Tip: It is worth getting a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
4.6 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Cove Resort

Property: White Sands Cove Resort
Address: Laguna De Cayo Frances | 2.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#15 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Sands Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away among tropical fauna and turquoise waters, White Sands Cove Resort sits 2.5 miles north of San Pedro, on the Island of Ambergris Caye. Just off the coast of Belize, our cozy boutique resort is tastefully defined by its unique balance of tranquility and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Sands Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Cove Hotel San Pedro
Hotel White Sands Cove
White Sands Cove Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing