We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

5 stars and this wasn't even where we stayed! We left our resort one evening to have dinner at X'tan Ha. We were a group of 21. 10 adults and 11 kids, ages 3-19. Oliver and co were so accommodating! Oliver showed us the resort accommodations and made sure we had a great time. He even invited us back to spend the day during our trip. We took him up on the offer, took a water taxi from our resort and spent an entire day at the resort. We ate, drank and played. The resort is kept immaculate. The pool was refreshing and clean. Kids and adults alike enjoyed the water volleyball, kayaks, Hobie cat, paddle boat, paddle boards, sand toys and water trampoline! Yes, all those things at your disposal. The beach is mostly clear of sea grass which was awesome. We were able to play and relax in the crystal blue sea! It was incredible! There wasn't one complaint! The staff was great as well. Elder at the bar was amazing! We kept him busy! The next time we go to Belize we will book our stay at X'tan Ha! We can't wait!! Thank you Oliver!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajprospertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

We must say that we are well pleased with your comments, especially the fact that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. In addition we will be looking forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit to the Island. Looking forward to seeing you soon and thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

All the reviews on trip advisor were spot on!

5 reasons for 5 stars:

1) FREE beach immentities! You could easily kayak half a mike from their beach and scuba dive.

2) great rooms. The kitchenette is stocked with water so no need to repurchase bottled water. We kept cups of water in the fridge to keep cold :)

3) beautiful beach. They keep up with the maintenance to make sure there are no rocks or dried seaweed/grass in the sand.

4) friendly staff. Mariam the concierge was very helpful. Hall the bartender served the best piña colada. The owners interacted with all the guests to ensure we had a great time.

5) they hosted their first sunset dinner on the beach during our stay and the food was delish.

Tips:

1) ignore the weather reports. There weren't any isolated thunder storms. Sunny most of the day and to be honest I didn't mind the occasional clouds for a break from the sun.

2) if you need more privacy you might want to request a room on the upper level. The blinds are very sheer.

3) ordering food for room delivery was a bit troublesome since they didn't have phones in the room but it didn't bother us since we were next to the bar and office.

Hope this has helped! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lynahoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to have host you guys and i am sure your reasoning for the 5 stars will indeed help our next visitors. Do know that your tips has been taken into consideration and we will referred to moving forward. In addition Good Job on the Weather Report piece :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I am reluctantly sharing our experience and excellent find of X’tan Ha…for this place is AWESOME!
So Awesome that once savvy Island travelers get in the know it will be impossible to find vacancies.
The Best Staff, The Best Beach, The Best Rooms and Accommodations and The Most Fun of ANY resort on the Island. Did I mention The Best Staff? The Team of People who work to create the guest experience here at X’tan Ha is truly some of the best people I have met in all The Caribbean. Warm, Friendly, and such a perfect blend of polished professionalism to accommodate every type of traveler from the back packer to the most discerning.
We first stayed Dec-Jan 2013 and met some fantastic people and we all enjoyed ourselves so much we decided to re-trip this past April. The coolest traveling friends from Toronto who would never re-trip either just had so much fun we all came back. Twice as nice? That’s right! The incredible X’tan Ha staff was so on point again that every day was effortless.
They say everything comes from the top down and in this case it’s true. Oliver and Della (Managers) are such great people who have a genuine delightfulness about themselves and carry a positive guest-first attitude. Front desk guest relation dynamic duo is Miriam and Ludrick and I really cannot remember such a warm accommodating experience from a front desk. These two know your name from minute one and even pick up on what special interest(s) you may have. Questions and requests are met with an absolute yes and do the best to meet guests’ needs with impressive follow through. Making sure guests are happy is what makes these two young pros excel at what they do!
Island travelers know there is nothing better than a great Bartender. One who has vast knowledge of the region, people, things to do AND things not to do…a real straight shooter and Again X’tan Ha delivers with such a great Pro Mixologist Named “Hill”. This is the kind of Bartender you stay at a place just because he’s there. Friendly and enjoyable to be around and everyone knows him and Likes him on the Island. He sent us to some of the best hidden local spots for food, fishing and snorkeling and every time we said” Hill sent us” people’s faces would light up and say Welcome and be sure to tell Hill hello. Hill is not over the top, he is a real nice gentleman who clearly has earned the respect of locals and travelers alike. One thing we heard often on both visit “let’s ask Hill” and “Hill will know” He’s so cool you become a fan and a friend too.
Jose, Marlon and Mathew are on top of their game keeping the beaches well maintained and clean. Anything you need, they’re always there to make sure it’s done with a no problem, no worries attitude that just puts you at ease. Bike tire needs air, paddle for Kayak, need a life jacket, can I get another fresh water container for the room or need another beach chair or umbrella …Instantly they deliver. Again the follow through is truly impressive.
The rooms are a perfect mix of Island life and the comforts of home. The large shower is fantastic and the beds are pillow top lush comfort. With separate LG (Life Good) A/C units in the living area and in the bedroom, you will be so comfortable from Morning to Midnight. We always left the windows opened all the time to let in the fresh Caribbean sea breeze, so we slept listening to the sound of the waves and woke up to them as well. How can you beat that?
We have travelled extensively and usually never repeat a destination. We had no reservations about going back and possibly planning another trip soon because this Island is magical!

Gino & Hue, Santa Monica, CA

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are great, however, all rooms pretty much have a great view. The property is fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ginomarcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

You guys have been nothing but an inspiration to us all from our first meeting. We enjoyed your positive energy and enthusiasm which further encouraged us to go above and beyond at all times, so in other words you were right to say that our job or task here at the resort was and still is indeed effortless, which was based solely from your energy and encouragement and often times a simple thank you and for that we are grateful. Furthermore at our Resort we believe in family and friendship and you guys became both. The staff at X’tan Ha Resort is once again re-energized thanks to both of you and your words of encouragement. We do look forward to hosting you once again and hope to not only meet, but exceed your expectations as well. Lastly the management and staff of X’Tan Ha Resort extend a heartfelt thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed five nights over Memorial weekend with a good friend, and it was very memorable! We loved the beach right outside our front door. We went into town to the "Green Grocer" and picked up some staples and snacks. We would make brunch and enjoy our first meal while enjoying our first meal of the day on our porch. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating (Miriam, Oliver, Hill, Elder, Carlos, etc.).

We had a good time on the catamaran with some other guests. Miriam booked a fun snorkeling and swim with the sharks (don't worry - they're friendly") excursion - pretty fun. She also booked a zip lining and cave tubing excursion near Belmopan and we really enjoyed that.

The beach was great and we enjoyed swimming and the various water toys. I also really liked that this resort is smaller and about 20 mins from San Pedro by boat. This was fun for us, but maybe not ideal for those looking for a high-energy trip. We didn't even get a chance to swim in the pool, but it was clean and looked great.

The only thing we wish we would've done is stayed longer!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

It has and always will be our aim to ensure that all our vacationing guests not only enjoy but indeed create fund memories and because you did we are truly happy here at X'tan Ha Resort. We do look forward not only to serving you but perhaps your friends and family as well. In addition your honesty and sincerity was well received by the staff. Thanks once again from all of us here at X;tan Ha Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spent 4 nights at X'tan Ha in May and LOVED it! From our correspondence beforehand w/ Miriam (who was always helpful and quick to respond) to our arrival on the dock, everything ran very smoothly. And the pretty rum punch drink that was put in our hands helped make arrival even better! We were so pleased with our room - very clean, it had all of the amenities you would need while staying on property (refrigerator, AC, a microwave and coffee pot, very comfortable bed, etc!). But of course, like most vacations, we didn't stay IN the room all that often. The office staff and the property managers were there to answer questions or reserve excursions or outings, as well as just visit with us (so friendly!). Elder, the bartender, was so nice and made wonderful drinks! We really felt like we were part of the family. The restaurant was nice and Carlos was really sweet and helpful as well. We really can't say enough about X'tan Ha! We walked down the beach to Matachica (past Portofino) and both properties were really pretty, but none of their beaches compared to X'tan Ha - so clean (they were constantly raking the sand) and clear water. If you are looking for a laid back location with friendly staff and guests, X'tan Ha is the place for you! We will definitely be back!!

Tips:
1. We used Tropic Air to get from Belize City to the Caye and it was great! I was nervous about the tiny plane, but it was a great experience. We met other people that used the boats to get across and they took forever.
2. Make use of the free gear - snorkeling equipment, kayaks, bikes, etc. to explore. And definitely go out to Mexico Rocks to snorkel (free on the kayak) but only if it isn't crazy windy! We went one morning and it took us about 15 minutes to kayak out there and it was great. But that same afternoon, the waves were much bigger and it wasn't as much fun.
3. The Action Adventures excursion to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley was awesome! Definitely worth it and really not that expensive!
4. Several of the area restaurants will send a boat to pick you up for their restaurant (and bring you back). You can book it through the office, but make sure you plan ahead for it.
5. We ordered a few groceries from Mata Grande Grocery (Miriam recommended) and everything was in our room when we arrived. Saved us a couple of times b/c we didn't feel like getting out to eat, etc. But don't order too much! You will not be in your room much. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We at X'tan Ha Resort thank you for your kind and true comments especially that about making everyone feel like family since that is indeed our objective here at the resort. We do look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Secluded, amazing piece of paradise. Rooms and amenities are great with AC, little kitchen, TV etc....The beach is great, you can even snorkel around and you'll be amazed at what you see. Staff are very nice and welcoming! The resort has every kind of water toy you would want, kayaks, snorkeling gear, paddle boats etc. The pool is nice and very welcoming after a full day on the beach. You come here to refuel. Would definetly book again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontrealMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend visited Belize for the first time and after reading the reviews here and doing some additional research we decided to pick this resort. Looking back, we both agree that it was a great choice. The beach and resort look exactly like the pictures. There was plenty of privacy and the owners were very good at giving us our space while being friendly and accomodating during our few interactions with them. Everything is new and in good condition and very clean.

I'll go over the cons first as they are fewer in number. The location of this resort is far from the town so you have to take the water taxi which costs about 12 bucks US each way. Also, while the managers are clearly competent and great hosts, they were very adamant to limit interactions with the staff and us. I understand their point of view, but in our case our interactions with the staff made our trip much more authentic, and I feel that perhaps some of the staff got in trouble for hanging out with us.

Now I'll go over some of the pros. The water is absolutely stunning on this beach, it's completely clean thanks to guys raking the beach every morning, The sand is wonderful, and the water is so shallow and warm it's a complete joy to swim in. You can also see stingrays and barracuda right off the dock. I also saw a school of needle fish right off the shore. The resort itself is in great shape and the rooms and cabins exceeded our expectations. It's nice to have a balcony to sit by and enjoy the ocean view. The staff are very hospitable and accommodating. Marlin one of the staff let me use his fishing equipment and showed me some good spots during his time off. I got sick during my trip and one of the female staff from the restaurant gave me a bunch of cold medicine that I believe saved our trip, Angelino even went to town and bought me some nighttime cold medicine as well. Jairo the gardener cut a bunch of coconuts for me and my girlfriend and put them by our room without us even asking him. You could tell the people that work at this resort love their jobs and they paid great attention to make our trip special. When I was sick, various hotel staff came by to see how I was doing and to offer any help that they could. When my girlfriend went to order a sprite for me while I was sick, Elder the bartender actually came up to my room to pour the drink for me and to ask if there was anything else I needed. These little things made me and my girlfriend feel very welcome and happy for choosing X'tan Ha Resort. Carlos and Oscar at the restaurant were very welcoming and professional and it was always a nice treat having Carlos deliver our meals to the beach or to our room. Last but not least Miriam was great at keeping in contact with us prior to our trip and booking our flights to and from the hotel. She was also great at answering our questions about the island and helping us out.

Overall it was a great trip and we're in the process of purchasing property on the island. We would definitely go again and we recommend this resort for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smsingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
475 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £118 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing