We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. I can't say enough about this place. The value was great for such an incredible place. We booked a sea view villa (I recommend 3A) and I never got I over the stunning views from our balcony! The gorgeous water and beach just steps away. In fact, a lot of locals told us this resort has the best beach on the island. The staff work around the clock to keep it clean and free of sea grass and debris. Speaking of staff, they were so sweet! From the managers and their dog, buddy, to the guys always raking the beaches...everyone always had a smile on their face and were eager to help ensure you have a perfect time. Hill, the bartender, was very funny and outgoing and helped us on numerous occasions by letting us use his cell phone trying to contact our dive instructor. They welcomed us with complimentary drinks as we were checking in. One of the best things I love about this resort is you really feel like you're getting away from it all. It doesn't feel at all crowded or overrun with the "spring break" kind of crowd. It's very family oriented and creates a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. They have so many complimentary activities: kayaks, paddle boarding, snorkel gear, etc. We would go out to Mexico Rocks everyday (a 15 min kayak trip) and would see all kinds of fish, coral, rays, and even nurse sharks! If you go around 3-4, fisherman tend to chum the water and there will be more sharks and rays to see. The food is great (and I'm a picky eater) and plenty of selections. Although, our best meals were in town at Wild Mangoes and Caprise. We had such a great time here and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jessiejapzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thanks guys we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, but more so that you were able to relax and get a feel of the people and staff here at the resort. Our aim is to ensure that all guests are not only treated as family, but also that they feel as if they are the only ones here, which i believed was achieved based on your comments. We are hopeful that you will be spending another anniversary with us here at X'tan Ha Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived at X'Tan Ha (pronounced e-shtahn-ha by the locals) on a hot sultry day in June after a short boat ride from the town of San Pedro 7.2 miles away. The cool azure and turquoise waters of the Caribbean were met by soft white sands, and we were met by Mariam and Elder with drinks in hand at the picturesque dock with a quintessential and perfect thatched hut on stilts. Time stood still and we stepped into paradise.

For the next 7 days, we had little reason to venture away from this private abode. Our mojitos were poured at the bar by Elder on the beach without asking, our meals were cooked by Carlos any time we wanted, and the grounds-keeping magically kept everything in perfect order. Not a blade of grass to disturb the perfect white sand beach, Our choices were difficult...should we lounge in the beautiful pool or should we dip in the ocean; should be look at the sky from the hammock or should we sit back at the dock; should we get a massage on the beach or take the paddle boat for a spin...choices, very tough choices!

Serendipity matched our visit with the start of the lobster season. Much excitement and fanfare followed with open air lobster BBQs to refreshing lobster ceviches. All the time it felt at home with no pretentious commercialization -- just friends getting together in a private paradise around the bar for good food, good drinks and good conversations. We met some amazingly wonderful guests who bonded like family. The joyous laughter of our kids frolicking in the pool filled the afternoon air and the staff was always there to make the experience exceptional.

We recommend X'Tan Ha to anyone who loves natures beauty, great service and a place where time stands still...we long to be back again!

-- Jay, Vera and Adrian

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for your recommendation guys, as they say "word of mouth" is one of the most effective form of advertising and in your case it does indeed help with our credibility and what we work so hard for here at X'tan Ha Resort. Needless to say we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are almost positive that you will return to spend yet another memorable vacation with us.
Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you on our beautiful beach soaking up those wonderful rays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I must say I was very happy with this resort.
The bartenders, and the entire staff were very friendly and accommodating.
After 6 months of Chemo I needed to get away for some fun and relaxation.
I will definitely go back to visit this resort.

Linda (The Wild One)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We are pleased that you did get a chance to relax after your ordeal and we would definitely be looking out for your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had a wonderful five night stay at X’Tan Ha – what a magical place! We rented a sea villa only steps to the sea and our stay coincided with a lovely full moon – which made for romantic meals on our porch overlooking the barrier reef. We took Miriam’s advice and ordered groceries and provisions from Mata Grande Grocery Store and true to their word, they were delivered before our arrival. Miriam was also very helpful in recommending excursions and local restaurants – be sure to take the Hol Chan and Shark Valley snorkeling trip as well as the courtesy water taxi ride into San Pedro – we had a fabulous dinner at Blue Moon Water Grill right on the beach. Our favorite meal was at Mambo’s at the Mata Chica Resort – we had a lovely table, phenomenal food and terrific service on the terrace – we also biked there one day for a delicious lunch of shrimp tacos beachside. The food and drink at X’Tan Ha were great too – especially recommend the burritos for either breakfast or lunch, which are easily big enough to share – don’t forget to add the local Marie Sharp’s hot sauce! The managers Della and Oliver, as well as their beautiful dog, Buddy, and all the staff at X’Tan Ha made us feel very welcome and they truly intended and delivered a wonderful easy going stay for all the guests. X’Tan Ha is a magical, colorful place, fabulously fixed up after recently being re-opened, and has the best swimming beach on the island. If like us, you prefer a more secluded, quaint, low-key escape that you will no doubt love it too! We certainly hope to be back soon!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Nancy_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We are almost tempted to have you come work with us, your suggestions and tips alone will encourage anyone to book with us here at X'tan Ha Resort. In addition it was indeed our pleasure to have you guys stay with us and yes we are looking forward to seeing you soon as well. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

From the moment the water taxi delivered us on to the dock at X' Tan Ha, we knew this was the place where our good would be better and our better would be blessed.
Never having been to Belize, my husband and I were taken back by the sheer beauty of this quaint and colorful Ambergris Caye resort. The obvious care and attention to detail rang true from the Katanga Beach Bar at the end of the dock to the two story villas that encircled the sparkling saline pool.
The on site management and hand picked staff catered to our every need for the six days we spent in the comfortable seafront villa where again the importance of ease and comfort were a main priority. Fresh drinking water, beach towels, climate control and a fully stocked kitchenette were only a few of the many things about this resort that made staying here feel like a home away from home. The Chef and bartenders that made sure our pallet was satisfied any time of the day; the men and women who brought room service, cleaned the rooms and maintained the grounds; and the warmth and friendliness that was a constant throughout our stay made this our go to vacation spot for next year. Just to make sure, we booked it before we left!
Thank you so much X' Tan Ha for all you do. We'll see you next June and this time we're bringing the rest of our bunch!

25 on a 1 to 10 scale

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for Seaview. First floor is steps to the water. Second floor has the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7Cricket11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

At this time all we can say is thanks, the staff here at X'tan Ha is once again motivated and eager to do even more for you our valued guests. We genuinely appreciate your kind words which you indeed prove to be true simply by re-booking on the spot as you said. In addition we would now have to up the ante to ensure that your second stay with us have even more fun filled memories as you join us once again with your family. A sincere thank you from us all as we look forward to catering to you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

5 stars and this wasn't even where we stayed! We left our resort one evening to have dinner at X'tan Ha. We were a group of 21. 10 adults and 11 kids, ages 3-19. Oliver and co were so accommodating! Oliver showed us the resort accommodations and made sure we had a great time. He even invited us back to spend the day during our trip. We took him up on the offer, took a water taxi from our resort and spent an entire day at the resort. We ate, drank and played. The resort is kept immaculate. The pool was refreshing and clean. Kids and adults alike enjoyed the water volleyball, kayaks, Hobie cat, paddle boat, paddle boards, sand toys and water trampoline! Yes, all those things at your disposal. The beach is mostly clear of sea grass which was awesome. We were able to play and relax in the crystal blue sea! It was incredible! There wasn't one complaint! The staff was great as well. Elder at the bar was amazing! We kept him busy! The next time we go to Belize we will book our stay at X'tan Ha! We can't wait!! Thank you Oliver!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajprospertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

We must say that we are well pleased with your comments, especially the fact that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. In addition we will be looking forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit to the Island. Looking forward to seeing you soon and thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

All the reviews on trip advisor were spot on!

5 reasons for 5 stars:

1) FREE beach immentities! You could easily kayak half a mike from their beach and scuba dive.

2) great rooms. The kitchenette is stocked with water so no need to repurchase bottled water. We kept cups of water in the fridge to keep cold :)

3) beautiful beach. They keep up with the maintenance to make sure there are no rocks or dried seaweed/grass in the sand.

4) friendly staff. Mariam the concierge was very helpful. Hall the bartender served the best piña colada. The owners interacted with all the guests to ensure we had a great time.

5) they hosted their first sunset dinner on the beach during our stay and the food was delish.

Tips:

1) ignore the weather reports. There weren't any isolated thunder storms. Sunny most of the day and to be honest I didn't mind the occasional clouds for a break from the sun.

2) if you need more privacy you might want to request a room on the upper level. The blinds are very sheer.

3) ordering food for room delivery was a bit troublesome since they didn't have phones in the room but it didn't bother us since we were next to the bar and office.

Hope this has helped! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lynahoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to have host you guys and i am sure your reasoning for the 5 stars will indeed help our next visitors. Do know that your tips has been taken into consideration and we will referred to moving forward. In addition Good Job on the Weather Report piece :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
153 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
484 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 55 in San Pedro
895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Blu Adults Only Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £132 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing