We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and excellent service.”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I never write reviews but was compelled to write one for X'tan Ha. We spent four nights (September 19-22) here to start off our anniversary trip in Belize. The staff works extremely hard to keep the resort clean. The beach is absolutely beautiful. The service provided by Oliver and crew are second to none. We felt like part of the family instead of guests. We bought groceries in town and prepared our own breakfast but ate lunch and dinner at the Temple Run Restaurant. The food was wonderful, especially the burgers. The four nights spent here was not enough so we are already planning to return next year for a week. Look no further, X'tan is fantastic choice when visiting San Pedro.

Room Tip: Room 2C is the perfect beach front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mzslil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

We are happy that you had a wonderful stay at our Resort. The staff remains energized and committed to service excellence thanks to comments like yours.

We are equally enthused in anticipation of your next visit especially since we do have some future projects in the pipeline that we are sure would make your stay an even more memorable one.

Thank you for writing and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I had a great time during our week at X'tan ha Resort. We were met at the dock by Oliver the manager of the resort and welcomed with a Rum Punch drink. Our luggage was delivered to our room by Angelino who helped us get acquainted with the resort. After settling in, we met other friendly guests at the Katonga Beach Bar and Aaron was a wonderful bartender who could make many tropical drinks. We took the No Worries tour company for a fishing and snorkeling expedition one day and were impressed with Mario and Kevin who were are guides for the day and we finished our trip that day with a beach BBQ with the fish that we caught. X'tan Ha has the nicest beach on the island and the views from our room were awesome of the aqua blue water. You do have to take a boat shuttle into San Pedro for shopping since the resort is located 7 miles from the town. The specials at the on site restaurant were very good and we ate there most evenings. Thanks to Oliver and the rest of the staff for a great week at X'tan Ha Resort.

Room Tip: We were in Room 5A which was by the Pool but still had a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John252627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We are happy that you get to enjoy our Resort and that our staff was welcoming as well as catered to your needs.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and tips through this medium as it definitely aids in making our potential guests more equipped on there vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We (myself and my boyfriend) spent 7 nights at X'tan Ha Aug 31-into September and had a wonderful stay. By far the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on! The staff was amazing from Oliver, Miriam, Angel, Chi (our favorite bartender!) among others who were always willing to help. They take great care of the beach, raking the sea grass regularly, pulling equipment up at night etc. Rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious, the stovetop cooking option was AWESOME and a great way to save some money while there, eat fresh seafood etc. We made bacon and eggs every morning and had coffee on the porch listening to the sea hit the beach. (A sound I miss immensely) Highly recommend a grocery delivery if you're there a few days, everything was fresh and reasonably priced. (Be sure to order Belizean coffee and the fresh salsa) Other guests were awesome as well. Friendly, kind, all looking to relax. The nearby snorkling at Mexican rocks was awesome. Also, with kayaks, paddle boards included etc made activities affordable. We did the 1/2 day trip to shark ray alley and hol chan and it was fabulous! Highly recommend it. You can come and spend zero money on excursions and still get some good water activities and snorkling in for free. All food we ordered from the resort was fresh, no complaints. I know flies are hard to control at an outdoor bar... But if there is anything that could be done to reduce them during the day, we may have spent more time at the bar. At night they calm down. Bring bug spray w deet, helps a lot!! Overall, the flies and bugs weren't bad at all though. Went to San Pedro and ate at Elvis, was delicious. Took the free night boat ride to the Italian restaurant at a nearby resort, blanking on the name, Portofino I think, but it was a very good meal! Not cheap or crazy expensive, but was worth it for a date night! The resort is remote and may not be a great option if you are coming to the reef to dive. 7 plus miles north of San Pedro. The diving in Belize is much more accesible further south. Keep up the great work at this resort! We hope to be back and thank everyone for such an amazingly relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: 1A was great, beach front is worth the extra cash! Loved having an upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with others using this medium. We especially liked your heading it is very catchy. The staff and management here at the resort sincerely appreciate your kind comments and do hope that we get to cater to your needs once more on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'm a flight attendant for a major airline and having seen it all, I'd definitely recommend this place! My boyfriend and I just spent a week there and we could have stayed three more, we enjoyed it so much. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the No Worries company crew that took us snorkeling was fantastic, and the resort grounds are second to none. If you are a relaxed and easy-going traveler, this is the place for you! It rained all but two of the days we were there and we still had a wonderful experience. Thank you, Oliver! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room was off the water by the pool and we had excellent wi-fi service. Unit was nice and felt pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwissMissSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to host you guys and we would be more than happy to have you back. There are a lot of future projects underway including the bar and restaurant which would aid in making your next visit a memorable one.
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience and we will be watching for your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here the 2nd week of September (2013) for 5 days and it was a wonderful experience. Our lodge was an oceanfront property that was perhaps 15-20 steps from the beach. They do an excellent job making sure the beach area is in pristine condition. The dock area is nice and very well maintained and the bar area is situated in an ideal location. The restaurant is nothing to write home about but the food is decent. We ended up ordering meals from the bar area from the restaurant and consuming it there. Our unit had a kitchen and fridge and we pre-ordered drinks and some groceries for the week.

The location of the resort is a bit isolated and would require travel by boat-shuttle. But we had a fantastic time hanging around the resort and enjoying the beach and amenities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were fortunate enough to connect with other guests of the resort which made it even more enjoyable. Thank you all for contributing to our wonderful trip:

Rick and Peggy
Gerald and Emily
Brian and Summer
Wes and Vida
Al and Judy

And a special thank you to Oliver for being such a gracious host. We will be back... hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: Ocean facing properties HIGHLY recommended!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuckie_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Once again we are happy to say that you our valued guests grasp the concept of seclusion and as you stated isolation. Taking advantage of the resort amenities is definitely one way to pass the time and ensure a good time.
We will be looking out for your next trip to our resort, but until then thanks for the fund memories and for sharing it with us and others through this medium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the X'tan Ha during the first week of September for 4 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer!! As the title of the review suggests, the beach was stunning. They do a great job of raking the sea grass off the beach, so you can just walk right into the water! Many of the other resorts we saw and passed did not have many (if any) people out on the beach. At the X'tan Ha, everyone is out on the beach! This was one of the things we wanted when looking for a resort. I can find pretty pools anywhere, but not a beach like that!

We had a beach front villa, which was great! We were close to the bar and front desk, but there were never any noise problems. All the staff was very nice and helpful. Oliver, his wife, and everyone else are busy making the X'tan Ha an even better place, and we hope to go back sometime to see what changes they have made!

We have not spent much time on any beaches for our vacations, and I was a little nervous at first that I might get bored (I'm a bit odd, and prefer to be active while on vacation, as opposed to sitting all day). Luckily, the X'tan Ha has many things to do! You can relax on the beach all day if you want, use the complimentary water equipment, take trips to San Pedro, snorkel, or do tours with the on-site tour company ("No Worries"). We did all these! We took the complimentary boat to San Pedro, which was very convenient, kayaked out to Mexico Rocks, where we snorkeled, went out on the catamaran, and spent a day with No Worries tours.

No Worries was great! They took us fishing (I caught a bunch of snapper), cooked our fish for us at a beach BBQ, and took us snorkeling at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. We had so much fun with them! Hill (who is also the amazing bartender) arranged everything for us, and Kevin and Mario were wonderful guides!

The onsite restaurant is good, though they are still figuring out their menu. The specials were always delicious, and the chef said they were working on a new menu that would include regular dishes that will be more like the specials. They are not open 24/7, and close down for a few hours during the day. While we did not cook any, we ordered some snacks for ourselves, which worked perfectly (the salsa and ice cream at Matagrande are really good!).

While a little north of San Pedro, we enjoyed being at a resort that was not right next to another resort. We had plenty of space, and were just secluded enough. It's only about 20 mins to town (less than my daily commute to work), and for the whole boat ride, you have beautiful views to keep you occupied! We got to know the other guests and enjoyed doing activities with them.

Though it was rainy season, we had no rain! It was nice and sunny nearly the entire time! There were some bugs around (mosquitoes love me, no matter the country), but the hotel sprayed for them while we were there, and that helped quite a bit. Have bug spray with you, just in case. It was in no way a detriment to our trip, though. Just goes along with the perils of the great outdoors! We were in the Cayo before coming to the Caye, and the bugs on the beach are just a tiny fraction of the bugs in the jungle!

I would definitely recommend the X'tan Ha, and hope to go back!

Room Tip: Loved the view from our beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to write about your wonderful experience here at X’tan Ha. It is always a pleasure to hear or read in this case when our guests truly appreciate the seclusion and the amenities here at the Resort.

We do have a lot of projects for the future and would like for you to come back and enjoy those upgrades. On a lighter note we truly appreciate your photos as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I chose X'Tan Ha because of all the great reviews and the lovely pics showing the resort. We were contacted by Miriam at the resort prior to our departure to help us set up transportation to the resort. It is a well run, well organized resort with attention given to all the small details. When we arrived at the airport, we took a taxi to the coastal express water taxi. From there it took us about 2 hours to arrive at San Pedro. From San Pedro, the resort sent a personal water taxi to bring us to the resort. The boat captain was Eric and he was very helpful. He suggested we buy groceries before we go back to the resort, as there is only 1 restaurant on site. We went to the closest grocery store, which was pricey but we got enough essentials to get us by. We arrived at the resort at 7:30 pm. In Belize, it gets dark at 6:00pm, so we were travelling in a boat on the water in the dark. It was an unnerving experience, but when we arrived we were greeted by several people from the resort. We checked in, and our groceries and luggage was taken to our room by a very nice worker named Angelino. He made us feel very welcomed and oriented us to the room and where everything was.
The resort stands out because it is painted in beautiful bright colors. It has kayaks, a water trampoline and slide, catamaran, body boards, paddle boats, and bicycles all available for no charge. Their is now a touring company available on site that can take you snorkeling, diving, fishing and they have the equipment for rental also.
The beach is beautiful with white sand and blue waters. There are many marine life living in the waters, and mexico rocks for snorkeling is just a short boat or kayak ride from the resort.
Housekeeping was great, and they keep your villa very clean and nice. They provide you with 5 gallons of drinking water, and bring you more if needed.
The room is very comfortable and beautifully furnished with satellite TV which was great when the weather was bad. There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms as well. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need for cooking as well.
The resort offers a day with no charge to take you to San Pedro villa water taxi to replenish groceries, or just spend the day.
The restaurant offered a good variety of food and they had good burgers, quesadillas and sandwiches. We ate twice in the restaurant, but it is not air conditioned, and there are a lot of mosquitos inside. Most days we ordered room service from the restaurant.
My only suggestion to the resort it to let customers know they will need to go to San Pedro for groceries, which is a 30-40 minute water taxi ride that will cost you $20.00 round trip per person. If you get motion sickness easily- like my husband, we suggest you take a lot of Dramamine with you. There is a grocery store that will deliver groceries for a hefty price. I would not suggest this, as they may bring you items that are expired or not what you wanted.
The resort could offer more items for sale in the office in those occasions that you forget something you need.
Overall, all the staff was lovely and very friendly including the owners whom were very involved with the staff and guests.
You truly will feel like you are on a deserted island, will all the amenities of course!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, however, even the pool view rooms had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Your detailed account of your experience here at our Resort is very much appreciated. In addition we do have future projects that includes our restaurant and bar as well. It is always a pleasure to not only have satisfied customers but those that offer genuine suggestion which would only aid in making our resort a true home away from home.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
163 reviews
8.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Blu Adults Only Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 55 in San Pedro
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £126 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing