We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for $$”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Value for $$”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We did an extensive search for the right combination of resort facilities, price and location for our anniversary vacation. X'Tan Ha did meet our expectations with what they advertised.
We made our reservations within the 45 day period, as we were pretty sure of not cancelling...though we bought travel insurance too, ...just in case. The resort arranged for the flight from Belize Int'l airport to San Pedro, and put those charges onto our hotel bill...which was convenient. They had a cab driver meet us at the baggage claim in San Pedro, and take us to the boat dock...which is just a 10 min walk away. TIP : Do not take up the driver's offer to go to a local grocery store to stock up - he'll tell u that it's hard to get groceries up at the resort, which is true...but the store he brings you to is in cahoots w/ him....and the bill had additional items in it (we found out too late) that probably goes to his pocket. Also, the store charges more than others....you can always come back via the coastal express, and shop later. BTW, the resort provides a 5 gallon water bottle ...so you needn't worry about clean drinking water.
The boat ride was covered by the resort (2 way transfer), but we had to wait for another group who took their time 'shopping' around for about 1/2 hour. The actual ride took about 25 min, dropping the other group off first, ...XTanHa is about 7 miles north of San Pedro.
Greeter was at the dock to welcome us with welcome drinks....sweet. Checked in, and got our room key w/ a flashlight. Resort looked just like the pics. online....very colorful. Water's warm...in the 80s. Mosquitoes come out at dusk, ....and man, were they vicious. Had dinner at the restaurant on site, which was decent...but pricey though.
Each villa has 4 suites, ...we had one that faced the beach...which was great....we got the morning sun. There's a fridge and small kitchenette, with the necessary utensils, microwave and water dispenser. Coffee, condiments and filter were also provided. Bath was OK, piping could do with some fixups....water's a bit salty (they may be running a de-salination plant somewhere)....we never drank from the tap....only from the dispenser. Wash sink has no stopper plug though.
Bedroom was adequately lighted....ceiling fans w/ light in all rooms. WiFi reception was good where we were. Bed was a bit soft for our liking though we slept well all nights. They had decorated the bed since they knew it was our anniversary....nice ! There's adequate drawer space, and hangers.

The sand was very fine....but the beach has lots of stuff washing ashore....the staff had to sweep up the twigs, leaves, stuff....three times a day. It's not dirty at all, just that there're lots of stuff washing ashore, mostly from mother nature. The water's shallow out to about 300 yards....well, up to wait deep, shoulder depth in some places. Kayaks, paddle boards are provided at no charge....took a kayak out to the reef, about 0.8 miles out, fun !
There's a bar too, but we didn't patronize that....nor the activities center. There's no fitness room here, so we had to go to San Pedro to burn our calories.

Return to San Pedro was pre-arranged, ...however, the taxi that met us at the dock in San Pedro ONLY transferred our luggage. We had to walk to the air terminal. This was a surprise to us, but no big deal as we already knew our way there, and it's only a 5-10 min walk. Mind you, the day's temps are in the 90s, in Sept/Oct. And the humidity's very high....we perspired all the time we were exploring San Pedro.

All in, we had a great vacation, and X'Tan Ha did made us feel welcomed and relaxed. For the price we paid, it was worth it. Great for first timers and repeat visits.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview room, it's worth the price. The pool view isn't anything to shout about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to showcasing your concerns via this medium. Rest assured all concerns will be addressed and assessed where needed.

It has always been our goal to ensure that our customers are satisfied and its comments like yours that aids in this process. We thank you once again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    132
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
112
371
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This the first review I have ever felt the absolute need to write.....my husband and I stayed for 7 nights, we arrived Sept 14th and left Sept 21st. From the very first moment we arrived on the dock where we were greeted with a "rum punch" to the very last morning where they collected our luggage and got us on the boat to leave our every need was met!! It was the best and most relaxing vacation we have ever had!! The staff are all friendly and greet you every day with a smile. Ollie the caretaker makes you feel welcome and like a friend you've had for years, Errin the bartender is quite the character and he makes for a lot of fun and I might add concocts the best rum drinks I've ever had. Rocio was our maid for the week and she kept our place spotless and made sure we had everything we needed. Roberto and Charles at the Temple Run gave us excellent service at every meal (even had a cup of coffee waiting for my husband every morning), DJ the chef made very tasty dishes at very reasonable prices, they have breakfast, lunch, snacks & dinner (with a special each night) every day. We went to a different restaurant one evening but it really was not as good or worth the price, when we go back we will just stick with Temple Run. Angel & his staff worked very hard at keeping the grounds clean and the beach raked and clear of the seagrass (he even climbed trees for coconuts and chopped them open and gave them to the guests on the beach). Hill is there to help with any excursions you might want to take and is very friendly. The resort has everything you need for a vacation right there, kayaks, paddle boards, pedal boat, trampoline with a slide in the water, bikes, snorkeling equipment to go to the Mexico Rocks which is in kayaking distance, plenty of lounge chairs on the beach, and my favorite....the island in the water with a palm tree and 2 Adirondack chairs (they also provide nice beach towels) and a beautiful pool. On Thursday afternoon they have a free water taxi that comes to the resort at 4:15 to take you San Pedro where you can get dinner and do some shopping for souvenirs and then picks you back up at 8:30 and returns you to the resort. We stayed in one of the bottom level beach front villas which I loved because we felt like we were right on the beach and footsteps from the ocean. The villa itself was very cozy and quiet and had everything we needed, the bed was super comfortable and we loved sitting on the porch each morning and watching the sunrise. I can not say enough good things about X'tan Ha.........WE JUST CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meljo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
The staff at X'tan Ha expresses their sincerest gratitude to you first for taking the time to write your comments, but more so because you had an experience that we wish for all our guests.

We are not only humbled, but once again energized by your words which will help us along as we try our best to cater to our customer’s needs. In addition we will be keeping an eye out for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our stay at X'tan Ha was absolutely great. We checked out some other resorts and the beach at X'tan Ha was by far the best. It is beautiful, with a nice shallow angle, raked every morning, and you are just steps away from it no matter what villa you are in.

The villas are extremely comfortable and clean. Every one has a sitting area, kitchenette, porch, and an amazing view. Everything we ordered from the restaurant was good, but we particularly loved having the ability to cook our own meals: the money we saved on food allowed us to fully enjoy the beach bar, where we hung out until closing time every evening, enjoying the fabulous weather and great cocktails served up by Aaron and Hill. Every staff member we met was friendly and helpful. Even Oliver, the manager, came down to the bar each night to chat with the guests and make sure everyone was having a good time.

The only downside of this resort is that it is pretty secluded. It is only accessible by boat, so it is probably not the best choice if you want to get out a lot in San Pedro and enjoy the nightlife there. But, if you are on a couples/family trip or traveling with friends (i.e. can make your own party) X'tan Ha can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We thank you for sharing your thoughts using this medium, It is extremely important that our potential guests understand the uniqueness of our Resort. Furthermore both management and staff are extremely grateful for your kind comments as we look forward to catering to all our customer’s needs.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

SO like some others here this is my first review. I trawl through trip advisor like a maniac before committing anywhere so thought I'd share my experiences too. My partner and I just left after a 5 day stay in a seafront villa and it was totally fabulous. We just moved into a nice place in town but our first comment was it's no X'Tan Ha. I am a backpacker at heart so committing to a pricier room was difficult for me BUT if you go at low season it's not too bad at all and we only had to dash out of the rain once. The place is spotless and the rooms were lovely. Poolside is still a lovely vista though there is something to be said for that blue Caribbean sea.

Things to consider: As I read before it truly is miles away from anywhere, if you're more budget minded make sure you organise a Supermarket trip before getting on the boat. Miriam helped me organise that beautifully and it saved us a lot of cash. We didn't order enough beer in advance so ended up paying out for some more which is way pricier than in town, but hey you're on the best beach ever. The staff were all extremely friendly and polite, and quite a few comedians as well, in a good way.

The pool is lovely, but the beach really is great, they upkeep it really well and have cleared out the weeds for swimming and it was very luxurious.

The overall look of the resort is very bright and colourful, which made me smile. I liked the toucan taps.

They have free bikes and kayaks to use which is a bonus, though we more lay about reading.

The bed was like a throne, huge and extremely comfy. The a/c worked well, the bathroom is a good size and the kitchenette was great and all the utensils were even stylish with very sharp knives. It's the attention to detail that makes this place great.

We only ate in the restaurant once, being tight, for breakfast and it was very tasty. We went to Portofino on advice from the staff BUT to be honest that was very pricey. The setting and service were sublime, but the meals were a little steep at $33US for what they were. BUT as I said, the setting was gorgeous.

If you're looking for a quiet, secluded, romantic getaway this is perfect. If you're looking to party hard this probably isn't the place, in the low season anyways, but I am glad we are splitting our 10 days here between the two options.

Enjoy, it's gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penashNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your detailed comments and the fact that you made mention of the things people would consider minute really lend to the fact that you had the experience we hoped all guests get to enjoy and understand and that is pure seclusion.

In addition we are happy that you also chose us for your romantic getaway which is another part of our charm. Thanks once again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I never write reviews but was compelled to write one for X'tan Ha. We spent four nights (September 19-22) here to start off our anniversary trip in Belize. The staff works extremely hard to keep the resort clean. The beach is absolutely beautiful. The service provided by Oliver and crew are second to none. We felt like part of the family instead of guests. We bought groceries in town and prepared our own breakfast but ate lunch and dinner at the Temple Run Restaurant. The food was wonderful, especially the burgers. The four nights spent here was not enough so we are already planning to return next year for a week. Look no further, X'tan is fantastic choice when visiting San Pedro.

Room Tip: Room 2C is the perfect beach front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mzslil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are happy that you had a wonderful stay at our Resort. The staff remains energized and committed to service excellence thanks to comments like yours.

We are equally enthused in anticipation of your next visit especially since we do have some future projects in the pipeline that we are sure would make your stay an even more memorable one.

Thank you for writing and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I had a great time during our week at X'tan ha Resort. We were met at the dock by Oliver the manager of the resort and welcomed with a Rum Punch drink. Our luggage was delivered to our room by Angelino who helped us get acquainted with the resort. After settling in, we met other friendly guests at the Katonga Beach Bar and Aaron was a wonderful bartender who could make many tropical drinks. We took the No Worries tour company for a fishing and snorkeling expedition one day and were impressed with Mario and Kevin who were are guides for the day and we finished our trip that day with a beach BBQ with the fish that we caught. X'tan Ha has the nicest beach on the island and the views from our room were awesome of the aqua blue water. You do have to take a boat shuttle into San Pedro for shopping since the resort is located 7 miles from the town. The specials at the on site restaurant were very good and we ate there most evenings. Thanks to Oliver and the rest of the staff for a great week at X'tan Ha Resort.

Room Tip: We were in Room 5A which was by the Pool but still had a great view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John252627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are happy that you get to enjoy our Resort and that our staff was welcoming as well as catered to your needs.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and tips through this medium as it definitely aids in making our potential guests more equipped on there vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We (myself and my boyfriend) spent 7 nights at X'tan Ha Aug 31-into September and had a wonderful stay. By far the most relaxing vacation I have ever been on! The staff was amazing from Oliver, Miriam, Angel, Chi (our favorite bartender!) among others who were always willing to help. They take great care of the beach, raking the sea grass regularly, pulling equipment up at night etc. Rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious, the stovetop cooking option was AWESOME and a great way to save some money while there, eat fresh seafood etc. We made bacon and eggs every morning and had coffee on the porch listening to the sea hit the beach. (A sound I miss immensely) Highly recommend a grocery delivery if you're there a few days, everything was fresh and reasonably priced. (Be sure to order Belizean coffee and the fresh salsa) Other guests were awesome as well. Friendly, kind, all looking to relax. The nearby snorkling at Mexican rocks was awesome. Also, with kayaks, paddle boards included etc made activities affordable. We did the 1/2 day trip to shark ray alley and hol chan and it was fabulous! Highly recommend it. You can come and spend zero money on excursions and still get some good water activities and snorkling in for free. All food we ordered from the resort was fresh, no complaints. I know flies are hard to control at an outdoor bar... But if there is anything that could be done to reduce them during the day, we may have spent more time at the bar. At night they calm down. Bring bug spray w deet, helps a lot!! Overall, the flies and bugs weren't bad at all though. Went to San Pedro and ate at Elvis, was delicious. Took the free night boat ride to the Italian restaurant at a nearby resort, blanking on the name, Portofino I think, but it was a very good meal! Not cheap or crazy expensive, but was worth it for a date night! The resort is remote and may not be a great option if you are coming to the reef to dive. 7 plus miles north of San Pedro. The diving in Belize is much more accesible further south. Keep up the great work at this resort! We hope to be back and thank everyone for such an amazingly relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: 1A was great, beach front is worth the extra cash! Loved having an upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with others using this medium. We especially liked your heading it is very catchy. The staff and management here at the resort sincerely appreciate your kind comments and do hope that we get to cater to your needs once more on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
8.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Property: X'tan Ha Resort
Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing