We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of X'tan Ha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
X'tan Ha Resort
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

In short, we loved our stay and would return in a heartbeat. While not perfect, we found the property was just what we were looking for and felt it a great value. Below are the details.

The resort location:
It is located about 7 miles north of San Pedro. While there is a road going all the way up the island it is bad anywhere north of the bridge (by San Pedro) and nearly impassible once you get more than 3 miles north of San Pedro. So you rely on water taxi or bikes to go to/from town. The water taxi service (Costal Express) is reliable and comes something like 8 times a day each direction. It costs $8 US per person each way which can add up if you are going to town often. The water taxi normally takes 25 or so minutes but once at “rush hour” it took us 50 minutes. The resort pays for a private taxi to take you to/from San Pedro on the day of arrival and departure which was great. They also arrange and pay for a taxi service to take you the few blocks from the taxi terminal to the airport terminal. We really enjoyed biking to and from town along the beach (locals have a nicely worn path that makes for easy biking). Our leisurely pace got us to town in about 50 minutes. We once started back too late and rode the last few miles in the dark which I wouldn’t recommend. The only downside to the bike rides was the view of the garbage along the beaches. Any unmaintained beach in Ambergris Caye has seagrass and washed up garbage. The further you get from town, the more often you have unmaintained/undeveloped property between the developed ones. So if you are really close to town, you might not see any on the beaches. When we took walks along the beaches it was more noticeable but as we rode our bikes, we didn’t seem to notice it much at all. The location can be a small obstacle to those wanting to do tours or activities but we didn’t have any problem. You would have to take a water taxi rather early in the morning to do many of the tours our trips. However, they have a local tour/dive operator on site. Also, there are several operators at resorts close enough that they are willing to pick you up. We dove with White Sands dive shop which is about half-way to town and they were willing to pick us up and drop us off each day. Also, neighboring resorts are willing to pick you up by boat if you wish to dine at their restaurants. Some feel the resort is too remote but we felt it perfect. We loved the serenity. At night you couldn’t hear anything but waves and birds – no cars/boats/bars. The nice bike ride or water taxi ride was a small price to pay for the beauty and tranquility of this unique resort.

The resort property:
One of the resort’s greatest assets is its beach. As we biked to/from town multiple times we can absolutely say it was the best beach on that 7 mile stretch. Even if you were not going into the water, the turquois view from your balcony is awesome and you only get that if you have a seagrass-free beach. The sand is not only on the beach. All the pathways in the resort are the soft white sand that is raked several times a day for a very manicured look. The resort buildings, office, pool, and other facilities all seem new and well maintained. The nice pool is about the same temperature as the ocean and refreshing. My wife wished they had a hot tub for late evenings or cool days. They are expanding the property with a group of 10 or so buildings behind the restaurant. They are just finishing those and are starting to sell the units (to investors who will rent them out I think). They are building a new but smaller pool in that area. I was close to this area and never heard any noise (the pool is being dug by hand!). Behind the resort (walking away from the ocean) you can cross the road and walk to the canals and pond that connect to the brackish lake. I know some guests found that to be good fishing right there.

Our room:
The room was well appointed for the price. It had great air conditioning, four ceiling fans, a comfortable king bed (comfortable after we removed the somewhat crinkly mattress pad), a comfortable living room, DVD player (with 30 or so free DVDs to borrow from the office as well as games and books), a nice bathroom, and a nice kitchen. My favorite was sitting on the balcony and enjoying the view and the serenity. The kitchen had quality items but was somewhat sparse (i.e., no cheese grader and only four plate/bowls/etc.). It worked well for us. My only complaint about the room was probably a slight sulfur odor in the tap/bath water. You notice it a bit at first (especially in a hot shower) but it is quite mild. If you have a really sensitive nose this might be an issue. For most, I wouldn’t expect it to be an issue and it wouldn’t deter me at all from returning. They ensure your room always has a full 5-gal dispenser of bottled water which was great for all our drinking/cooking needs. We brought our teen ager and did wish there wasn’t an opening between the bedroom and the living room where he was sleeping. There is a window-like opening between the rooms which is great for getting a nice breeze through the room. There are blinds for visual privacy but as the beds are sharing the same wall the lack of sound privacy could make some couples a bit shy in the bedroom.

Activities/amenities:
We love to be active on our vacations. X’Tan Ha is perfect for those who want to just relax as it is so serene. However, the plethora of free toys made for a great way to stay active on a budget. They have bikes, kayaks, paddle boats, paddle boards, beach volleyball, a huge water trampoline structure, and other beach games. None of their hammocks or deluxe lounge chairs are extra and there never was a crowd so you didn’t have to rush out and stake out a claim in the morning. They even have a 14’ Hobbie Cat sailboat but it was unfortunately being repaired when I was there. Ambergris Caye would be a perfect place to sail or learn to sail as they have a constant breeze and the barrier reef ensure little to no waves to deal with. In town you would probably have to pay $200 or so a day to rent that. One of the best things about the resort location is its proximity to Mexico Rocks – the best snorkeling spot on the island reachable by kayaks (Hol Chan is better but it is too far for a kayak). A 15-20 minute kayak ride gets you to the buoys where you tie off your kayak. We really enjoyed that a lot. A few tips: 1) Make sure you know how to get back in a kayak when you can’t touch the ground. 2) If the wind is blowing towards Mexico Rock, you might want to try paddling into the wind first to make sure you don’t find that too hard before you commit yourself. Other resorts have kayaks but most have no place to kayak to. If you are near town, there is so much boat traffic that I wouldn’t enjoy or feel as comfortable being out in a kayak. X’Tan Ha was a perfect pace to enjoy the water and reef.
Sometimes they had evening bonfires. They no longer have Sunday BBQs that you may read about on older TripAdvisor reports. However, the bonfires are fun. The staff build HUGE bonfires of driftwood and usually have some additional fun element to the experience – music, s’mores, or teaching you how to twirl firesticks, etc. We asked once when the next one was and they said, “Just let us know when you want one and we’ll do it.” That exemplified the service we always found there.

Service:
While we enjoyed all the people we met in Belize, it seemed the staff at X’Tan Ha were particularly professional, accommodating, fun, and willing to go the extra mile. I consider myself a rather high-maintenance customer and they always made me feel like they enjoyed every minute with us. That includes the back-office staff that handled my many email questions before arriving, the front desk staff, the bartenders, our housekeeping staff, and the many groundskeepers. I picked up a coconut while on a bike ride and Elder (who normally works the bar) spent about 10 minutes not only opening it but carefully removing the meat for us. He did this cheerfully while making friends with my son. The property managers, Oliver and Della, are from the US (Great Lakes area if I remember) and are always around and are delightful. All the staff found the perfect balance of being available while allowing you your space. X’Tan Ha has the professional service quality of a high end resort with the small resort feel. They learn your name and treat you like family.

Other things to keep in mind:
- I wish the WiFi reception was a little stronger throughout the resort. Some locations are great but the signal is weak in some areas. Like many examples of them going the extra mile, when I needed to ensure I received an Internet call they loaned me a MiFi personal hotspot to ensure I never had an issue. Download speeds are very slow across Ambergris but it was sufficient for Skype calls.
- While it rained occasionally while we were there, we only had to deal with mosquitos a bit at dusk. The only time we got bit was at dusk riding our bike through tree-line trails by the beach. We got a LOT more bites during our cavetubing and zoo tour on the mainland. There are mosquitos though so if you are the type to get bit, bring some DEET.
- Older TripAdvisor reviews mention a free water taxi service provided on Tuesdays and Thursday by the resort. This was discontinued a few months ago.
- Most of the property and equipment is very well maintained. Some of the bikes we rode could use a tune up and the water trampoline isn’t too bouncy now as the ocean has corroded many springs (stainless steel replacement springs are apparently on order).
- The head caretakers have a dog (golden retriever if I recall) who was exceptionally well behaved and always on a leash if out. His name is Buddy.
- We didn’t use the restaurant or their new on-site dive/tour operator. Betty who runs the dive/tour shop was born on Ambergris and seemed extremely nice and helpful to us even though we were diving with another shop. They seemed to have good equipment so I wouldn’t be concerned going with them.

Our tips:
- We really enjoyed the flights to/from Ambergris via Tropic Air. The views were great (they will let you sit in the co-pilots seat if you ask). The flights in and out of the Belize City municipal airport is half the price of the flight to the International airport. Our flight home left Belize at 5pm. We took the 7am flight to the municipal airport and did a cavetubing and zoo tour. Since we left so early we have a private tour (though only $90/person) with just the three of us. We were the first ones to the caves and so we got to see all the bats (really cool!), had lunch, and had nearly two hours at the zoo. Then they dropped us off at the international airport. So with the money we saved flying to the municipal airport, our tour was only $55-60/person – totally worth it. Also, the flight in the early morning light was particularly beautiful.
- Two blocks south of the airport is a good grocery store (note that the airport terminal is just one small building – like the size of a house). It is not the cheapest grocery but was perfect for us to grab a few starter items.
- As long as you avoid the items custom’s list, you can bring in some food that will help a lot (either with costs or with meeting a specific craving).
- Tropic Air says they have a 33lb bag limit but they didn’t seem to care at all about our bags being over and others (who flew different days) said the same thing.

Wow! This turned out to be a novel. Hopefully it helps. We loved our stay at X’Tan Ha and would happily return in a heartbeat. It was the perfect match of value, seclusion, great service, and great location for an active family. We envy those of you heading that way.

Room Tip: If facing the property, the building in the front left is #1 and then they count up as you go counte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MarcLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We thank you for taking the time out to write such a detailed review. It will indeed be a big help for those who are either indecisive or just don't know what to expect when staying with us. In addition like you rightly mentioned we are currently in the process of getting those kinks (issues) addressed and rectified so that any future guests will have nothing but a more relaxing stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We truly enjoyed our four days at the resort, so let me start there. Despite bad weather (including a 12 hour power outage as a result of a wind storm) we enjoyed a couple of glorious beach days, which is exactly what you'll want to plan for when visiting this resort.

Our room was really nice, and a big thank you to the wonderful cleaning staff. Despite a few odd things (such as a weird pad on our mattress that shifted constantly and made the hotel's suggested "no sheet change" option impossible for us) and a temperature/pressure issue in the shower (yes, there's a sulfur smell, no this is not gross or unexpected at a remote resort on a tiny developing country's island), the room itself was incredibly comfortable and large.

Service was where we had some issues. Nothing trip-ruining, but just overall, uneven. We would have a great check-in guy, for example, but scheduling the boat back with the front desk lady was very awkward as she was clearly angry about something and not happy to be there. We loved, loved, loved our waiter and waitress in the restaurant (which is very expensive, but the food is good), but had a bad experience with ordering food that took three hours (literally) to get to us on the beach. And, apparently you're supposed to be communicated with prior to arriving about ordering food for the kitchenette, but we received no such email (and were sad to find that out because we would have saved a lot of money by having food in the awesome room kitchen, rather than eating at the restaurant eight times).

Overall, I would definitely recommend X'tan Ha, but wouldn't hurry back ourselves. It's really far from San Pedro, and the taxi boat takes FOREVER, so we'd probably stay a little closer next time. We had a great time overall and LOVED Belize!

Also, BRING SO MUCH BUG SPRAY.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are really nice, but bugs made it impossible for us to sit on the balcony. So, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa_G84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you sharing your observations including those areas of opportunities. We have all intentions of addressing those concerns and rectify them with the utmost urgency.
Nonetheless we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with and would in fact recommend us to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What a memory maker this was for our 40th Anniversary. We were travelling with friends who were celebrating their 25th. We definitely chose the right place. We were unexpectedly greeted with lovely rum fruit drinks as we arrived at the wharf. We flew from Belize to San Pedro in a 12 seated plane and this was suggested as the ride to resort by boat was very long. Good decision. The resort is lovely and exceptionally clean and manicured. All afternoon a worker is raking the beach. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but excellent food. Kudos to Alfred who just started working there during our stay. Marta the cleaning lady was so pleasant and thorough. The bar staff a lot of fun -- Elder and Hill. You can arrange your tours right on the wharf thru No Worries Tour which is run by Betty, a real cool lady. Our guides for tours were Pablo (excellent), Andy and Jason. We did Mexico Rock, Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. Wonderful experiences snorkelling with southern stingrays, turtles and nursing sharks. This resort is managed by Oliver and wife and he is a very gracious host aiming to please the guests. The resort is 7.5 miles from San Pedro and you must take the water shuttle to town at a cost of $16 US each. This lovely town has many great restaurants to try and I advise you to take a few groceries back to resort so you can make breakfasts or lunch in your suite. It is a lovely, remote resort, but well worth the trip. We stayed in 8A and had a nice view of the pool and ocean. We had adjoining rooms with our friends. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laraine752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Congrats on your wedding anniversary and we are well pleased that we met your expectations. Your comments will be shared with the staff and rest assured it will be viewed as a motivational tool so as to always supersede our customer's expectations. We extend our heartfelt thank you from both management and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at X'tan Ha for five nights and have longed to go back every day since we left.

The resort is beautiful, the water is perfect, the reef is amazing and the friendly people complete the package.

If you are looking for a laid back, out of the way, beach front resort with comfortable, clean rooms, a good on-site restaurant, freedom to cook your own meals, a clean beach with easy access to great snorkelling and fantastic, friendly staff - This Is It!
Book an Ocean Front room, take some of your own groceries (or have them delivered by the local service), plan to spend a few bucks at the bar, and book your tours with the on site Dive Shop - No Worries. You will have No Regrets.

The only slight negative to our stay at X'tan Ha was the menu and pricing at the restaurant and the cost of some of the beverages. This is why I recommend you take your own breakfast and snack foods, and plan to go into town or another resort for a meal or two.

Room Tip: Ocean front, lower level - walk right out on to the beach! But, if you can't get one, you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your concise but honest review. We did enjoy be your host and we are almost sure you know where to find us on your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at X'Tan Ha from Jan.10-18. Despite Colin having the flu and not so great weather, we had a very relaxing week. The highlights of the vacation would have to be the fabulous snorkelling and the reef is literally right there. A boat will take you out to Mexico Rocks, about a 2 min. boat ride away with a guide for a small fee from No Worries Tours. I did take a more extensive tour the following day. I also loved the staff and how friendly everyone at the resort was. The office staff is more than willing to answer questions and help whenever needed. They arranged our Tropical Air flight, arranged for a boat from Portofino's to pick us pick for dinner. The villas were spacious and comfortable although it would have been nice to have an oven. I highly recommend having your groceries delivered to your room from the grocery store recommended on the website. We probably over bought but it was nice not having to waste a day going in a getting and carrying groceries. We did eat at the restaurant a few times and also enjoyed happy hour at the beach bar where drinks were half off from 4-6pm. The bar staff were very friendly and highly entertaining. I loved the feel of the small resort and highly recommend X'Tan Ha to anyone staying at Ambergris Caye. Thank you for the experience.
Alana and Colin from Summerland, B.C. Canada

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you too for the brief summary of your experience here at X'tan Ha. We did enjoy your company and yes your comment about not having an oven is duly noted and will be reviewed by management to afford an appropriate remedy. We thank you once again and keep on recommending us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We loved our eight days on Ambergris Caye and were so glad we chose X'tan Ha. Thank you to Oliver (property manager), the fantastic bar team of Elder, Obie, Marco, Alex, and Hill, and the friendly and hardworking cleaning and maintenance staff. Our experiences with the restaurant and the tour desk were also positive. We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful, well-kept retreat. And while the remote beauty of Ambergris Caye would have been enough on its own to make us quite happy, the setting, and especially the people of X'tan Ha made this an "excellent" resort destination in my book.

Transportation:

We took the tropic air flight from Belize City to San Pedro. The flight about 15 minutes long and comes with a nice view. We heard that the boat ride from Belize City to San Pedro is long and it wasn't recommended by the folks we met who went that route. The resort has a taxi and private boat waiting for you in San Pedro. The taxi ride was hilariously short—like 45 seconds. Same deal on the return trip. The private boat ride to X’tan Ha takes about 25 minutes. Once you’re on the resort, to get back to San Pedro you’ll need to take the Coastal Express (small ferry boat) which runs every other hour for the most part. It can take as little as 30 minutes and as much as an hour depending on how many stops you make. We never minded because we liked the ride. Taking it at night is pretty neat, flying up the Caye under the stars. Round trip for one person is $16 at the front desk, two dollars cheaper than buying from the ferry’s ticket window in San Pedro. You cannot rent a golf cart anywhere near X'tan Ha. You'll need to get much closer to town to do that. We took the free bikes down the beach as far as the Mata Grande market, which I believe is around 2.5 miles from the resort. This was a fun activity. We'd bike to the market to get some supplies (we did this a few times) then stop at the Rojo Lounge on the way back for a drink—Danny the bartender is very friendly. We didn’t go north of the resort except on a fishing boat that took us a little ways up the reef.

Location:

The distance from San Pedro was not an issue for us at all. In fact, each time we took the Coastal Express into San Pedro we were reassured that we made the right choice in lodgings. While there are some nice looking resorts and condos between town and X'tan Ha, none had the charm (at least outwardly) of X'tan Ha. None had better beaches either. Many resorts have no beaches at all and the shallows are loaded with sea grass. Not so at X'tan Ha. Keep in mind, these beaches are not 7-Mile Beach in Negril, but X'tan Ha's beach equals (or bests) any other sandy beach we saw along the coast. The resort really is remote, and that was a positive for us. Further, from what I understand the road doesn’t go very far north of San Pedro, so unless you are within a few miles of town, you’ll be taking the Coastal Express or water taxis to get around regardless. The color of the sea water in Ambergris Caye is brilliant. So many shades of blue and green—it’s striking—especially when viewed from a boat. Aside from the Coastal Express and a boat here-and-there, there is not much water traffic. I did not see one jet ski on the water, although I think one was docked at the resort for rent. There are no roads up this far on the Caye, so no road noise. Just the soft lapping of the Sea accompanied by whatever (often lively) music the bar feels like playing. Overall, we loved the remote location yet never felt too far from San Pedro with the convenient Coastal Express.

Property / Room:

The property looks just like the photos on the website. If you've looked at the website, what you see is what you get (it's pretty). The colorful paint on each building gives the resort a unique and pleasing look. The landscaping around the interior by the rooms and pool was beautiful and well-manicured. Our room, 8C, which was a first-floor pool view one-bedroom—the most basic rooms they have—was clean, functional, and had a partial ocean view. Frankly, it was the only room type they had available, but we were very pleased. We enjoyed sitting on our porch with a cold drink, especially during passing rain storms. The bar is the other place to be if you get rain. Our first floor porch went right down into sand that lines most of the interior (one side of the pool is grass). The Wi-Fi was surprisingly strong and reliable for such a remote location. The room itself was basic but comfortable with a separate bedroom. We cooked a lot in our kitchen and at a bunch of meals at our kitchen table. A full-size fridge for your beer and rum and assorted juices. Plenty of drawers and cabinets for your clothes and belongings. It's all you need plus some extra room—we were very comfortable. A tip if you plan to fish—we went reef fishing on our first full day and caught a ton of delicious snapper and even a barracuda. We bought fresh tortillas from the restaurant next to Mata Grande and ate fish tacos to our heart's content. Very tasty and cost effective.

Activities:

We didn't do all that much. A highlight, and something we were happy to confirm as being possible, is taking a free kayak from the resort to the nearby Mexico Rocks snorkeling site. It probably takes 15 minutes one-way to the site depending on the wind. Once there, you simply tie up to a buoy and have at it. No supervision, just you and the reef. Tours will come and go but it was never crowded during our stay. At one point we were the only two people out there, and to be honest, it was a little unnerving (but we were fine)! We say lots of large rays, loads of medium sized fish in schools tucked near the reef, small fish of all kinds, and the highlight, a large sea turtle, which we believe was a Loggerhead. The reefs themselves are gorgeous and expansive. A real quality snorkeling site for no cost if you have your own gear. The fishing trip (as noted) was great and provided lots of food. We also rented fishing poles from the tour shop and fished off the second pier (the long one) south of the resort. One night were quite successful and caught a dozen or more smaller snapper and a few other types of fish. You’ll need your own bait which you can get from fisherman coming in or by purchasing shrimp at Mata Grande. We had good success fishing with the shrimp and cooked a few as well. The bike rides down the beach were fun and adventurous. Heading into San Pedro for good food and drinks is great on a cloudy (or sunny) day. One night we went to dinner at Portofino and it was excellent. The most expensive meal we had but the lobster and stone crab was awesome. The food on the resort is very good. Everything we had from breakfast to dinner was deliciously prepared and thoughtfully presented. It is a bit pricy, yes, but consider where you are. Most of the fresh food and all groceries are coming from the mainland by boat, then by boat to the resort. We were impressed by how consistently delicious all the food was during our stay on the Caye. Once we got past the patties in the Belize City airport things got very tasty. Hanging out at the Katanga Beach Bar (on property) at any time of the day was one of our favorite activities. Stop in for a beer between activities or hang out for a few hours and meet some other guests—it’s the social hub of the resort. And I can't say enough how much interacting with the bar crew enhanced our stay. Welcoming, friendly, fun-loving people. As I write this, I am missing sitting there with my wife, drink in hand, chatting with Elder or Obie, or any of the guys. We also met some awesome couples at the bar. Great times.

Other Thoughts:

With so much of the world still to see it’s hard to justify visiting the same place twice, but darn this charming resort and its staff for making it so tempting. If we were to return to Belize we would do a split between the mainland and Ambergris (staying at X’tan Ha, of course). The only downside of staying way up on Ambergris is the distance from any of the Mayan ruins—we somewhat regret not seeing any of them. One couple we met did the inland tour said they enjoyed the site itself, but that the journey was very long from San Pedro. Alternatively, there are inland resorts near some of the Mayan sites. Two or three nights inland to get some culture then out to the Caye is the way we’d go next time. Other tips for San Pedro—we really enjoyed the lobster burrito and ceviche at Waruguma in San Pedro. Other standouts for food were Elvi’s Kitchen and Wild Mango’s. There are many options. You may have seen the Mata Grande grocery pre-order delivery option. I highly recommend it. The groceries at Mata Grande are pricy and there is a $25 delivery charge, but having a case of beer, rum, juice, etc. waiting for you, is priceless.

Conclusion:

X’tan Ha charmed us. From the welcome rum punch to the final (sad) goodbye on the dock, it’s a classy operation in a beautiful, remote setting. It is a simpler and smaller place than some we have tried, but its remote, island-retreat vibe is refreshing. Personal goodbyes from our friends at the bar and from Oliver as we boarded our boat to the airport was icing on the cake. Every traveler has different tastes and experiences things differently, but we were overwhelmingly pleased with X’tan Ha. From the website to the TripAdvisor reviews I think you should get a pretty clear picture of what this place is about. If you are planning a visit to Ambergris Caye and looking for a beautiful, remote, laid-back place to stay, X’tan Ha is probably for you. I'd be happy to answer any questions if you are on the fence about Ambergris Caye/San Pedro or X'tan Ha. Enjoy your trip to Belize!

Room Tip: We stayed in 8C and were very happy. Room was pool view, first floor. Partial view of the sea. Our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mass_bitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Once again we are at a loss for words. There is nothing we can really add to this comment, but to encourage all readers and potential guests to read carefully. We truly enjoy reviews such as these and not because of the ratings awarded, but because we believe that the information shared is factual and that it would help others when planning their vacation. Thank you so much for really taking the time to write such a candid review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Value for money, you just can't beat X'tan Ha. Comfortable rooms with a kitchen if you want, but the real attraction is the best beach on Ambergris Caye. Add in gratis use of kayaks and paddle boards, great drinks and super-friendly staff,and what more could you ask for. I understand there is different ownership of the bars, adventure tours, and resort, but it was seamless for us. I was impressed that Ludrick personally replies to every Trip Advisor post, and he was equally attentive once we arrived. Hill and Betty will ensure an incredible tour if you can stand to leave the resort. Alfred, Lenice and Daisy will do everything in their power to give you great service in the restaurant (that includes Alfred climbing the local tree to get coconuts for our fresh and unbelievably good coconut cream pie). This is not a meringue, we are talking apple crumble made belizian style. Ignore the comments on the food being pricey, you're at a resort-hello!

Room Tip: We had a pool view, but could still see the ocean. Not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludrick, Manager at X'tan Ha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

The management and staff of X'tan Ha truly appreciate your comments and more so for taking the time to write. We believe that each customer has individual needs and as such we try our best to meet those expectations 
On a personal note just knowing that our comments are reviewed and makes a difference when planning ones vacation makes it all worth the while. We thank you once again and hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 55 in San Pedro
157 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in San Pedro
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Costa Blu Adults Only Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#15 of 55 in San Pedro
911 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 55 in San Pedro
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X'tan Ha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X'tan Ha Resort

Address: | 7.2 Mls. North, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Belize Legacy Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: £137 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — X'tan Ha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a tranquil, luxurious and romantic destination at X'tan Ha Resort, located just 7.2 Miles North of San Pedro Town. This truly exotic, tropical resort offers one bedroom suites, with spacious kitchens and living areas. Each villa offers a private verandah overlooking the pristine Caribbean Sea. X'tan Ha offers complimentary water sports- kayaks, paddle boards, paddle boat, hobie cat sailing, and a water trampoline. X'tan Ha offers complimentary transfers upon arrival/departure from/to San Pedro town upon arrival and departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your X'tan Ha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Legacy Beach Hotel San Pedro
Hotel Belize Legacy Beach
X'Tan Ha Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing