We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"UnBelizable!!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reef Village Resort
Ranked #53 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"UnBelizable!!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Our group of 4 enjoyed our Feb. 2011 stay at Reef Village! SO ACCOMADATING!!! Met us at Tropic Air with our cart and another cart to handle our luggage! Fabulous 3 bedroom villa, with excellent maid service. A complete kitchen for my cooking and anything I did not have the maid brought for me! One member of our group celebrated her 81st birthday and the manager of the Al fresco bar had his wife bake a cake!!!! The front desk personel were sooo wonderful. A wire had been bumped off the front light on our cart and the delightful desk clerk had her husband come fix it after he got off of work so I could safely retrieve our night divers. We will return again and again! A wonderful place to go, relax, dive, and enjoy!!!!!

Room Tip: The villas are a wonderful place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank askerof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    17
    13
    4
    23
See reviews for
27
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed through an Interval Exchange in Feb 2011 - not our first choice but it got us there. The Reef Village is clean and you can easily walk to the center of town if you like to walk (probably about a 20 - 30 minute walk to the center of activity). They have a pool and 1 restaurant but not very many amenities and not really a resort. They will capture you for a sales pitch but that is par for the course. We had to change our room once due to heavy rain and water damage but the 2nd room was better, anyway. It is not very picturesque but comfortable accomodations and you probably won't be there much, anyway.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

After reading some comments we were a bit cautious but were happily surprised once we arrived. Please keep in mind that Belize is not for everyone. Yes the roads are dirt roads and some restaurants (such as the Reef Village) only accept cash payment (US$ and Belizean $ are both accepted).
The location of the Reef Village is optimal: a few minutes walking from the bridge that leads you into the city (free of charge unless you go by golf cart). A few minutes to the other side and you walk the magnificent beaches lined with coconut trees. Yes, there is plenty of plastic that washes up the coastline where there is no development or are private houses but only the human race can be blamed for this. Unfortunately it is all the trash dumped in the sea from cruise ships and other countries. But hey, drive around America and for such a beautiful country it is painful to watch how many still don't have a clue and throw trash out of their windows.
Our apartment had sea view, a spacious kitchen, nice dining and sofa area. The bedroom, although basic, was fine with a spacious walking closet. The water has a bit of a taste so buy bottled water if you plan to cook and take mouth wash.
We went to a few restaurants: some beach restaurants do as well as the more famous ones down town. The advantage at beach restaurants is that they don't rush you thru your food as they did at the city restaurants (who wants this after experiencing this every day in USA?).
Go with an open mind, consider the location of the Reef Village and you will truly enjoy your vacation. We definitely plan to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view - not all blocks have direct sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank transatlantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Decent units with regular ammenities. The problem with these units is that there are too many keys to the units floating around. The owner has a key (usually out of state) , you have a key, the property manager, the cleaning crew, and the actual office has a key depending on how its managed. I usually use VRBO or HOMEAWAY to rent condos when traveling but this is a perfect situation why sometimes its not safe to do that. 2 times during our stay 2 different service people walked in the unit while I was on the balcony and once while I was at the pool bar and my girlfriend was in the shower. She was really freaked out when when she got out and there was a belizian man standing there saying he was there to fix the air conditioner, then left immedietly. I dont know if they knocked but they both had a key and walked in. I had money and other valuables on the counter. They have security but dont expect them to do anything. Also the bridge gets expensive while in the north. The complex has a alot internal managment problems. I probably wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itsfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Reef Village in September. The resort overlooks the lagoon and some rooms have ocean views – the ocean is across the street. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, but a bit outdated and had a musty odor when we first got there. It took a day or two for the room to air out and the smell to dissipate. Also, the tap water had a brown tint to it – I’m not sure it that’s common on the island or unique to this resort. The room had nails in the walls where I presume art used to hang - they made good hangers for towels and bags. The pool area is beautiful and the all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Carla and David bent over backwards to make our stay an enjoyable one.
It rained nightly which made for a horrific mosquito population. We couldn’t leave the room without bathing in Deet. We were also killing many each night that had entered the room whenever we opened the door. If you go during the dry season, this place is fine, but if you dislike mosquitoes and it’s the rainy season, stay closer to San Pedro.
A golf cart or bikes are a must if you plan to go into town regularly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I bought a time share in 2008. Been going every year since. The staff is always pleasant and very helpful. Mario picked us up at the airport and always with a smile! He was very helpful on what to do for the week, as the whole staff is. I have brought different friends with me for the last two years they all loved it. Can not wait to return in Nov.2011.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyls2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharps Chapel, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

my wife and i were there in June 2011 for the lobster feast. the unit we were in 202 was a one bedroom condo. we purchased a timeshare in Oct 2010, big mistake. the reef put on a great face at the time we purchased the timeshare, however in june 2011 the place has gone down hill and i mean way down. the unit was dirty, sliding door to balcony took two people to open, the bath had a toilet that ran for 6 days, the bed was like sleeping on the floor. the washing machine left our clothes dirty that before the wash.
wish we had researched this place better.
oh by the way if you want to eat there good luck the hours are not regular and the food is only so so when you can get.
this place need new management and lots of tlc.
there are lots of better places to stay in ambergris try Ramons.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jimsandyhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick J, General Manager at Reef Village Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
New Management and the TLC has arrived as 2012 expect some big changes at Reef Village, more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Pedro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.3 mi away
Captain Morgan's Retreat
Captain Morgan's Retreat
#22 of 56 in Ambergris Caye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#18 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
Isla Bonita Yacht Club
#8 of 30 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.2 mi away
Costa Blu Dive & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Village Resort

Property: Reef Village Resort
Address: Reef Village Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#47 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Village Resort - one of the most beautiful places in the country offering luxury condos and villas with up to 4 bedrooms at reasonable rates among some of the finest amenities on the island, restaurant with delicious local and Intl. cuisine, bar and pool on a cool island in the middle of the lagoon. Incredible packages and tour offerings ensure your Belize vacation will exceed your expectations of luxury, comfort, adventure and fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef Village Hotel San Pedro
Reef Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing