We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic week!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SunBreeze Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SunBreeze Suites
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic week!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent 8 days here and couldn't have asked for better service at any price! The room was very accommodating and had everything we needed...felt very at home! It was within close walking distance of many restaurants and markets and felt very safe! (Single mom with teenage son).
I have seen other comments about "needing updating" and such... if you are in Belize to look at the drapes- you came to the wrong vacation spot. The WiFi was hit and miss.... but again... we didn't come to Belize to hang out on the laptop. We had plenty good enough service to communicate with family back home. We could not have asked for a better stay and my only complaint was having to leave to come home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Favoriteirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    189
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
123
218
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent our anniversary here in an oceanfront suite for 4 days. The room was a great value. Very nice view and balcony. I'll list the pros & cons, but will start by saying that although the place has flaws, for the money - I'd do it again. I don't think there are many 4 or 5 star places in this area, so out of the 3-star places, this was a bargain. The few higher-rated places are around triple the price or more.

Pros: 1. The location. Although no real 'beach' to speak of anywhere in this whole area, the ocean was feet from our second-floor room, the Ecological Divers (who we also recommend) pier was a 2-min walk, restaurants and shops were close, and the airport was not far away. No need for a car/golf cart. It seemed like everything was right there.
2. The balcony. It made the whole room. It was huge & we spent a lot of time on it enjoying the ocean view.
3. Spacious areas. Not a huge place, but plenty of room for us for the time we were there.
4. Very clean pool.
5. Very small & well maintained hotel - outside. The place has a nice, Spanish stucco exterier & is real easy to get in and out of - street side & beachside. We liked the fact it was a small hotel - It felt more intimate.

Cons: 1. They advertised free WiFi & they shouldn't. I needed it regularly and had to go to a local restaurant to use theirs. The Hotel's never worked in the room & only a few times outdoors. They told me they had been having issues with their service provider for a while after we arrived, & it continued thru our entire stay. It doesn't appear they are doing anything about it.

2. Rooms are very dated. Although the exterior and balcony are quite nice, the interior is quite functional - but dated. The mattress had a giant cave in it which made it difficult for two people to sleep without rolling into the middle. The living room furnishings & kitchen looked like they were purchased & built in 1980 & never updated. The shower was nice & big, but had a terrible smell coming from it & the kitchen routinely had sugar ants.

3. The pool is very small. I know it's more of a boutique hotel than a resort. But even for a hotel, it's small. It seems like they did the best they could with the space they had.

This was our first time to the island, so we did not have anything to compare it to. From what we could see, for the money, this place was great & we'll probably be back. The Pros completely outweighed the Cons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chaseyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great sized apartment, that was Budget friendly and directly on the beach. Had to walk a fair bit to find good waters to swim in, but we're directly in San Pedro and close to the water Taxi and great places to eat. Staff were great helping us organize our trips.

Room Tip: overlooking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank myjetsetterlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first stop on our first visit to Belize. The room was reasonable and clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. There always seemed to be someone in the hallways sweeping up the sand and trying to keep things neat and clean. We thought it was a bit more expensive that it should have been but considering it is on an island and everything usually costs more it probably isn't out of line.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Deb_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is right on the water and has a fabulous view of the reef and beachfront. Excellent service and the food is great at the restaurant. We also used the hotel to book a snorkel trip to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. This was our second year to visit San Pedro and we will definitely return and use SunBreeze Suites again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I liked this hotel. Allowed us to be right near the town and water taxi. Rooms very comfortable. Just like home. Quiet, not much going on but found plenty to do. Enjoyed renting golf cart and exploring island. That was fun. Booked snorkeling and cave tubing by just talking with businesses on beach. Best deals. Ocean front was great but palm trees blocked view. That was only complaint. Brought own food and alcohol that saved us a lot of money. Eating out wasn't that expensive but at night it's nice to eat in and relax. People in Belize are really nice and always felt safe. Have a great trip and slow down:-)

Room Tip: Ocean front but palm trees in way on 3rd floor. All rooms look into small pool,restaurant with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xrjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our first trip to Belize and definitely want be our last. We stayed at the SunBreeze Suites, not the Hotel, which was located close to the airport. The Suites are located an easy 15 minute walk from the airport. Venessa at the front desk was very pleasant to work with. She assisted us with dealing with arrival issues, even before we arrived at the hotel. She gladly made local flight and hotel date changes for us, so that we would not incur international charges. The housekeeping and restraurant staff were outstanding. Upon our check in our room was very cold and no odors. The only minor issue we noted was the floor had not been swept well that day, as the floor was sandy. However this was quickly corrected the next day and we were provided outstanding maid service for the next 5 days. We had an ocean view moderated obstructed by 3 large palm trees. As a photographer, I would have preferred they weren't there, but my wife loved them,as they provide shade when on the balcony. If you like Jamaican food, especially plantain then be sure to eat at JamBel Jerk located on the beach side of the hotel. For breakfast, try Lily's a few buildings to the right. Their pancakes and bacon are great.
My only issue with Sunbreeze is that I wish they would replace those cheap plastic chairs on the balcony of each suite with nicer lounge chairs so that you could really enjoy relaxing on the balcony. The wi-fi signal was fairly strong thru out the building.

A little advice on Ambergris Caye and San Pedro. If you are coming to the island expecting to find wide white sandy beaches, you will be very disappointed. San Pedro is a busy(by local standards) seaport town. If you like snorkeling, diving, fishing, or any other water activities, then you will love it here. You will be amazed by how friendly and stress free most of the locals are. If you are coming from a large city, you will feel like you have slipped back into a small country town, that happens to be located by the ocean. There is sufficient nightlife for most people, and finding a good place to eat or drink is not an issue. I was told if you are looking for white sandy beaches you should try staying in Placencia, which is located in the southern part of the country, We will check that out on our next trip to Belize. San Pedro does have what I call a nice beachfront. The fairly clean and compacted sand, makes its easy to take long morning and evening runs and scrolls along the water front. You can wade several feet out into the clear water without getting into deep water. The only issue is you have to make sure you stay out of the boat and jet ski lanes.

The best mode of transportation from Belize City to the island will be dependent on what you consider the lessor of some people fears. Spending 15 minutes in a 12 seater puddle jumper, or 2 hours in a small boat with several passengers and possible choppy water. We chose to fly for the shorter time frame and the view.

All and all we really enjoyed our time in Belize and the snorkeling was great, never been so relaxed coming back from a vacation.

Room Tip: If you stay in rooms 106,107, 206,207, 306, 307, be prepared for loud music on certain days from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sub712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.0 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBreeze Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBreeze Suites

Property: SunBreeze Suites
Address: Beachfront, Barrier Reef Drive | Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#21 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SunBreeze Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SunBreeze Suites is situated in the laid back beach town of San Pedro, on the popular Ambergris Caye. At our front door, the town welcomes you to join in the fun, and out our back door, you are just a few steps from the Caribbean Sea and the largest Barrier Reef in the Western Hemisphere (a UNESCO world heritage site). SunBreeze Suites is comprised of twenty comfortable one bedroom vacation suites overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Each Suite comes with a private balcony from where you can enjoy breathtaking sunrises, refreshing cool sea-breezes and romantic moonlight nights. We offer complimentary WiFi to keep you connected with your loved ones. It is within walking distance to grocery stores, entertainment centers, local and gourmet restaurants, banks, fruit shops, caffes, and Belizean art galleries. This San Pedro Hotel offers an open air-beach front restaurant & bar, pool, dock, and Free Wi-Fi in-suites and common areas. Jambel Jerk Pit Restaurant & Bar offers a fusion of Belize's signature flavours with the perfect blend of Jamaican Cuisine. Carefully selected spices are utilized which are sure to tantalize your taste, while the exceptional aroma awakes you! Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner (from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily). Offering "All you can eat buffet on Wednesday with live music from 6:00 pm to 9:30pm and Happy hour on Fridays from 5:00pm to 9:00pm. " Belize Dive Connection" a well known and respected dive operation for over 15 years now, just an 8 minute stroll away, provides The SunBreeze Suites' guests with safe and professional diving. Diving, Snorkeling, Beach Picnics, and/or Fishing trips are just a few of the many tours available from this beachfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SunBreeze Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbreeze Hotel San Pedro
Sunbreeze Resort San Pedro
SunBreeze Suites Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing