We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than its rated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than its rated!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

One of the few places I could find available over New Years 2014, its mid-tier rating undersells it. Clean room, great view, quiet location, good AC, chilling area with hammocks and beach chairs...our fridge didn't seem to work and we never found the wifi signal, but we didn't bother to inquire about either issue...too busy enjoying Caulker. One free hour of kayak rental, unfortunately for us the weather did not cooperate.

Room Tip: Asked for a high floor to get best view, but I think they are all pretty decent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
33
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

nice quiet location south of town, best beach by far, very nice staff. Has the basics, no frills and that is what we were looking for. open the patio door to a great view, sleep with patio open all night and have a nice breeze or try AC if you must. Seems to be overlooked by many guide books and tourist, which is fine by us, it keeps it quiet, but these guys deserve a bit more business. Rooms had AC, micro, fridge, nice hot showers and good firm king size mattress. And they really do have the best stretch of reach beach, volleyball court, hammocks....who could ask for more?

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very acceptable hotel in Caye Caulker. Staff is very friendly. It is a little far away from main activities, but nothing is more than 15 minutes away walk. Would definitely recommend the hotel. Only wish they had a restaurant for breakfast. No hesitation to stay here again

Room Tip: Go for room 3 to get wifi in your room. If not go for top floor for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

I've just arrived here and im currently sat on the balcony of our room having a beer. Whilst certainly not the Savoy our room and those of the other 14 people in our group seem to be fine. Our room is clean, it's got a fridge for the very reasonably priced beer from reception and a small private beach. Maybe they've bucked their ideas up since then previous reviewers visited but their comments aren't now fair of what I see here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Definitely the worst hotel I've stayed in my life, max 2*. I have 30-40 stubborn itchy red spots on my legs since we were there (10 days ago...), because of bed bugs. The location is very good, they have free WiFi, but that's all. The room are very shabby, old and you do not want to have a bath in that bathroom, belive me.
There are better choices in Caye Caulker, for example right at the pier, the orange color hotel.
Stay away if you want to have good memories from Caye Caulker, since the island is pretty nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zsuzsa_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This place was probably nice some years ago. Nice encironment at the seaside. However, in the meantime it is run down an would require some investment. The internet pictures are outdated!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joa_stickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent three nights at Anchorage Resort in March 2012. We enjoyed it thoroughly. The grounds are expansive - with a volleyball and basketball court, the beachfront area is large and places you right in front of the sea, the hammocks hover above the sea, and the staff is very helpful. Yes, the rooms are a bit rustic and old, but we spent very little time in there. Yes, there is a problem with the sewer smell coming up when you flush, but it dissipates after a few minutes with the extractor fan in every bath-room. We found the place generally clean and the staff committed to cleanliness. It is away form the center of town, which made it perfect for us - as we wanted privacy. The swimming area off the pier was a little small for our kids - but very enjoyable, nonetheless. The place doesn't get very many guests, it seems - which made it more enjoyable for us - as we had free reign over most of the facilities. Overall, excellent and an unusual amount of beach frontage. We would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivieraReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Beachfront Street Playa Asuncion | P.O. Box 25, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Anchorage Resort)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel nestled on 2 acres of sandy beach. 14 rooms with 2 double beds and 4 rooms with 1 king size bed. All accommodations come equipped with A/C, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, private balcony and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing