We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Mara's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara's Place
Ranked #14 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed at Mara's Place for 5 days in late february and it was great! The rooms are very basic, but totally clean. There were three of us and we shared 2 double beds, and had more then enough floor space to spread out our packs. The rooms come with a table, chair, and tv, as well as one night stand. The bathroom is basic, but gets the job done. Decent water pressure in the shower (but not great). Mara herself was great! Very hospitable. She locked our travel documents in her safe in the main house (no safe in the rooms). There is an outdoor communal kitchen in the back also. The thing I loved the most about Mara's were the hammocks! Each room had hammock on the porch, and across the street there is a private dock, with 3 hammocks in the shade and a few chairs in the sun. I spent a fair amount of hours napping in those hammocks, let me tell you! Mara's is the last housing option on the main street in Caye Caulker, closest to the beach and the Lazy Lizard. The bar closes early and we were never disturbed by any noise. The rooms have 2 locks on the front door, we felt very safe. She also has wifi.

Only con from my POV: thin, springy matresses.

For the price and location, Mara's was a great choice for our backpacking travel time in Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggs_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    48
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
64
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

After reading trip reviews I decided to prebook six nights at Mara's place for the 3rd week of January. We communicated by email and they made the process very easy for me. They did not charge anything to my credit card without informing me first. I arrived late so they left the key in the door for me. Even though I was traveling solo they put me in Cabana 2. Its a spacious room with two double beds, a fridge and a tv. And a room with a fantastic view! The washroom was small, very simple and a bit rusty. But it was kept clean. The water coming through the taps is salt water but it wasn't hard water. The shower pressure is good at night and they had hot water. I loved their private dock right near the split. Mara and her husband are very nice people. She agreed to hold on to my passport and put it in her own safe. So I did not have to worry about having my passport stolen. As a solo female traveller I felt very safe staying at Mara's. Even though my cabana was right by the street the location is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas. I would definately stay here again and request Cabana 2!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melo4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We had an amazing time at caye caulker and Mara is very nice , friendly and helpful .
I would go back today , if i could ! We were right by the split , the place if you need to relax !
You HAVE to slow down ! We went on a sailing trip , snorkeled , with caveman , snorkeled and swam with the sharks , stingrays and turtles ...we saw barracudas and eels too!

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karinsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I really don't have much negative to say, but I wasn't too excited either. The room was mediocre. I think they were clean, but they were kind of worn. The person who checked me in (Mara?) was not overly friendly although a couple days later she was a bit nicer.

The location is pretty great and the room I stayed in (#4) had a good view. I didn't think the locks worked very well which at first made me a bit uncomfortable, but I later learned the island was pretty safe. I thought the signs listing rules all over the room was a bit unsightly.

A huge negative...the first night I was there someone either got locked out of their room or their roomy wouldn't let them in. The banged on the door so loudly that the entire building shook. When I asked the gal (Mara?) about it the next morning she seemed to know about it and just brushed it off like it was no big deal. I was very worried that the behavior would continue my entire stay, but fortunately those folks moved out and the rest of my stay was quiet.

I don't think I'd stay here again because there are a few other places I'd like to try, but if the price works for your budget it's not too bad.

One note...I saw a post saying the showers were salt water. I have no idea why they would say that. They definitely were not salt water although I think the water had a high mineral content.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This place is located right by the Split and the Lazy Lizard (great place to watch the sunset).

The rooms are clean, but no AC which made it a bit hard to sleep. There are ceiling fans.

The showers are with salt water, so I recommend cold showers to avoid feeling like you did not shower at all.

Did not really see any employees when there, however, they weren't overly friendly when we did see them.

The location is great and on the main street. There are plenty of restaurants and clubs within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toesinthesand1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed at Mara's for 4 nights and it was very nice- the room was spot on. We stayed in a room on the first floor. It had a queen with a ceiling van, a fridge, tv and ensuite and balcony with chairs and a hammock. There's also a little dock for chilling and swimming off, just for guest of Mara's place. It's literally at the Split.
It was one of the pricier places we stayed at during our trip in Central America, but that;s Belize for you I guess. We payed 40US.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankypankyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed at Mara's for 6 nights, although we were initially planning on 3 or 4. For the price we paid (approx 35 USD), we were very happy.

We stayed in two different rooms, one in the first floor and one on the basement. I personally prefer the room in the first floor as the view from the veranda might be a bit nicer.

The rooms had one large bed, with clean sheets. The sheets were changed every second day, as well as the towels. The toilet was reasonably clean and the floor as well.

All rooms have a great veranda, with a hammock, a table and chairs to sit outside. They also have a fridge and a ceiling fan.

Mara's is located very close to the public beach of Caye Caulker, where many people hang out. Also close to the Lazy Lizard, a very relaxed bar, and the Split, the perfect place to see the sun set.

In all, a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara's Place

Property: Mara's Place
Address: 27 Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mara's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara`s Place Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing