We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for the money”
Review of Mara's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara's Place
Ranked #14 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Liverpool, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place for the money”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

we stayed here for 2 weeks and were very pleased, great friendly ppl
when we arrived in belize our checked didnt,when we checked in and mentioned that our bag didnt make it, krissa (maras daughter) made all the phone calls and tracked it down, got it 2 days later, she when out of her way to do that, cant say enough about that.
rooms are clean and tidy, cleaned everyday, if your noisy and loud at night you will have a prob, mara dosent tolerate ppl disturbing other guests we thought that was great,that might be why some give a bad review, we liked it there and would stay there again
there building a coffee/pastery shop there, might be opened by now

Room Tip: number 7 is in the shade and close to the shared kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenoser2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    48
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
64
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is my second stay at Mara's Place. If you are looking for a perfect experience, this is not the place. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place in a good location, then this is the place. Mara's Place is located just steps from the Lazy Lizard/Split. Obviously I wasn't too bothered by my last stay since I stayed again. Honestly how much time do you actually spend in your room? I feel like the basics are good enough. For more information about my travels in Belize check out www.alaskagirlatheart.com.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We got the last room at Mara's and it was right on the street. It was a good size and light and we thought it would be noisy but we had no problems. The room has two double beds, fans and a fridge and private bathroom with hot water. There is an outdoor kitchen, wifi and a private dock with hammocks across the road. It cost BZ$75. We enjoyed our stay. We ate at a few great cheap Chinese restaurants and enjoyed a sailing trip with snorkelling to Shark Ray Alley with Ragamuffin. We took the boat to Chetumal from the back dock and it was all very easy. A great choice for nice affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Digging the hammocks! And the towels are changed every day. The private pier is also nice!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pullamasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stay in room #2 if possible - it is definitely the best room, right across the street from the beach. We thought the room was nice - 2 full beds and an in-room bathroom. The room was cleaned daily, and I think the sheets were changed every other day. The bathroom was small, and the water pressure in the shower was really low, but we did get hot water....we were on an island so I wasn't expecting much more. There was a hammock on the front porch which I spent a lot of time in.

Mara's provided one little bar of soap (didn't last our full stay) and no shampoo/conditioner, so be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo!

Mara's place had a little outdoor kitchen available for guest use. There were 2 BBQs, but you had to buy your own charcoal to use one, and the gas grill didn't work so we were a little disappointed about that.

Mara's place also had a really nice covered dock with hammocks for guest use only.

The biggest negative of Mara's place was another group that appeared to be living in one of the rooms. We think they were somehow related to Mara because they interacted with her a lot, used the boat that was tied up to the dock, and used Mara's golf cart a lot. They basically walked around like they owned the place. They were pretty intimidating as they stared at us whenever we came or left, and would never say hi or even smile back if you made eye contact. They had a big pitbull that would stand in the middle of the dock when we would try to walk out to the dock, and we heard/saw the dog get into a street fight with another dog right outside our room one night, which was encouraged and cheered on by one of the men living in the room; the pitbull severely injured the other dog. They left their beer bottles all over the dock and openly smoked weed out on the dock and on the deck in their room.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank javakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We found the hosts to be very friendly so we're not sure why the previous reviewer had such issues. The cabins are great, they are clean, and they have lovely hammocks hanging on the little tiny porches in front of them. We only stayed a couple of nights but we very much enjoyed our stay.

The location is excellent as it is just far away from the clubs and bars to allow you to sleep if you want to turn in early prior to a snorkeling or diving trip. It is right next door to "the split" and a close to a great little beach bar called the lazy lizard which is the best place to meet people and just waste away an afternoon.

We did have an issue with noise during our second night, but it was due to a bunch of idiots who decided to move in and thought it would be fun to blast their music and yell at each other at 4am in the morning when they got back from the bars. They woke everyone up and were extremely rude to Mara when she tried to politely ask them to turn the music down and be quiet. The hosts live on the premises with their children so I am fairly certain they got asked to leave the next day as well as they should have. Not sure if this incident and the bad review are related.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Mara's place is run by the most unfriendly and unhelpful couple! Atypical of the otherwise very friendly and welcoming islanders.

We thought we had done something to upset them but, after speaking to other guests, we discovered that they are like this with everyone.

We were even given a day's notice to move out the day before we left the island; bit annoying after staying somewhere for a week and having to find somewhere else for our last night!

Despite this we had a lovely week on the island in reasonably priced, well located accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harryhewetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara's Place

Property: Mara's Place
Address: 27 Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mara's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara`s Place Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing