We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Choice in Caye Caulker (aka bug island)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Villas Condos
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice Choice in Caye Caulker (aka bug island)”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We started at the Sea Side Cabanas, but when they were full were referred here. We were just in town for one night (which from my understanding they typically do not rent out for one night) and after traveling very rustically for the week, were happy with our stay here. It was clean, had a nicely stocked kitchen, cool ac, great view of the ocean, and central location. We did not have hot water. It really seemed to be one of the nicest places on Caye Caulker.
We will not be returning to Caye Caulker though- it was raining for some of our visit & we got so many sand flea bites it was awful. Although there were no bugs in the room of our hotel, we were so itchy it was an island that we will not be heading back to.

Room Tip: We had room 8 & were high up with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My family and I stayed in unit 6 and were very pleased with it. Ray had a taxi driver meet us at the airport who took us to the water taxi. Then, Ray himself was waiting for us at the dock when we arrived at Caye Caulker.
The A/C worked great the entire time. Everything was clean. The one quirk was the unit had hot and cold water, although not necessarily at the same time.
Housekeeping came around twice, which was enough.
If we ever visit Caye Caulker again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed in Unit #4 for 4 nights and was very pleased with it. Loved the Oceanfront View. AC worked great. The showers were either cold or VERY HOT! Never could get it right. Great value and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnaorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Location, size and value are exceptional. We really enjoyed our stay. Not having housekeeping didn't both me as much, but my wife didn't like how the sand got on the floor and other aspects of the unit became dirty over the five days we were there, so would be nice to have housekeeping at least once. (I can't remember if it was advertized as having housekeeping or not, but either way it was the only thing that made the stay anything less than perfect).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B Love B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were very pleased with our unit #5. Oceanfront view, clean
and spacious rooms. Two bedrooms with individual bathrooms.
Enjoyed the air-conditioning and (cold) pool. Jacuzzi wasn't working.
The kitchen, although functional, lacked essential cooking utensils
like enough pots and pans, etc. Housekeeping is only a couple
times a week, which is a let down considering we are at the beach.
The condo rental company is friendly, but getting anyting you require
is a chore to keep running to their office. Disappointed they wouldn't allow
us to use the clothes washer in the unit.
Hopefully they improve with simple necessiites and I would look forward
to staying there again.

Room Tip: Needs more frequent housekeeping and essential cooking utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdyvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in unit 2 for 9 nights and after checking the other rentals on the island, we were very happy with this place. It had everything we needed. Mariya and Ray were very helpful with any requests we made. Ray even took us to the airport when it was time to leave the island.

The best place to get wine is in the airport when you arrive to Belize. The prices are better than anywhere else. Half the cost elsewhere and it is duty free. They will box it for you for easy carrying. We bought 9 bottles, one for each night with dinner. They have a full selection of high end liquor as well at really good prices.

The local rum is 1 Barrel. It is pretty good. Available at the grocery stores. There are 9 grocery stores on Caye Caulker. All run by the Chinese. Prices are about the same at each one. The fresh brown eggs are very tasty. The seafood is all fresh caught there. The red meat is all frozen.

The condo has a fully equipped kitchen for those who want to cook. If you didn't feel like cooking, all the restaurants are within walking distance or a short bicycle ride. Everything is within walking distance on the island.

It was great not having many vehicles on the island. Mostly golf carts and bicycles. We rented bicycles one day to explore the whole island. Was a great way to see everything.

Snorkeling the barrier reef was so incredible. It was dive quality. No need to dive it when you can see so much just by snorkeling. Definitely worth taking a short boat trip out to the reef to snorkel. We went with Juni. He takes you out to Hol Chan Marine Preserve near San Pedro. We made 3 stops. First was stingrays; second was stingrays and loggerhead turtles; and third was reef with lots of fish and his friend the giant grouper. We highly recommend going out with him as he is a man of the sea. The fish and other creatures of the sea are all his friends and it was quite an experience to see how they reacted to each other. It cost $35 USD each person for an all day sail.

We also took a snorkel boat out to the reef in front of the condos. It was $25 USD per person. 3 stops. First was stingrays and nurse sharks; second was reef and a giant moray eel; and third was a shallow reef with lots of fish. It was just a 5 minute boat ride. You can see the reef from the condo where it breaks. Unless you are a competition swimmer, it's kind of too far to swim out to and there are boats passing back and forth. It is best to go out by boat.

We took the water taxi to Chetumal, Mexico for the day. Not worth going there. Nothing to see or do. Anything that was on the water was industrial. It was a typical small Mexico city. BEWARE of the immigration scam when leaving. They try to charge each person 295 pesos ($25 USD) and say it is an exit fee. The exit fee is only for those who stay in Mexico for 7 days or more. We stayed about 5 hours. They threaten not to stamp your passport if you don't pay so people got scared and paid the fee. We chose not to and couldn't get back on the boat. That was ok because we took a short taxi to the Corozal/Belize border. Immigration asked us for the same fee and we told him we spent all our money in Chetumal so he let us go through with no charge. We then took a short taxi ride to the small airport in Corozal and got a plane to San Pedro where we met up with our water taxi. We took the water taxi back to Caye Caulker. If you do decide to go to Chetumal do a google search on Mexico/Belize border crossing scam. You will find lots of information about it. All-in-all our adventure began when we were denied passage back on the water taxi to Belize. It turned into a fun and exciting day of adventure. You may want to consider taking the water taxi there and returning like we did.

Caye Caulker was a very relaxing island and the Belizean people were very friendly and helpful. There were no pushy vendors like in Mexico tourist towns.

Go on the rooftop of the condos to see the sunset. You can see water on both sides of the island from up there. Nice place to relax with the jacuzzi or in a hammock under a thatched roof.

Not many areas of open beach with waves. Lots of sea grass in the shallows. We went out on the piers and swam out to the buoys and snorkeled all around the area. You see some fish, conch, hermit crabs in conch shells and stingrays, but mainly a grassy sandy bottom. The reef is worth going out to.

The Cuban restaurant on the main street roasts a suckling whole pig each night. We ate there 3 times and it was excellent. Pig was juicy and yummy. The pig is roasted across from the restaurant for 5 hours every day. Check it out. The owners are incredibly friendly. Don't miss out on this.

The fisherman come in late afternoon with lots of fresh fish and conch. Black and red snappers, grouper, hogfish. You can select your fish and they will clean it for you and filet it if you want or you can cook it whole.

We highly recommend staying at these condos. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed two nights in unit 2 and seven nights in unit 4. Both were very nice but unit 4 seemed to have more space with a better layout. Nice two bedroom, two bath worked well for us...myself, my wife, our 15 month old and her grandparents. It was nice to have the kitchen unit for obvious reasons. Great porch area in each unit overlooking the pool. Pool was a bit cool at first but quite refreshing in 85 temps. Air condition in unit 4 is pretty loud but we got used to it after the first night. Actually really happy we had a place with air although the airflow in both units was nice when we didn't run the air.
The first two days in unit 4 the water only came out scalding hot! Showers were impossible...they got the problem fixed the day after we told them about it.
Mariya and her husband were very helpful any time we needed something.
Would probably stay somewhere else next time but still would recommend this condo. It's worth the extra $ you would pay versus some other places on the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strategery76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Villas Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Villas Condos

Property: Seaside Villas Condos
Address: Beach Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Villas consist of 6 beautifully appointed beachfront condos on the island of Caye Caulker. Each Condo overlooks the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef in the world.With the luxury of both swimming pool and rooftop Jacuzzi, Seaside Villas Condos are ideal for couples or families alike. Seaside Villas is located only five minutes from the Caye Caulker Airport, a short stroll from the water, shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Villas Condos Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing