We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“NEW MANAGEMENT!! NOW is Pat and Stells and well worth trying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Roger's Grill & Restaurant - CLOSED

Jolly Roger's Grill & Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“NEW MANAGEMENT!! NOW is Pat and Stells and well worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Jolly Rogers is now Pat and Stells -- a family affair owned and operated by the former Femi's barkeep, Keith and his family.

Not only have things been spiffed up (new paint, updated tables, and generally tidy appearance), but the shift of management has brought the food back to former glory. The ceviche is, once again, the best on the island. They make it to order, so it will take 20-30 min for it to arrive, and once it does your heart will sing -- add a glass of lime juice or a beer and you've got the perfect caribbean lunch. They'll drop an innocuous bottle of sauce at the table before serving -- be careful -- it's weapon's grade habenaro sauce -- best dispatched by the tincture or drop. When they say: "we're not playin'... be careful" they're not kidding.

Love the reggae vibe and attentive service. Its right on the beach with drop-down tarps to keep folks comfortable from wind or sun anytime of the day. Truly the place to "go slow".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventureGrrl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stewed Lobster.........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We dined here just over a week ago. Extremely disappointing. Lobster curry tasted and looked as if it had been stewing all day and therum punch tasted like syrup cordial.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great view and good cheap food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I ate at Jolly Rogers last night. Roger was on the street and told us about his special~ entree.coconut rice.Cole slaw's.chocolate cake.and rum pumch- for $15.00 Belize which os just $7.50 US. We sat at a picnic table on a deck over the beach which was delightful. We both had the Curry Lobster. The food arrived looking and tasting very good. There were lots of large chunks of.lobster. Everything was delicious! It was a lot of good food for a very reasonable/cheap cost. We did not order drinks.....but judging from the hospitality and kindness (my husband was coughing and they both came to our table to make sure he was ok) of the owners/ chefs I bet they would be great.too. You will not be disappointed choosing to eat here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank masmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cayo de San Ignacio, Cayo, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Best place in Caye Caulker by far. Roger makes the best grilled lobster at the best price. Kareem can make some seriously great mashed potatoes to go with the lobster and Keith makes the best drinks in Belize. Olivia, did not forget you. Best place to hang out in Belize!

Hope to be back soon!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great food with good deals.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great vibe, food and very cheap. Roger is always sitting out the front cooking away and you cant help but to stop and have a chat. We got to talking and said there was a whole bunch of us staying at the one hostel and therefore we were able to negotiate an awesome deal with him. Wins for both parties. Make sure you grab the lobster and if you have over number you can grab a whole chocolate cake as well as jugs of rum punch for free.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Roger's Grill & Restaurant also viewed

 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing