We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot, prompt service and decent food”

Tropical Paradise Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
197 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice spot, prompt service and decent food”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Tried this spot with group of eleven ages 8-51 for dinner and enjoyed food and service. Two for one blended drinks were nicely done. Menu was wide ranging. Some dishes came out a bit on cold side, maybe intentionally??, but overall didn't deserve excellent rating. Would be happy to try Tropical Paradis again in future though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank derbyking98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    73
    25
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Caye caulker. They serve good breakfast at a good price (cheaper than other places I went to for the same quality).
Food is good even if the place is not as cool or funky as many other places in Caye caulker. Service was good and staff was very friendly (maybe because we stayed in low season and there were a few tourists around).
Portions are big and not expensive, and it is very clean.
I think it is a good place to pop in for a quiet and good night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carbolca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Definitely a miss. Food mediocre at best. Service slow. The only god thing was the mango coladas which were cold and refreshing

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We enjoyed many good meals during our visit to Caye Caulker. This one was our biggest disappointment. The food was average, the service was slow and the prices were high in comparison to other places we had dined.

We ordered lobster kabobs. This came w/ 2 skewers + 2 side dishes + garlic bread for $12.50. Considering other places offered a whole lobster w/ side dishes for $10 and free rum punch I felt this was high. When I asked for more garlic bread they charged us $1.50 when other places we went just brought us more at no charge.

The kabobs contained large pieces of lobster. However, the veggies on the kabob were almost non existent and what there was were small pieces of pepper and onion.

They offered 6 beers for $10 and free chips and salsa when you purchased the 6 beers. Many places on the island offered the 6 beers/$10, but the chips/salsa included made that a good deal.

By all means, the food was not bad. It just was not great, the value for the money was poor in comparison to other places on the island and service was slow. Thus why we were disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average food, mediocre service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Tropical paradise offers a sizeable manue consisting of seafood and centralamerican standards, some of which were fine (catch of the day, whole snapper), others were just okay (fish n chips, fried chicken wrap). The location is okay, but nothing special, and the service is friendly but unorganised (some of us had already finished their food when the last plate arrived). All in all you don't go wrong if you eat there, but there are better places on Caye Caulker.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Paradise Restaurant also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Tropical Paradise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing