We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean and simple place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A clean and simple place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Caye Caulker Plaza hotel was a good choice for our family. Great AC to sleep in at night and to relax in (it rained the whole second day were were there - glad we had cable to pass some of the time). As others have indicated, this hotel is basic and not fancy, but it was clean and the lobby staff were helpful in answering all our questions. The wi-fi worked in the lobby, but not in our room (we stayed on the first floor North side). Beds were comfortable, but too soft for my preference. This hotel is very close to but not on the beach. If we returned, my wife and I decided that we would rather be in a hotel right on the water, and wished we had spent the extra money so that we could read and sip wine while watching the ocean. I thought the price/accommodation quality ratio was just right.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cctrovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    107
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
104
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocahontas, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Plaza Hotel was not fancy, but had all we needed and was perfectly clean. It being on a small island, we walked everywhere we went. Belize is a beautiful country and the people are beautiful also. I only wish everyone in the world were as friendly as those folks. It was also
most enjoyable swimming with the manta rays, sharks, barracudas and all the gorgeous tropical fish. Hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here with a group tour. The hotel is not on the water but is a 5 min walk or less. the Lobby staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are basic but air conditioned. the bathroom and shower are nice and new but the floor is so flat that the water doesn't drain very well.
The hotel has a rooftop terrace with a few picnic tables...it was raining while we were there so we did not get to enjoy it.
This hotel was ok for Caye calker....I would have preferred to stay closer to the water with a better view but we still enjoyed our stay.
Not the best set up for a group tour...but close to everything on the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was a well priced, comfortable, and clean hotel. It isn't on the beach, but the beach is very near no matter which direction you walk. It has all of the necessary amenities, AC, wi-fi, and private bath. The reception desk folks were always very helpful and friendly. I'd be surprised if you can find a better deal on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We did not make any pre-arrangmenets when we came to Caye Caulker. We found the first room we could and toured around asking for prices. This was the best deal we could find for four nights (~240 US). Rooms were clean, we had A/C, hot water and most importantly a safe! The power works off of the key FOB, so it does not run when you're gone. (Bad for the beer fridge LOL) Key FOB's are expensive to replace so the front desk will hold them while you're out which was a releif. The hotel was quite busy so we declined maid service when we returned from supper and they were still making their rounds. Not a big deal. Good location, I would return again. 5 days in the Cauye is not enough time to completly unwind. Fabulous place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Want2BWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor and was clean and comfortable. The wifi worked great the whole time. The room comes with a fridge, tv air con and a private bathroom. The shower was hot and had good pressure. We liked the location, its close to everything. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great location in the center of town. Nice size rooms with cable, AC and support form the lobby was excellent. Problem upon arrival but the moved me to another room, re-cleaned my room and I moved back in without any further problems. Bed was comfortable and the trade winds made the AC unit unnecessary. Complimentary coffee in the morning and the Bakery next door make my roof top mornings a pure joy.
The employees made you feel right at home with a natural friendliness I've seldom come across. I would not hesitate to stay there again as they made you feel like a guest rather than a "customer".

Room Tip: A second or third floor room may have a better breeze but all I needed was the overhead fan. Facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandseeker_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Property: Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Address: Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Caye Caulker. All our rooms are fully air-conditioned, equipped with cable TV, mini fridge and hot and cold shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing