We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, hot water and good beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Challock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, hot water and good beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Good room, place spotless and very clean. Rooms a good size, sadly no view-or anywhere good to sit-for example no roof terrace. An adequate hotel that is quite central but nothing memorable about the location or hotel-just nicely adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    107
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
104
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for about a week last year. It was fairly centrally located, and quiet at night. The people that worked here were super nice. There was AC and hot water and the hotel was very clean. I think it was a wonderful deal for the price, the bed was comfy, it was maybe a 7-10 min walk from the beach (if you "go slow") The only downside was not being located on the water, but we knew that when we booked it. THere is a little market right next door for snacks/drinks and I think it was a chinese place across the street. But everything in Key Caulker is very closeby. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerrykwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here, at the Plaza for three nights. The Hotel is centerly located., though Caye Caulker is not a large island, which makes it easy to get around. The Plaza is Not on the water, unfortunatly. The Hotel was clean and the Staff was very helpful. The A.C worked well and also the hot water. I also recommend renting bikes to get around and of course, snorkeling and Scuba Diving.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel a couple of nights in December and returned again for another night in January. The hotel is not on the waterfront so if that is important to you look elsewhere. However, the rooms are roomy and clean. It has AC and hotwater. It is either newly renovated or has a great maintenance program. Single or double rooms were offered at the same price which was 60$ + taxes. We were not successful in negotiating a better price than that. No breakfast. Liked the hotel but felt that the staff were not that helpful and seemed to be hiding behind the desk instead of seeing if we were enjoying our stay. That is the only reason this hotel does not get the full points. I would still recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms have balconies and we were told that they are $75.00 / night. Didn't feel it was wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maltapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

From the outside of the building, after walking down the street from the water taxi, the hotel looks welcoming and "that joyful yellow"! Once inside and immediately to the lobby because it is small and RIGHT THERE! , I noticed the rooms were also right there! Oh dear, hope I am not assigned one of those! During the current of emails, I knew I had the ground floor. At the same time, I put myself in "the mode, in the frame of mind that would go with the flow". After all, I had spent more than 24 hours finding a room available on the caye so this was where I would be set up for the next 3 days. The desk staff is fabulous! They were ready to help at any turn, and I noticed that with other guests as well. They are what made the stay at that hotel good. The rooms were used and old. The humidity kept a level of moisture in the rooms that the ceiling fan could not adjust. That was because the electricity was controlled by the room key! Once you took it out of the wall slot to leave the room, all electricity went off. The lighting was horrible....not enough lights/lamps. I asked for an additional lamp but was told there were none. One nice feature was having a room safe. Weather allowed me to dress lightly so carrying my travel money pouch under my pants was not an option. Was great to leave valuables in the room safe. The roof top was wonderful when returning New Years Eve to see the fireworks. There were yoga classes held up there at 5pm but I was never able to make one; disappointing. The prices of hotels on Caulker were high, especially during those dates. Otherwise, I would not have considered spending nearly $80 on a room of that caliber. Location? it is hard to go wrong with any location on Caulker! it is a walkable or golf-cart friendly area that does not go on for very far.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

This hotel provides solid but basic accommodations at a reasonable price. The area is quiet and close to everything. It's a 5-10 minute walk to water taxis and restaurants. Rent a bike to see all the island

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel mid January. Very happy with the service. Room was spotless and cleaned daily.
Close to everything, though nothing is too far away in the island. Overall, a pleasurable stay and we will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Property: Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Address: Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Caye Caulker. All our rooms are fully air-conditioned, equipped with cable TV, mini fridge and hot and cold shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing