We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for where you are.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This place is not too bad, it is positioned almost dead smack in the centre of Caye Caulker island. In saying that the island is tiny and getting from the hotel to any beach can not be more then a 5 maybe 10 min walk.

The hotel is another quite simple hotel that basically offers you a room to rest your head and not much else. The rooms are a decent size, and have a working air conditioner a TV and an inroom safe, and a fridge.

The bathrooms are also quite large offering a massive shower, which was tricky to operate, with there being a button in the middle of the pipe that needs to be held in for a few seconds after the taps have been turned on. I have no idea what that was about but after that water flowed just fine.

Now, there is a serious FUNKY smell in the room. i have no idea what it was and i did not complain about it cause we were not in our room enough for it to bother me. when returning to the room, there was a strong smell of something, kind of like 'Rotten EGG' it was not only in our room as our fellow travel buddies experienced the same unique FUNKY smell. it was an offensive smell. But we open the window turned on the fan sprayed some deodorant and the problem was solved, until we left and returned again... then the procedure of masking the smell was required again.

There is a WiFi through out the complex just ask at the counter for all of the codes as there is more then one WiFi access point depending on where you are in the hotel.

Across the very narrow road (or path) there is a convenience store with a very good variety, at good priced. here you can purchase any thing from smokes, to Beer, to washing liquid, even fruit and veggies. its basically a supermarket.

There is a self serve Laundry mat about 100 Meters from the hotel for those that require some clean cloths, we used it and it worked just fine at reasonable prices. Of course if your not the type to clean your own cloths on vacation, Then across the road from the laundry mat there is a laundry service, which will deliver your freshly cleaned and pressed cloths to your room at the hotel.

Staff was fine with us, and although did not assist us to our rooms, i found not many places i stayed in Central america was i assisted with my bags. But that was no big deal for us, but it would appear some travellers are looking for this type of experience. If thats the case then this hotel wont assist with bags. The staff were able to help us out with some activities and pointed us in to the right directions for some good fun. So as far as staff goes i think they were great. rooms were cleaned daily, the complex was clean enough. Although due to being on the sandy island there is sand in the lobby from peoples shoes or feet, this i imagine is unavoidable. There is a roof top terrace, which is nice for some photo opportunities or if you care for some take away food and chill out away from the noise up on the roof top.

In Caye Caulker you wont really require any shoes or flip flops, bare feet is the way its done on this island, just watch out for the crabs. We went across the road from the hotel to hire a Golf Buggy, for around US$60 for a day, although the island is small, driving around was quite fun.

Over all i enjoyed our stay here other then the FUNKY smell that was in the rooms. Staff were nice, and prices are good. i found that being in the centre of the island was better then staying on the beaches as the wind wasn't as strong here. there is no restaurant or bar here, so you will have to go out and find some where to eat, but there are many good places to eat on the main strip. Coffee is available only in the mornings here and you'll have to make it your self in the lobby.

Happy and safe travels, be sure to visit Wish Willy's for a GREAT meal.

Simon from
Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked this hotel mainly based on reasonable price for king bed with AC. Turned out this location is right around the corner from all the main things to do/see/eat on Caye Caulker. Also, the king bed with awesome pillows provided the best rest we had in weeks. The AC worked great, the TV was fine, the room was spacious, clean and in general very comfortable. Staff was friendly, although young and apparently somewhat inexperienced. An elevator to get to the 3rd floor with heavy bags would be nice, and there was some construction going on during the day, but they waited to do their loud work until a reasonable hour. We enjoyed the roof deck very much!

Room Tip: Lower floors due to lack of elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetogo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel is all you can ask for in Caye Caulker; the location is brilliant (1 block from both the dock and and the restaurant area) though the island is so small everything is just a few blocks away. The staff were helpful and the air conditioning in the room is a huge advantage, as it really gets hot in Caye Caulker. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The hotel had a nice rooftop patio to watch the sunset. The price is very reasonable for what you get, and they provide towels for your snorkelling trip. All in all, a very good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsgToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

You know what makes a good sleep even better-a good pillow-best I've had in quite a long time-the shower is pretty great too-you can't go wrong with the location as the Caye is quite small. The only complaint the air conditioner dripped water everywhere and dripped all night. The roof top terrace is great for the sunset

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel is off the main drag, but it was a great place to stay. It was clean and friendly. The A/C worked great. The room we had was with a balcony and i must say watching the sunset was awesome would definitely go back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UConnRescue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The picture of this hotel that I saw on the Internet made it look pleasant but in person it is a drab, boxy, concrete bunker-like building, different from the many brightly colored light houses that dot this wonderful tropical island. It is located on a corner that is neither pretty or charming, several blocks from the water with no water views that I could see. Though the hotel is larger than most here the only staff I laid eyes on was a clerk who wordlessly checked us in and calmly watched us drag our bags up the stairs. The hallway to the room was dark and the room had an institutional feel. We met another couple who were as disappointed as we were. The guy told me that in retrospect he realizes that he chose the hotel for a silly reason - because it popped up so often on hotel search engines. I realized I had made the same mistake. Somehow I thought that indicated it was a good hotel. I would recommendation to other travelers that they search off the beat and track on the Internet or spend some time looking at guide books before you book a hotel because it keeps popping up on searches. Most of the accommodations in Caye Caulker are small places that won't appear on the major hotel search engines. When we decided to switch hotels, we found there was lots of room. We found a great place at about the same price but with charm, local character and lots of friendly local staff and we plan to come back in July.

Room Tip: We did not like our room and the clerk told us there were none that were better in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldfairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed in March, 2013 for 5 nights. Corner room on 3rd floor; great A/C, quiet, and very clean room. Friendly front desk staff and nice bathroom with great shower. No amenities in hotel but everything's a short walk. Tip: rent a bike to get around the island!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are great, otherwise get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
124 reviews
12.4 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#32 of 55 in San Pedro
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £51 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Caye Caulker. All our rooms are fully air-conditioned, equipped with cable TV, mini fridge and hot and cold shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing