We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great bargain”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Desk staff acted as concierges, everyone smiling & helpful. Walking distance to split & all great restaurants. Lobster at Enjoy excellent. Great shower. Clean comfortable beds.
Supermarket across street. Quiet rooms. Good coffee.
Simple digs with fantastic service.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if travel with friends. 1st floor if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minookajoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    111
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
105
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a really nice and simple hotel.. The beds were great and the shower amazing. Staff very friendly and is situated in authentic feeling neighborhood. It's not super close to the beach but there are really nice beach views, especially on the roof top hang out area...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooperdooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked one night before new year eve so we were quite happy to find a room for $100 USD A NIGHT as all the hotels and hostels were fully booked. BOOK BEFORE IN PEAK TIME. The room was clean and comfortable. No bugs no spiders or cockroaches either! The bathroom was quite modern (compared to others we found in central america) and the bed was comfortable. The only issue we had was the air con was leaking. The only solution they gave us was to put a towel on the floor and use the bin as a bucket. The hotel was full so we couldn't change rooms. You have a tv, fridge, safe aand wifi in the room. There is a balcony but not really agreeable to stay to long as it is close to a noisy factory (not sure) but inside the room it wasn't so noisy.
The hotel is characterless for some, it is just a hotel in a concrete building comparing to the cabanas or colorful ones that you can see on the island but if you look for a clean safe and comfortable place to sleep book it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our 12 day cruise of the reef was cancelled the evening before our flight to CC. We had reserved 4 nights at Seaside Cabanas to get acclimated and do some snorkeling before the cruise from Belize City. Seaside Cabanas had one additional night available but was booked beyond that. They were able to find two other lodgings for us that had 11 nights. We looked at both and chose the Plaza, not on the beach but just two blocks away and an excellent value. Our third floor corner room had a very comfortable king bed, small refrigerator, TV, quiet AC, private bath and a safe large enough for laptop, 2 binoculars, 2 cameras and 2 Kindles. The staff was friendly and helpful as were the other guests. There were college kids, young couples and retired seniors like ourselves staying at the Plaza. Lots of activity but always quiet at night. A grocery store and five eating places less than 1/2 block away made it ideal for us. The roof top provided sunset photo opps and clothes line with sun and a breeze.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

As we were staying in high season we found it hard to secure a hotel so settled on this. On an island full of funky, colourful and fun looking accommodation, this hotel is serviceable but lacking in charm. Basic, concrete construction, small room, deck that overlooked the street with no chairs (this was the "premium room" which included a deck). The worst part that is about a block from some kind of industrial building that emitted a generator like noise 24/7. It eventually becomes white noise after a few days but was not pleasant at all. Other than that the hotel is well located although not on the water, but is near all the "action". The staff were all very nice and pleasant, the maids kept the room clean and the king bed (again - "premium") was very comfortable. Not a place I would stay again given the number of alternatives on the island.

Room Tip: Perhaps there are rooms farther from the noise producing area?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I were on the 3rd floor. 307 for memory. Pretty standard hotel and friendly staff but the reason for 5 stars is the bed. Big king bed and was so soft and comfy. Have read some other reviews about dark hallways and what not but come on, who spends more than 30 seconds in the hallway. Get out in to the town and enjoy yourself. We were also surprised by a beautifully decorated swan with rose petals and candles on our last night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel from dec 11 to 20th. the room i was in 109 had a fairly strong mold smell. i did not see any mold but could smell it. overall the room looked clean and tv air worked fine when i took the room. i had to ask for clean towels and soap as these were not replenished by maid service. the sheets werent changed until i took them off the bed and left them on the floor.
overall i wish the maid service would have replenished things . i did notice the cleaning staff constantly cleaning the hallways and overall the hotel seemed very clean. no bugs or dirty floors.
the front desk staff were helpful and assisted setting up a couple of tours i went on.

the location of the hotel was not the best. it was one block from the power generation station and i could here the diesel generators running from the hotel.
also it rained most days i was there and the road in front of the hotel as well as most of the island was very hard to get around in because of the water in the streets. finally sand bags were put along the edges of the streets and there was a way to walk around out of the water. for some reason the water seemed to settle around the hotel and linger there longer than on other streets.
i would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
12.0 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Property: Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Address: Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Caye Caulker. All our rooms are fully air-conditioned, equipped with cable TV, mini fridge and hot and cold shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing