We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, terrible staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, terrible staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

the hotel itself is pretty good, though the rooms are small and cramped. nice garden area with small pool, though it doesn't get much direct sun. free wi-fi. tv in the room but it didn't really work. based on the above, I'd stay there again. However, the staff are something else - rude, cheap, unfriendly. They have no concept of customer service and seem to almost resent having to deal with their customers. Every request or question was met with a scowl. Straight out rude. And if you order anything from their restaurant/store expect to be scammed - my friend ordered sweet & sour fish. It was tasty enough but the sauce came in a separate tiny bowl. When she asked for more sauce (coz there was not nearly enough for the amount of fish provided) they said she had to pay extra for it! I'd understand if she asked for more fish, but for the sauce!? When we asked for ice for our drinks, which they got from the attached store (which is owned/run by the same family) they charged us for it.
Purely due to the unpleasant staff I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    61
    43
    54
See reviews for
16
68
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on an Intrepid tour - felt like a jail cell, springs sticking out of bed. You can do better at another hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krn_staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel that shares absolutely no chareteristics with the island then this is the place for you. Whoever thought a yellow block of flats would look good next to beach villas and chalets was a blind man. I felt jealous looking at people tanning themselves outside their hotels and villas and realised I had made a mistake by booking three nights up front at the backstreet china town hotel.

To be honest sleeping on the beach would have been more comfortable and a damn site cleaner. I think a cracked out alley in new York would have been too. The shower was rusty and smelly with barely any control in temperature and rock hard towels to scrape the sun burn off your back afterwards. The ac was about as affective as an old man wheezing on the back of your kneck whilst you sleep plus it went haywire in the night and constantly bleeped. Avoid this place as best you can and spend a little extra and stay somewhere that actually embraces the island life.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panther3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at china town hotel for 3 nights and Believe me that was 3 days too long. The staff have no customer service and on arrival took our money up front and then had to be reminded to give us a room key as she started talking to her colleague, forgetting all about us. Once up to the room it was no better. The remote for the tv did not work and all the sheets and towels were stained. The top sheet was on the corner of the bed in a heap and not made. The whole stay was horrible. The kettle took ages to heat up, along with the shower. There are plenty of nicer places to stay on the island. I would not advise anyone to stay here, the price definitely does not compensate for the service and horrors of the room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belizeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

It's not fabulous. But it's fine if your looking for basic accommodation with comforts like air conditioning and tv. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The basic problem here is a lack of care & attention - with a bit of love & an attempt to provide some service with a smile it could be a winner.
Here with a group using 6 rooms - everyone has complained about something. Our room was crazy small so upgraded for $20 US a night to very large room with 2 double beds.
I dont know how it compares in price to other places - many of which look very basic - but the air con is included ( but check that out first) it has wifi (erratically) - it is meant to have hot water, it has a kettles- allow 10 mins to boil.
Our beds are really firm - Thai style - we love them but many won't . One couple had to move cos beds had no springs & were crazy soft.
The restaurant looks like a place to avoid at all costs. One small example of the l
ack of interest was that when we arrived & wanted cold Red Stripes we settled for Light as woman said it was all they had. It was only later that I realised they own the supermarket next door - which has a connecting door - so our beer of choice was but a few paces away. It's not a big deal but it highlights a lack of care.
Sheets were nice & some of the towels too :)

Room Tip: Don't have a "common room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The experience I had my first night was that the hotel maid stole my camera. When I brought it up to the woman at the front counter, she denied that this was even possible. I let this go thinking that this may have been an anomaly. Finally, when I checked out I needed to get help verifying my flight times and information. The woman at the counter tried telling me that they didn't make outgoing calls. Once I told her I've seen them make calls she then told me that since I checked out she wouldn't help me. Just another note, they had their Chinese flag flying at full mast above the Belize flag on the adjacent flagpole. To me this was a perfect example of how disrespectful and arrogant the people at this hotel were.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#21 of 32 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panchos Villas
Panchos Villas
#9 of 29 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Property: China Town Hotel
Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing