We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a prison visit”
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #30 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2012

terrible rooms that look more like prison cells than island hotel, this place was set up to make money with out much thought of who would be staying there , had the misfortune of staying there 1 night got out quick the next day, they did not fill the required form for income tax so one has to wonder there motives.taxi driver from doc getting kick back to take you there

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

This motel is located above a Chinese restaurant. The lobby always smelled horrible. Our room was on the third floor with one king bed. The bed was very hard, and did not have a proper fitted sheet, so you would wake up laying on an exposed mattress. The location is a short walk from the coast. The service was not friendly. We went downstairs to get a bottle of water at 9:30 and a few of the girls working were all down stairs on the computer. When we asked to get a bottle of water, they didn't look up from the computer screen and said they were closed, go down the street. Thanks ladies...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogibritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

the hotel itself is pretty good, though the rooms are small and cramped. nice garden area with small pool, though it doesn't get much direct sun. free wi-fi. tv in the room but it didn't really work. based on the above, I'd stay there again. However, the staff are something else - rude, cheap, unfriendly. They have no concept of customer service and seem to almost resent having to deal with their customers. Every request or question was met with a scowl. Straight out rude. And if you order anything from their restaurant/store expect to be scammed - my friend ordered sweet & sour fish. It was tasty enough but the sauce came in a separate tiny bowl. When she asked for more sauce (coz there was not nearly enough for the amount of fish provided) they said she had to pay extra for it! I'd understand if she asked for more fish, but for the sauce!? When we asked for ice for our drinks, which they got from the attached store (which is owned/run by the same family) they charged us for it.
Purely due to the unpleasant staff I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on an Intrepid tour - felt like a jail cell, springs sticking out of bed. You can do better at another hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krn_staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel that shares absolutely no chareteristics with the island then this is the place for you. Whoever thought a yellow block of flats would look good next to beach villas and chalets was a blind man. I felt jealous looking at people tanning themselves outside their hotels and villas and realised I had made a mistake by booking three nights up front at the backstreet china town hotel.

To be honest sleeping on the beach would have been more comfortable and a damn site cleaner. I think a cracked out alley in new York would have been too. The shower was rusty and smelly with barely any control in temperature and rock hard towels to scrape the sun burn off your back afterwards. The ac was about as affective as an old man wheezing on the back of your kneck whilst you sleep plus it went haywire in the night and constantly bleeped. Avoid this place as best you can and spend a little extra and stay somewhere that actually embraces the island life.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed at china town hotel for 3 nights and Believe me that was 3 days too long. The staff have no customer service and on arrival took our money up front and then had to be reminded to give us a room key as she started talking to her colleague, forgetting all about us. Once up to the room it was no better. The remote for the tv did not work and all the sheets and towels were stained. The top sheet was on the corner of the bed in a heap and not made. The whole stay was horrible. The kettle took ages to heat up, along with the shower. There are plenty of nicer places to stay on the island. I would not advise anyone to stay here, the price definitely does not compensate for the service and horrors of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belizeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

It's not fabulous. But it's fine if your looking for basic accommodation with comforts like air conditioning and tv. It was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#9 of 34 in Caye Caulker
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#29 of 33 in Caye Caulker
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing