We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had checked first on trip advisor”
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Travelled for 3 months thru Mexico & Guatamala and stayed at this hotel, worst run hotel ever.
The staff were very unhelpful, extremely unfriendly, they just want your money. Get a receipt for every payment otherwise they will lie and say you have not paid. We had to trawl thru 3 hours of cctv to prove we had paid and received a curt apology.
Many other places available don't stay at this one, other reviews say it all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Part of a tour so not here by choice. This hotel was terrible, smelt like mothballs, towels and sheets threadbare. Intermittent wifi that dropped out all the time. Sad dogs tied up all day out the back,them barked all night. Many hotels on the island at a similar rte that are much more comfortable and cleaner by far. This was the worst hotel of our tour :-(

Room Tip: Don't think there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

As we stayed here as part of a tour group we didn't have much choice but to stay however some others in our group left and found something clean, quiet and in an awesome location for only $10 more.
Our room was super small, had wet old towels in it when we checked in and smelt like moth balls? It wasn't the greatest.
The location is bad, away from everything and their is a bar downstairs which attracts the local town drunks. There is no way I would stay here if I wasn't on the tour.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We arrived here on our tour.

To start off, the lobby smells like a dead body. The casino/bar smells like a urinal. Once we got up to the designated room, we were warned that the room wasn't clean yet. We looked around and I saw that there were gross stains everywhere.

We were given a new room on the ground floor. The new room had a filthy carpet, dead cockroach right in the open as soon as you walk in. The Chinese market around the corner from the hotel keeps dogs in the courtyard tied to the benches all day. Once night arrives, they bark all night. When we complained politely along with other hotel guests, we were given the rudest attitude back. In the one night we've been here, we've seen two live cockroaches. The air conditioning is not even close to par. To top off the situation, the beds smelled like a sweaty man had been laying there all day.

Over all, I'd highly recommend anyone avoid this establishment at all costs.

Caye caulker is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xikuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Cockroaches in our room, clothes from previous guests, dirty walls and towels. Dogs tied up in the yard barking all night. Service was unfriendly and awful. There was a pool at least but there is a pub right behind that is very noisy. Our AC didn't work it just blew warm air and cut off after half an hour. Do not stay here at all costs!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almirawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The hotel is at the far end of town and this is not the best area. The rooms are a good size and looked okay in the afternoon but the bar on the main level is noisy and attracts a lot of locals who drink till all hours and then scream and yell at each other in the streets. We stayed 4 nights (because we had no choice!) and didn't get much sleep. The room was not cleaned every day which is a problem when the used toilet paper sits in the waste basket because it cannot not be flushed! The management/front desk staff were not at all helpful. Don't spoil your time in paradise by staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay over the front street. The B rooms at the back are more for the hostel crowd but may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel was nothing at all you expect from a hotel. The rooms smelled very bad, the airconditioning was not working and on top of it all, there is a bar on the ground level of the hotel playing very very loud music whole day long untill late in the night for the 3 guests in there; all rooms on the 2nd floor can ' enjoy' this music !?!!?
After complaining about all this, they did nothing at all. In the end we left. The staff was not willing to refund our payment.
Do not stay here if you like a good stay at Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#8 of 32 in Caye Caulker
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#29 of 32 in Caye Caulker
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panchos Villas
Panchos Villas
#10 of 32 in Caye Caulker
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing