We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, but Lacking Charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, but Lacking Charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in a decent double room with en suite. Nothing spectacular but it was clean enough and everything worked. There is a small pool which we thought was OK despite some of the bad stories on here. Overall the place is basic but fine if, like us, you couldn't find anywhere more inspiring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    60
    43
    54
See reviews for
16
68
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

A very disappointing hotel on a beautiful island. The quality of the rooms varies enormously so if you can, check them out first. Some of our group had spacious clean airy rooms: ours was the pits! It was on the ground floor, dirty and unkempt. I had to get a guy in to rescue me from the cockroaches! The room wasn't cleaned for the two nights we were there - not even the loo paper bin was emptied - yuck! Trying to get clean towels out of them was like asking for the moon.

Room Tip: Check out your room before you check in - they vary enormously
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I found this to be an average hotel. It was clean and the Aircon worked well. We had two beds and the linen was soft and clean. The bathroom was spacious and clean. I found the toilet seat was loose. More annoying than anything.
We stayed here with a G adventures tour group and most ppl seemed OK with the hotel, but its nothing crazy special. But its clean and bug free.
We accidentally locked our key in our room. For some reason they didn't have a 2nd key so they had to pick the lock. I would recommend the staff to get more keys! BUT I would say how greatful I am to the guy who came right up and worked on the door for 20 minutes to get it open.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

China Town is definitely the worst hotel on this otherwise lovely island. Our tour company (Intrepid) booked us here and I have no idea why as it's truly revolting, devoid of all charm and expensive. To call the rooms threadbare is being generous, the wifi doesn't work, the pool is gross, the location stinks and it is also serviced by the most unfriendly, miserable people I've met in Central America. They keep chained dogs and caged parrots in the baking heat all day without walking or caring for them. There are plenty of lovely alternatives to spend your time and money, do not stay in this dump run by mean people.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VoluptuaryG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

After reading the reviews I was dreading going to this hotel as part of our tour. When we checked in it was better than I had expected. We stayed in C17 which had two double beds and a lounge area, however we did see some of the other rooms which were very very small.

The bathroom was clean and the hot water worked fine. There are lockers available at the reception if you need to store valuables. The Chinese restaurant food was good and large portions for very cheap! There is also a large supermarket next door and a shared kitchen facility in the common area if you want to cook.

Two small points;
- The towels we were given did have some stains on them
- There are dogs tied up in the hotel common area, they are taken away at night so there was no barking but it is quite sad to see them tied up all day.

Room Tip: I believe rooms in the "C" section are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We arrived on the island of Caye Caulker and hadn't booked a hotel in advance. We wanted somewhere cheap with air conditioning and this hotel offered the best price. Hadn't read the reviews on Trip Advisor before staying here so was surprised to see they were so negative. The double room with en-suite we had was clean and comfortable, with AC, a fridge and a 42" TV with over 100 channels (mostly US - not that you will need to watch telly while on the island. Plenty of other things to do here!). The only downside for us was that internet was only available in the garden area and it was sporadic. Apart from that we thought it was good value for what we paid ($40USD per night).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Travelled for 3 months thru Mexico & Guatamala and stayed at this hotel, worst run hotel ever.
The staff were very unhelpful, extremely unfriendly, they just want your money. Get a receipt for every payment otherwise they will lie and say you have not paid. We had to trawl thru 3 hours of cctv to prove we had paid and received a curt apology.
Many other places available don't stay at this one, other reviews say it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.7 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#23 of 33 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panchos Villas
Panchos Villas
#7 of 28 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Property: China Town Hotel
Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing