We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if there was little else to chose from”
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not bad if there was little else to chose from”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here after a couple of other places I wanted were already booked. lets start with the bad. OK there was some construction going on but you can't help that, they are only trying to improve the property. They could update the linens and such. Hotel staff was grumpy but were helpful. I paid two weeks "upfront" and decided to go to another island after one week and couldn't get my second week that I paid for back. for this reason alone I will never return. The good points. Clean, Safe, large rooms to spread my gear out to dry after a dive. the have a store attached to it that has pretty much everything. not a bad location (not on the water). Dry, hot water. It may be a little over priced for what it is, but after travelling there alone I must say it wasn't bad. Yes Ive stayed at better, but I have also stayed at a lot worse. Other than the Money not being refunded for my second week would I stay there again? In a jam yes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    66
    44
    55
See reviews for
17
70
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrived on caye caulker as the heavens opened & gettin dark, we were hijacked by James who v kindly brought us to the china town, had us all checked in and paid for 3 nights before we knew what we were doing - Beware:-) u get a discount If u pay upfront.
Had a meal there which was ok, too wet to go anywhere else.
Room was basic but ok, construction work started next door early, not v nice.
Reception staff were v grumpy & unhelpful.
For such a cute island would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

the room was big with a fridge and water cooler and a tv and air conditioning BUT there were undentifiable stains on one bed sheet and blood spots on the pillow slip. yuk.
ongoing building work at the moment didn't add to the ambience - they start at 8 and finish when it gets dark. ok if you're out during the day.
3 little rabbits in a 2 foot square wire cage hanging under tree - not sure of their purpose.
couldn't recommend

Room Tip: you need to check the rooms before committing to staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Unfortunately me and my girlfriend didn't book a hostel ahead of when we got to caye caulker in true travellers style. We regret this as lots of places were booked up in a place that wasn't familiar to us at the time.

We ended up coming across china town hotel and just going for it as it was dark and we were tired. We stayed 3 nights where they reduced the price down to $33US / night for a room that was clean with two double beds (definitely didn't need that) and a fan. If you want A/C, just stand in the front reception for a few seconds.

The bed sheets were changed every day but you're lucky if the bins get the same attention.

The kitchen you can use is pretty small for the amount of people using it, so it was hard to be able to cook at night, we ended up eating out every night because of this. It was also pretty grubby and not really any useful utensils to use. But the island is definitely the place where you should eat out and sample some amazing snapper, grouper and lobster dishes if you want a treat!

The main reason I wouldn't want to spend anymore money staying at this hotel is that it's a real eye-sore to the island. A big ugly concrete building that is completely out of place.

Now we know the island better, we would have loved to have got a place at Yuma's hostel which is right on the beach and looks good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Came here because the taxidriver told us it was a good deal, and others were closed at the time our boat arrived.. NOT TRUE, scam. They have a deal with hotels. Hotel is dirty, loud bar till 12 and they had constructionwork just next to our room. Left after one night, even when we booked 3 because of the discount.... They did offer us another room, but we looked for clean and rest not the size.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polkonroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed her in December of 2012. We came to Caye Caulker for scuba diving. After we paid upfront for a week, we found out that the door to out room did not lock and the noise at night was a continuous racket. We moved to another room which cost more, but the roosters and dogs from the adjoining yard were as bad if not worse than before. When we again asked about moving to a more quiet room, we felt intimidated but a group of rough looking guys sitting at the front desk.

Room Tip: The worst rooms cost almost as much as the better rooms, try to get a room along the left side balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grand t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in a decent double room with en suite. Nothing spectacular but it was clean enough and everything worked. There is a small pool which we thought was OK despite some of the bad stories on here. Overall the place is basic but fine if, like us, you couldn't find anywhere more inspiring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#27 of 32 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panchos Villas
Panchos Villas
#9 of 30 in Caye Caulker
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#22 of 30 in Caye Caulker
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Property: China Town Hotel
Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing