We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only visit if you buy the best room”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Only visit if you buy the best room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with tucan travel tours and were initially really disappointed. The average room was tiny no window very dated or pokey mould on walls holes in sheets. Only when we kept complaining did we get upgraded to a lovely recently refurbished room. Unfortunately only 2 other members of the group got the upgrade as well. Caged rabbits and building work 8til late just finished us off really.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    61
    43
    54
See reviews for
16
68
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The rooms are basic (but clean) and their windows are too small to let in much natural light, but they're spacious enough. The best thing about this hotel was staying in one of the 2 penthouse rooms on the great roof terrace. If you can get one of those, you're laughing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyDiamond85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We didn't have high hopes for the China Town Hotel after reading previous reviews. We had heard that the renovations were supposed to be finished in Jan but on arrival it looked like they weren't even close.
We were shown to our room, a "matrimonial" on the third floor, which was... pretty awful. It was small and dingey and I guess lucky for us... completely uncleaned. The bed looked like it had just been slept in and there was food and other stuff left behind.
I went downstairs to complain and in the process got an upgrade to a newer room up the top. A little bit of an extra walk but who cares - this room was miles apart from the other. It was huge - two big beds and clean. The bathroom was also clean and new and it was great.
I think we'd have been really disappointed and slightly horrified if we had to stay in the previous room, but luck was on our side so our stay ended up being pleasant.
Wifi was fantastic - not sure if that was across the board or just our location.
Being Caye Caulker the hotel wasn't far from anything so you can walk everywhere...including the the bakery on 2nd Street - do yourself a favour and go there!
We stayed three nights on Caye Caulker but it wasn't enough!
I don't think I'd take the risk of going back to this hotel unless I knew I was getting one of the new rooms though.
Also pool was still being renovated which was a shame!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brione sopra Minusio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is under construction for renewal.
Our room was definitely good for the price. Functional and with a lot of space.
Roof terrace very nice.
Restaurant is to avoid.. Definitely much better places can be found by a 2 minutes walk from the hotel..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank churchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a room on the top floor which was excellent. I did pop my head into some other rooms, and I could see there was significant differences in room quality

Positives
- Our room was excellent (other rooms likely to get negative comments tho)

Negatives
- Building works were a pain, noise, etc
- Pool out of action (and will be for at least another 1-2 months, they have major works in flight)
- Staff not all that helpful
- Safety deposit lockers didn't have very good security, they kept the key and seemed to hand key out to whoever asked for it (and you couldn't double lock with your own lock, as I often do in this scenario)

If our room had been poor , I would have given this hotel 1* or 2*

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, maybe even have a look at a few rooms, there's significant variation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was my only option since it was high season. They charge way too much for being away from the beach! When you walk in the receptionist does not look like she wants you there. I asked her if they have a pool, they said yes. Once I way OVER-paid for 4 nights they inform me that the pool is closed for renovation! Really! Thanks for disclosing that ahead of time lol. The rooms are blah, nothing special. They at least have A/C and tv. But the condition is dirty and grimmy. The water pressure is not existent, the white walls look grimmy and nasty, like a truck stop bathroom that you dont want to touch! The beds are ok. The major problem I had is teh renovations. They start at 8 am and end at 6 pm! So dont try to sleep in with hammering and arguing going on all day! The cleaning ladies are nice as hell and pleasant, probably from the fact that they do not really do much cleaning and are not stressed out to hurry and do a good job, lol. I paid for 4 nighst but moved out after two and had to get credit to shop at the chinese store next door. That is where the "un-friendly" lady upfront came through for me. She will do what she can to help, she just has an unfriendly initial appearance.

Room Tip: Yeah, go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devildog0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

If we could give this hotel 1/2 a star we would. That 1/2 star only for location, having a bed and a roof!!

Pros.
1. Well located - opposite a pharmacy, supermarket and off the Main Street.

Cons.
1. Unfriendly staff.
2. Dirty sheets and towels - each with stains.
3. Broken shower. Hot ran constantly.
4. Not enough toilet roll.
5. No hangers in wardrobe.
6. Very little natural light.
7. Noisy due to casino on ground floor.
8. Room wasn't cleaned or tidied every day.
9. Had to request our room to be cleaned at reception which is also the restaurant and bar area.
10. Some of our party were so dissatisfied they opted to book separate accommodation on the island.
11. Building works - noisy, dusty.
12. Intermittent wifi.
13. Power cut due to building works.

We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Our tour guide was embarrassed by the standard but unfortunately informed us that hotels for larger groups are extremely limited on the island.

I would recommend a beach shack on the Main Street or by the beaches!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#23 of 32 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panchos Villas
Panchos Villas
#9 of 29 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Property: China Town Hotel
Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing