We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
China Town Hotel
Ranked #30 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We travelled as part of an Intrepid tour and raised concerns with our tour guide after we read the other reviews. If Intrepid acted on this, then well done them - if not then even better as there was no cause for concern
We found the rooms clean, tidy, comfortable - we felt safe throughout our stay even after reading some reviews that said they would feel safer staying on the beach? Yes we did have someone chatting outside our room on the last of the 3 nights - but this was a communal area. I asked the lad to move on to which he politely done. Again on the last day there was rubbish left in the corridors - but guess what, the cleaners were cleaning the area and were centralising this before taking it out. The rubbish must have been there for no more than 10 minutes - again nothing to complain about.
We stayed in room 404 and while this is near the top of the hotel and away from the pool area (which is there regardless of reviews that say it is not) and the budget rooms I still think the hotel staff performed well and the hotel was a pleasant place to stay.
We were not looking for 5* accommodation, but equally we did not want a hostel - we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel after the reviews and would stay here again.
A supermarket is next door, they serve food and it is not that far a walk to the main area in Caye Caulker.
The only thing negative to say, and I say it tongue in cheek - we were given a remote control for the wrong TV type. We took it back to reception and they changed it for the correct one. If this is all we have to complain about then we are doing well.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors - 400's or 500's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin7452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    33
    66
    46
    57
See reviews for
18
70
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The most rude staff I've seen in my life. Threatened with police because of a broken silver pot lid in a kitchen for trying to talk to them about a crazy fine of 40 USD for a lid that was already broken.

STAY AWAY LIKE FIRE

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed in one of the higher rooms - large, clean and comfortable.
Pool is small but hotel has other advantages like attached supermarket and communal kitchen.
Views from the roof are great.
Staff helpful
The rooms vary in quality but all out group had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is located a short walk from the ferry off the main road and is fairly quiet depending on room. We stayed for three days in Room 309 and after 5 power failures to the air conditioning -this is Belize-were moved to 218. Initial impressions are good but everything is of the lowest quality and design
TV -ok for CNN cartoons, Fancy glass basin in bathroom but wrong taps barely go over lip so cant wash hands, shower very fine spray if at all. Shower floor highly glazed and slippy-no mat .Big room -fridge framed in -but no place for a case. King size bed but frame broken. The best was yet to come . In 218 there is a good quality toughed door with no hanndle between the bedroom and bathroom but an 8 foot section of wall was MISSING- in its place a curtain rail and curtains. No water to Room- Bedding -we were advised had run out-this is a 50 bedroom hotel- I went to the fourth floor laundry room and 'acquired' some. A nice US lady was asking where she could buy some towels for her room The fish tank in the lobby is grubby with two sad fish and is sited next to the sleazy slot machine mens bar. Same for the fish in the token Japanese garden. Wifi signal is best on staircase . This hotel is ranked 28 out of 29-it should be bottom.

Room Tip: From our group-6 rooms-311 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay could have been better. Front staff were not friendly or helpful. Our room was not properly made before we checked in, no towels, stains on the bed linen and the toilet had the last persons business in it!!!! We're told we had wifi when we checked in but later when i went to ask about it not working i was told it was 'down' for the duration of our stay. Waaaaay over priced for what you get!! Gutted as this was suppose to be our 'splurge' treat whilst back packing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tregena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed at the China Town on several occasions with large groups through an organization. It is one of the cheapest hotels on the Caye, but there is a reason. In the 4 times I have stayed here, I have seen toilets overflowing sewage into the rooms (while people were stuck in the bathroom as the door would not open), A/Cs shut off and not work, water pressure completely stop (like no water comes out at all), and the power just blow out, leaving the rooms very very hot. No money was refunded and nothing was done about these incidents at any point.

Another thing, the China Town rents out hourly rooms and it appears that they run a prostitution business out of their hotel. I have walked into multiple rooms that were "ready", only to find condems, glitter, and trash all over. The sheets are stained and soiled. The place is very dark and has an evil feel. I can not say enough about how you should never come here. I will never take anyone to this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floors have a better view, but the water often doesn't reach the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustusRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

For the price that you pay in this place, it's pretty much 'flash packer' luxury! There are different rooms for different prices but all have a/c, TV, fan and amazing little touches like razors, soap, mosquito repellent machine thing (not sure how you call those things). Wifi is fast, the pool area is smashing with a super comfy covered area and there are stunning views from the common area upstairs (right up the top). The staff in reception are lovely and helpful. The cleaning ladies are really nice and rooms are cleaned daily! And the clincher? I come back every 8-10 weeks and it's always nice to arrive. People who travel with me for 49 days throughout Central America class this hotel as one of their favorites.

Room Tip: 502 and 501 are my favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panchos Villas
Panchos Villas
#11 of 31 in Caye Caulker
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#7 of 31 in Caye Caulker
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Property: China Town Hotel
Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — China Town Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to China Town Hotel, located on one of Belize's most peaceful island, Caye Caulker. Our hotel offers a quality of service that will appeal to all sectors of the guests. From the moment you step into our reception area, you will be greeted by our courteous and friendly staff members that will offer you all the service that you will need to make you feel right. China Town Hotel is a very short walking distance from one of the main entry of the island. The water taxi terminal. It's also a block away from the captivating waters of the Caribbean Sea. Many of the main business are only minutes away from our location such as the local bank with ATM, Pharmacy, BTL, Caye Caulker Airport and golf cart rentals. We are also one of the few hotels that have their own restaurant and supermarket and bar. Perhaps, it's the simple pleasures that will delight you the most, if you can take advantage of the roof top that's fully equipped with relaxing lounge chairs. Just lay back and soak up some of that Belizean Sun Shine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing