We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best atmosphere for dinner”

Wish Willy - Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Barbecue, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best atmosphere for dinner”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The atmosphere was the best here. We were welcomed in straight away, drinks appeared immediately and we were more than happy to take menu suggestions, everything sounded so good. The food was very tasty and as we were staying at CCC down the road it was easy to wobble home after a good feed and a lot of rum punch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sezabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    129
    66
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Class Cusine At Homeboy Prices”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

One of Caye Caulkers most popular hotspot is The Wish Willy Restaurant. Chef Maurice Moore can cook just about anything and his personal touch and down home style brings the best out in every meal he prepares. The classically trained chef has brought a bit of Le Cordon Bleu to the island of Caye Caulker and of the country of Belize. This little spot on Caye Caulker is a must visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filmbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
156 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Final farewell meal in Caye Caulker - did not disappoint!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had our final dinner in Caye Caulker at Wish Willy's. We've been here for 8 days, kee seeing his sign, keep hearing others talk about it and couldn't leave w/o trying his place. We were not disappointed.

Everything on the menu was $7.50 US dollars. Meat, veggies and rice were included w/ all meals. Large portions and we stayed long enough that free drinks appeared on multiple occasions compliments of Willy himself.

Fun atmosphere in his front yard w/ tables, lights, candles and even his 3 dogs after dinner was served. Perhaps our favorite meal all week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must-do experience on caye caulker”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The caye caulker slogan of "go slow" is epitomised at wish willy's. Can't get anymore chilled out in the backyard with food on barbecue, maurice wandering around with a beer in his hand talking to everyone. Even got free cervasa somehow. Great food! Great atmosphere!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
430 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Simple, like a backyard BBQ”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As a matter of fact, is it a backyard BBQ. Portions small, drinks homemade and from a plastic pitcher, and sporadic mismatched ambiance, but worth the $10USD for a standard meal with free well drinks. Fun, young and reminds me of a backpackers version of a restaurant. Willy and his help are unique, funky and Avante Guard! Walk by after 6:30, you might like what you see. Plan on sharing a table with strangers and making new friends. Kind of like a Youth Hostel out for dinner. Enjoy! And get the Jerk Chicken!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wish Willy - Bar & Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Wish Willy - Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing