We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken on the island”
Review of Syd's

Syd's
Ranked #34 of 94 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Liberty, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best chicken on the island”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Walking by Syd's on day the owner & I struck up a conversation - he claimed they had the best chicken on the island. That evening I decided to check it out. He was right, not only hte best on the island but one of the best fried chicken meals I've had in years. The dining area was delightful - an outside patio in the back. The food was very good and plentiful, the service was friendly and fast. Other than the lighting being less than adequate the dining experience was very good. The dim lighting wasn't reason enough to keep me from going back for a second visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maine_Wu-Wei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    123
    41
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Fried Chicken”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

low price and good food.. look on 2nd street near water taxi. recommend for lunch and dinner. Garnaches very good as well

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JResvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Great food at amazing prices!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were drawn to Syd's by the amazing smell of barbeque. Unfortunately, we got there after they were already sold out of the Saturday-night special BBQ chicken. We had the fried chicken, shrimp kebobs, extra fries, a beer and a water for 22 USD. Pretty unbeatable! The food was great and the atmosphere in the backyard is very chill. We really liked Syd's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissAmyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I don't even like fried chicken but emptied my plate here.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Yep, normally hate the greasy stuff but this was really good.

Hands were not covered in grease , coating was crispy, not soggy and although it took a small wait to come out (we were told in advance it would be half an hour by the waitress/fine) it was a good and really cheap meal.

Thanks syds for showing me how good fried chicken can be, I still won't be eating it back at home though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best chicken, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went here for dinner on our last night on the island & wished we would have discovered it sooner! I went with a party of 4 and we all enjoyed our dishes but I think the big winner was the fried chicken. My boyfriend got a 2 piece meal of this and declared it the best friend chicken he has ever ate, so much so that he ordered another 4 pieces so that we could all try it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDawn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Syd's also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Syd's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing