We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, charming, friendly, comfortable”
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Could not recommend this place more. We stayed in courtyard room 3. It had a fridge, a/c, shower with hot water, very comfy bed.
They have a private dock on the west side of the island, which is great for a quiet swim and for watching the sunset.
Free quality bikes, wifi, breakfast, hammocks....
Proprietor was very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early due to a severe sun burn (bring your own sun screen, do not buy in Belize!) and she was understanding and fair even though we had reserved more nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILike2TravelHeaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Sea Dreams Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Sea Dreams hotel provided me with an authentic island experience during my six-day visit in March 2012. The rooms are island cozy, with old tile/brick floors, hot showers, small refrigerator, and ceiling fan. The beds were all hand-carved by a local craftsmen, and the sheets and pillows were top quality. Complimentary bottles of water provided upon arrival--a nice touch for thirsty travelers.

The excellent cross breezes through the windows kept the room cool most evenings, with a nice (and quiet) air conditioner if needed. All windows had decorative but secure iron grates and double locks, which really made me feel secure without blocking the view or the breezes.

I awakened each morning at sunrise to tropical birds and the occasional morning rain shower that lasted only long enough to moisten the sand courtyard.

Great little breakfast with fresh juice was served every morning—french toast and fruit one morning, eggs, beans, and fruit another, all served on the open rooftop dining area looking out towards the ocean.

No real "fitness center" at the resort, but who needs one when you spend your days diving and snorkeling. Plenty of one-speed bikes are available for your use (with bike locks)--which comes in handy for quick trips around the island.

Sea Dreams is the furthest north of all the hotels on Caye Caulker, which give special isolation and views. So many of the other hotels located closer to the center of the island feel much more exposed and noisy. For the real old fashioned Caye Caulker experience, Sea Dreams is your best option.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms were great (and a bit less expensive).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner and I had the good fortune to book "Sea Dreams" after seeing it in the Moon travel guide. Our water taxi broke down on the way there, but Stacey the manager stayed there until we were settled in our room. We stayed in number 3 in the court yard for 21 days during January 2012.

You can read the other reviews here to learn about the rooms, we looked under the sink, and dang, never did see a spider. LOL

We found the staff, Stacey, Anna, Aida, Merly, Maria Elena, andJeffry to be simply the best. From our first morning, we were treated with smiles and genuine caring. We consider them friends, and were treated like family, as well as getting to know their families.

These fine folks were a knowledgeable source of information and help. (we survived Chetamul and Tulum) thanks to their tips.

This all took place in January 2012, and by the end of the next month, returned to the island and rented an apt, knowing that we had friends locally.

The dock at Sea Dreams was the best place on the island to chill, swim, snorkel, fish, the staff friendly and informative, the free breakfast great...although the coffee pot seemed to take forever to brew.....

If I could give this 10 stars, it would be. Maybe bring up the average from the person who saw a spider. Again, other than the slow coffee pot, all else was perfect.

The high ratings will probably make it harder to book a room at this island treasure, but so it goes. Gotta tell the world about this outstanding staff, and outstanding experience.

Darn bed never did squeak!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nocona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a great four days at Sea Dreams, and from what we saw elsewhere this was one of the best places to stay on Caye Caulker.

When I first arrived I was slightly disappointed by the room itself (we had a courtyard room). It had everything we needed, but did feel a little cramped. However this was quickly made up by the litle extras in the room. We had a coffee maker, along with coffee/sugar/milk powder. There was a fridge and tv in the room. The bathroom had shower gel, etc.

Another bonus is the included breakfast, served on the rooftop terrace. An excellent way to start the day. The food was simple (and a little repetitive after four days), but also included real orange juice and coffee.

Above the rooftop terrace there is an even higher palapa with a couple of hammocks, perfect for an afternoon nap. And a couple of nights we sat on or next to the hotel pier to watch the sunset.

We also made use of the free bikes to take a tour of the island. Again, a nice extra touch to throw in.

Overall a great little hotel and highly recommended

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a bit small, so if you want more space choose one of the apartments.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

If genuinely warm and friendly owners and staff make all the difference, then Sea Dreams has it and almost gets to five stars on that alone. This is a delightful little place, as the other reviewers testify, though I’m puzzled why it should be listed under B&Bs and not Hotels on TA. A comfortable well-equipped room (TV, stocked fridge, loads of hot water) and a great, quiet location. Excellent wi-fi, good breakfast, varied each day. On three levels, so perfect to sit and read (or web-surf) either by the private dock (the tide can make for interesting swimming), on the ‘breakfast’ floor above, or up top catching a breeze (if not really a view).

But can’t help mentioning that our bed was creaky too; are all these comments about the same bed?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Sea Dreams is simply the perfect place to stay on CC. The staff is top-notch, the accommodations are in pristine condition, and the amenities are geared just right for the island (complimentary bike usage, canoes, outstanding breakfast, a refrigerator perpetually stocked with cold Belikin). Room 2 is large and nicely outfitted, conveniently located next to the office, and one can step out the front door and grab a golfcart taxi on their loop back from "the split". The courtyard is set about a very old and beautiful tree with immaculately kept plants all about. Sea Dreams murmurs in a soothing, oneiric voice of family, amity and island life. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a lovely time at Sea Dreams Hotel in February 2012 for our one year anniversary. The apartment was quite spacious with a combination kitchen and sitting room with table and chairs, a loveseat, a futon, plus a bathroom and bedroom with a queen sized bed (with awesome sheets!). It's a very quiet part of the island (except for the music coming from the bar a few blocks away during the day). And I always felt safe.

Reasons for coming: Great room with great amenities. Fabulous staff: Stacy and Anna at the front desk and the sweet housekeepers and awesome chef, Ida. Very nice owners who live next door. And the delicious complimentary breakfast cooked by Ida every morning on their rooftop patio. It had a partial view of the ocean and lovely ocean breezes. Oh, and Stacy knows everything about the island and was really helpful for figuring out what activities to do and how to go about getting it arranged!

For more details:

The kitchen was great. It had a refrigerator (stocked with beer and soda which you could purchase for less than the minimart price), stove, oven, microwave, coffee maker (plus complimentary filters, coffee, sugar, and creamer), a full compliment of dishes, glasses, and silverware, plus cooking implements and pots and pans and strainer. I made dinner 2 nights that we were there and the kitchen had everything I needed.

The bedroom had a ceiling fan plus a floor fan which was very useful because it was pretty warm most of the time. I travel with a thermometer and it was 78 in the mornings, 85 during the heat of the day, and 83 or so prior to bed. If we turned on the AC we could get it cooler.

I'm giving only a "very good" for cleanliness because I did find one spider under the sink, but otherwise this room was remarkably clean. The housekeepers swept it out and cleaned it daily. I felt very comfortable in the room and I'm a bit of a neatfreak (hence looking under the sink to find the spider).

I'm giving only a "very good" for sleep quality because the bed in room 7 did creak, but I didn't tell Stacy about it until we were leaving and she said she could have fixed that for us.

I would really recommend Sea Dreams Hotel to anyone wanting to come to Caye Caulker!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows on both sides (room 6) would allow a cross breeze for cooling off during the day.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmhillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing