We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been happier”
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Sea Dreams was absolutely fantastic. The room was clean and well furnished including a fridge stocked with reasonably priced drinks. The private rooftop decks offered a great and private place to hang out and watch the sunset. Complimentary morning breakfast was delicious and wifi was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoyFrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We saw the very good rating and pictures and were looking forward to a perfect hotel. Indeed, the island is nice, they have bikes etc. and staff is friendly, but
- hotel needs update (see pictures) and photos on the homepage are misleading - it is by far not in the state it used to be.
- we found a huge cockroach in one of the rooms - and it seems it was not the first time as we found traps.
- the charged prices in USD while in the room it was only mentioned that it is in Dollars - thus it should be Belize Dollars if not otherwise stated.
- Breakfast is served on the roof - but no railing or protection what is anything but save when travelling with children! (Breakfast could also be better - and would be nice to have clean plates at least, no?).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelDC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Beautiful sunsets from the private dock, comfortable rooms, good breakfasts, and excellent advice from Stacey, the hotel manager, all contribute to a wonderful sojourn on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Could not recommend this place more. We stayed in courtyard room 3. It had a fridge, a/c, shower with hot water, very comfy bed.
They have a private dock on the west side of the island, which is great for a quiet swim and for watching the sunset.
Free quality bikes, wifi, breakfast, hammocks....
Proprietor was very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early due to a severe sun burn (bring your own sun screen, do not buy in Belize!) and she was understanding and fair even though we had reserved more nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILike2TravelHeaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Sea Dreams hotel provided me with an authentic island experience during my six-day visit in March 2012. The rooms are island cozy, with old tile/brick floors, hot showers, small refrigerator, and ceiling fan. The beds were all hand-carved by a local craftsmen, and the sheets and pillows were top quality. Complimentary bottles of water provided upon arrival--a nice touch for thirsty travelers.

The excellent cross breezes through the windows kept the room cool most evenings, with a nice (and quiet) air conditioner if needed. All windows had decorative but secure iron grates and double locks, which really made me feel secure without blocking the view or the breezes.

I awakened each morning at sunrise to tropical birds and the occasional morning rain shower that lasted only long enough to moisten the sand courtyard.

Great little breakfast with fresh juice was served every morning—french toast and fruit one morning, eggs, beans, and fruit another, all served on the open rooftop dining area looking out towards the ocean.

No real "fitness center" at the resort, but who needs one when you spend your days diving and snorkeling. Plenty of one-speed bikes are available for your use (with bike locks)--which comes in handy for quick trips around the island.

Sea Dreams is the furthest north of all the hotels on Caye Caulker, which give special isolation and views. So many of the other hotels located closer to the center of the island feel much more exposed and noisy. For the real old fashioned Caye Caulker experience, Sea Dreams is your best option.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms were great (and a bit less expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My partner and I had the good fortune to book "Sea Dreams" after seeing it in the Moon travel guide. Our water taxi broke down on the way there, but Stacey the manager stayed there until we were settled in our room. We stayed in number 3 in the court yard for 21 days during January 2012.

You can read the other reviews here to learn about the rooms, we looked under the sink, and dang, never did see a spider. LOL

We found the staff, Stacey, Anna, Aida, Merly, Maria Elena, andJeffry to be simply the best. From our first morning, we were treated with smiles and genuine caring. We consider them friends, and were treated like family, as well as getting to know their families.

These fine folks were a knowledgeable source of information and help. (we survived Chetamul and Tulum) thanks to their tips.

This all took place in January 2012, and by the end of the next month, returned to the island and rented an apt, knowing that we had friends locally.

The dock at Sea Dreams was the best place on the island to chill, swim, snorkel, fish, the staff friendly and informative, the free breakfast great...although the coffee pot seemed to take forever to brew.....

If I could give this 10 stars, it would be. Maybe bring up the average from the person who saw a spider. Again, other than the slow coffee pot, all else was perfect.

The high ratings will probably make it harder to book a room at this island treasure, but so it goes. Gotta tell the world about this outstanding staff, and outstanding experience.

Darn bed never did squeak!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nocona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a great four days at Sea Dreams, and from what we saw elsewhere this was one of the best places to stay on Caye Caulker.

When I first arrived I was slightly disappointed by the room itself (we had a courtyard room). It had everything we needed, but did feel a little cramped. However this was quickly made up by the litle extras in the room. We had a coffee maker, along with coffee/sugar/milk powder. There was a fridge and tv in the room. The bathroom had shower gel, etc.

Another bonus is the included breakfast, served on the rooftop terrace. An excellent way to start the day. The food was simple (and a little repetitive after four days), but also included real orange juice and coffee.

Above the rooftop terrace there is an even higher palapa with a couple of hammocks, perfect for an afternoon nap. And a couple of nights we sat on or next to the hotel pier to watch the sunset.

We also made use of the free bikes to take a tour of the island. Again, a nice extra touch to throw in.

Overall a great little hotel and highly recommended

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a bit small, so if you want more space choose one of the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing