We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hope to return soon!”
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We hope to return soon!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I (mid-30s) spent 4 nights to end our time in Belize at Sea Dreams in Caye Caulker, in a Courtyard Room very recently. We really loved our time there. The staff are really wonderful - very pleasant, helpful, and laid back (in a good way!). Our included morning breakfasts with Aida on the rooftop were an amazing way to start the day.

The courtyard rooms are very basic and a little dark, but after you settle in, you begin to feel right at home. They were clean, and the bed very comfortable.

The highlights of our time at Sea Dreams came from everything else there: the roof top for breakfasts and relaxation in the mid afternoon, the great staff and service, the terrific location, the available bikes (for free!), and the seaside dock. We watched the sunset 4 nights in a row from the dock, and while a bit like "Groundhog Day" (heron fishing int he same spot, same birds flying overhead, same people having a quiet evening swim), it was perfect! And, it was so lovely a couple we met decided to exchange their vows and get married there - it was beautiful!

We hope to be back before long and will definitely call on Sea Dreams! And, it is great to know there are caring owners who give so much as well to the island with the school! Thank you!

Room Tip: We thought the courtyard rooms were just great, as there's plenty of great eats in Caye Caulker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geefmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    45
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
196
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time during our 8 day stay at Sea Dreams. I would like to especially thank the staff for making our holiday one of the best ever. The rooms were clean and met our expectations. I had a favorite bike which I used several times daily. The dock was especially scenic and a exciting place to be no matter what the time of day. Have you ever seen a bat fish? If not, visit the dock. We even saw a lobster just yards away from the dock. We canoed on two days and it was exhausting and exhilerating. I recommend taking the canoe south to the the "No fishing" sign to view the tarpon. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that I hope to return and stay at Sea Dreams. And a special thanks to Aida for the morning breakfasts which were delicious and filling and served with a warm smile. An exceptionally delightful way to start the day. Thank you so very much. Dan and Shelley Denver, CO

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleydan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

So glad I picked Sea Dreams! I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms and found it to be as advertised. The room was clean, the sheets were soft and the pillows were comfy! No bugs to be found. Breakfast was delicious. Hammocks on the rooftop deck were perfect for an afternoon nap. Stacy was the best and located a last minute Lamanai trip for me.

I have more islands to explore, but if I do find my way back to Caye Caulker, I would definitely stay at Sea Dreams again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosslady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Sea Dreams was absolutely fantastic. The room was clean and well furnished including a fridge stocked with reasonably priced drinks. The private rooftop decks offered a great and private place to hang out and watch the sunset. Complimentary morning breakfast was delicious and wifi was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoyFrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We saw the very good rating and pictures and were looking forward to a perfect hotel. Indeed, the island is nice, they have bikes etc. and staff is friendly, but
- hotel needs update (see pictures) and photos on the homepage are misleading - it is by far not in the state it used to be.
- we found a huge cockroach in one of the rooms - and it seems it was not the first time as we found traps.
- the charged prices in USD while in the room it was only mentioned that it is in Dollars - thus it should be Belize Dollars if not otherwise stated.
- Breakfast is served on the roof - but no railing or protection what is anything but save when travelling with children! (Breakfast could also be better - and would be nice to have clean plates at least, no?).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Beautiful sunsets from the private dock, comfortable rooms, good breakfasts, and excellent advice from Stacey, the hotel manager, all contribute to a wonderful sojourn on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Could not recommend this place more. We stayed in courtyard room 3. It had a fridge, a/c, shower with hot water, very comfy bed.
They have a private dock on the west side of the island, which is great for a quiet swim and for watching the sunset.
Free quality bikes, wifi, breakfast, hammocks....
Proprietor was very friendly and helpful. We had to leave early due to a severe sun burn (bring your own sun screen, do not buy in Belize!) and she was understanding and fair even though we had reserved more nights.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILike2TravelHeaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.6 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#27 of 32 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Property: Sea Dreams Hotel
Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing