We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on the island”
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond BC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best place on the island”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We totally fell in love with this little hotel, getting to know the staff and their families. This was our first time in Belize and it's been our best holiday in a long time. Our hotel was in a great location, with a dock right in front, great for swimming and snorkeling with tons of fish right at the dock! Everyday, we started with a tremendous hot breakfast prepared by Jane, the cook, who chatted with us at the breakfast bar. Then off we went for bike trips, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, and walks throughout the island, quickly getting to know the wonderful people here. Then it was back to the hotel for drinks at the bar, enjoying the breeze off the sea. We had a two bedroom, with a full kitchen, and found it to be comfortable and spacious. For the five of us, with my daughter sleeping on the couch, it worked out great. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The two bedroom on the ground floor worked great for the five of us. I think we had number 1 or 2. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stunningholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    46
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
196
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great place with friendly helpful staff. The courtyard rooms surround a large banyan tree with a huge patio upstairs on top of the rooms. Its steps away from the ocean on both sides of the island and even has a private dock with nice chairs to soak up the sun or watch it go down. Not that its far from anywhere, but its located at the very north end of the island, but the complimentary bikes make everything a few minutes away. Breakfast is included and is quite good. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

One of the better places to stay in Caye Caulker. Good value. Reasonably quiet rustic accommodations. Air conditioned for those days when there is no breeze. Attentive professional happy staff at reception and in the roof top bar/breakfast area. They enjoy their work. We really enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was my second trip to Sea Dreams and I enjoyed my stay as much this time around. The hotel is charming and the staff are friendly and hard working. I went fishing for two days with Ken Coc, a guide with Anglers Abroad at the hotel and had a great time-caught my first permit on a fly rod.

If you are looking for a nice, charming, rustic, quiet place to enjoy a piece of paradise, this is your place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonefish_Boy_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We really had an enjoyable time here. The staff were professional and friendly, from the front office, to housekeeping, to the wonderful breakfasts! The location north of the main strip is quite good and quiet except for the background noise of a daily reggae-rap jam through a PA system at the nearby Split. The hotel has a nice cabana on the backside bay and a dock, frequented by local kids which is mostly innocuous. With rooms facing an interior courtyard under the banyon tree, things are quiet and cool! Lots of good suggestions for local food and activities, and they offer free bikes which we used to cruise the island. We highly recommend Sea Breeze.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My only regret is that we only had two nights on Caye Caulker (and at SeaDreams) instead of more. We loved our room, the private dock (and the sunsets you can see from there), the staff (both Anna and Stephanie were helpful, accommodating, and wonderful) and the upstairs bar (try The Dream, it's amazing).

We hope to return and the only place we can see staying on Caye Caulker is at SeaDreams.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment faces the road and the noise from the Lazy Lizard was a little loud (nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I do not know where to begin, it was all so fabulous! First it feels like you are staying with a family. You feel very very welcomed.

The location is perfect. It is near the point, so you walk outside the building and you are one half block away in either direction to the water. They have their own dock, that is perfect for sitting out on or swimming off it. I am a swimmer and I swam every day off the dock with tropical fish. I even swam up a bit and floated with giant tarpons!! They have their own snorkels as well as kayaks, canoes, and bicycles - all FREE to use. The bikes are very islandly, but work fine. That is part of the charm.

The breakfast this place as part of your stay is the best ever. Each day over one week we had a different meal. No granola and muffins here - instead you get everything home made, fresh toast, eggs many different way, with a Belizian/Caribe flare, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed and orange juice.

The rooms are clean and there is maid service every day. It is an island atmosphere so do not expect the Ritz, but it very comfortable.

The staff is so lovely and helpful. the front desk, Anna and Stephanie are to be commended.
They arranged all sorts of things for us and always with a smile!! The cooks and wait staff are so sweet, not to mention great cooks.

The little bar upstairs is where to meet for a cocktail before dinner. It's breezy with a great view of the sunset. The owner, Haywood, will often be up there regaling about his fishing expeditions.

Sunset, be sure to go out to the dock and watch it.
Also get a massage from Lacy - the best I have ever had, and I don;t even like massages much. I had it the last night I was there to get all the kinks out of my muscles from all my water sports. It was one hour and it was complete. She was great. They set up the massage outside upstairs with white linens creating a private space. As you lay there you listen to island sounds - very relaxing.

The location is really perfect because you can walk into town, it starts at the corner. Everything is so convenient.

I almost feel I should not review this place because I want to keep it to myself!

Room Tip: We chose a suite. But I think the best rooms are the one that are upstairs and have their own balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CVL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Property: Sea Dreams Hotel
Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing