We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place little place”
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2010

The Seadreams is a great family hotel especially for first time visits to caye caulker. Stacy at front desk is very helpful and arranged our flights for us from belize city to caye caulker upon arrival at the caye airport you will be picked up by a golf cart and a very freindly local man who delivers you to seadreams for $5. It is to far to walk with suitcases and it is worth the tour anyway! The owners live next door to the hotel, so they are available to answer questions and arrange anything they can for you. There is a nice private little dock for you to sit on to read. The hotel is right beside the split and the local beach, very small and informal. The island felt very friendly and safe. It is a foreign country so don't be stupid - but it is a nice atmosphere. One gets the feeling that the local population is happy you are there not resenting that you are in their space. Suggestions remember it is a remote island there may not be propane all the time and you will survive fine for a day or so while you wait...
If you are going to have room in a suitcase when you go toss in something a highschool could use - binders - paper - good books a laptop you don't use anymore. Heidi (owner) is co-founder of a highschool they are working to establish. Remember a lot of these kids do not come from families who can efford to purchase school items for them. If you ask what they could use prior to your arrival i am sure there would be some little item that you could bring along for them.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2010

Sea Dreams was a dream of a hotel, little did we know until we departed and wished we had just stayed there for our entire trip. The rooms were clean, neatly appointed, well designed, but, unfortunately, small. No matter, though, because who wants to spend time in your room when you have a sunny roof deck with amazing views of the ocean? And a most popular local bar steps from the hotel? And a dock granting you swimming access and a sunbathing platform? Although it was a higher priced hotel of all those we checked out, it ended up being worth it spending that money. The hotel attendant, on several occasions, brought us coconuts from which to enjoy the coconut water. There were always bikes in the bike rack which we could take at our leisure and tour around the island. Save your time and book ahead with these guys so you can enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youbetterBelizeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

This hotel is right out of a storybook. Our room has everything you need, including plenty of coffee. The bathroom sinks have tiki style faucet complimented by a gorgeous wooden bowl. This hotel is a labor of love which instantly make a person feel like living here. We originally were going to stay for 2 days and are staying a full week. Every person associated with this place has a ready smile as well as the guests. Yes they are as pleasantly pleased as we are. Bright colorful burnt orange building with rooftop tanning and ocean view on two sides. Private dock, complimentary bikes and canoe. The hammock hanging from the tree is shaded by the massive vine laden treetop speckled with singing birds. Each door has wooden native masks that adds to the tropical ambience. At night soft lighting is situated toward tree trunk from the bottom. At each doorway there are comfortable chairs to lounge in and every night it is where I take in a gentle breeze with island music in the not too far distance. A place well worth any price!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlygal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Stayed 4 days in room 4 a queen bed with AC cable mini fridge and great shower. Room was very clean and you can tell someone put a lot of money into this place. Room was a bit high $50 a night but worth it. Extremely quiet, free wifi, and use of their bikes. Right next to split (Lazy Lizard) and run by some great folks. Who donate 10% to local school.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Braden1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved our stay in room #2, which is a little apartment. We had a kitchen, futon, dining area, room with queen bed, all equipped with fans and a/c. Also we had free water, which is no joke in a hot place. The manager, Stacy, was wonderful. Very laid back and friendly and easy-going...perfect for introducing you to the relaxed vibe of the island. We used the bikes a lot, which were included with the price of the room. The location is spectacular, right at the "split" where swimming is wonderful and clear and clean. And the hotel is very quiet at night because there are no restaurants or bars right next door, only the ocean. You can easily walk 5 mins to Wish Willy, a place to have dinner, and only a few more minutes to all the snorkel places and many many more restaurants. Loved Seadreams!!!
p.S.The owners also helped start the local high school this year, so 10% of the proceeds go to the new school, and being a high school teacher myself, I'm in full support.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillianclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Nice little hotel, well situated at the top end of the village next to the split and the best swimming place...... Nice clean room, rooftop with a view and sun deck.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75014PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stacy (front office manager) with the owners Heidi and Hayward have got to be the nicest people in the world.

The rooms are tastefully appointed and the views from the hotel (especially from the roof) are second to none.

Seadreams has a 270 degree view of water and is located close to the local fisherman.


Stay here and experience the comforts of home while being in the middle of real Caye Caulker.

3  Thank professor_computers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#5 of 19 in Caye Caulker
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barefoot Beach Belize
Barefoot Beach Belize
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.5 mi away
Amanda's Place
Amanda's Place
#2 of 33 in Caye Caulker
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing