We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting & superb service”
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Sea Dreams is set at the end of the island, near the 'spit'. This means it is by the only area on caye caulkner where the sea is truly turquiose with not much seaweed.
When we arrived we were greeted by Anna, the lady on reception, with a large smile. We were after 2 rooms, and even though we were out of tourist season there were only 2 rooms left!. Whilst talking to Anna she offered that if we did not want to have breakfast or air con that we could have the rooms cheaper, as I was always after a baragin. She did not have to offer us these options, but kindly did so to make the rooms cheaper.
The rooms were lovely, very stylish in decor, high comfortable beds, TV, and proper fresh coffee for the machine in your room, along with free water bottles.
In addition Anna was more than helpful with respect to trying to find out trips for us - diving and snorkelling, and always greeted us with a smile and a hello. Her customer service was fantastic, and you felt at ease the moment we got there.
Sea dreams is a great hotel in a great setting and I would recommend it to travellers who don't mind paying a tiny nit extra for a great room and setting (& free bicycle use :-))

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipflops75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Sea Dreams Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2010

The hotel staff were friendly and willing to do anything for you. The island people are the most friendly laid back folks you'll ever meet. The hotel gives you bikes which are despartely needed on the island. The food at the restaurants is really good. The hotel also gives you a 5 gallon water bottle which you'll need for drinking and brushing your teeth. But the hotel only has a few beach chairs and they are often taken. They will give you one beach towel that you have to sit on the dock with if you don't get a chair. Advice: take a blow up raft with you if you want to lay out in the sun to use on the dock. Downside is the water smell in the unit. It has a terrible smell of sulfur which is hard to get used to showering in. The smell I think got worse each day. They kept saying they were treating it but it got worse not better. The internet availability was also almost non-existent at the hotel and I had to go to a coffee shop for access. I'd go back to the island but maybe not this hotel as I heard from talking to others that the hotels closer to the ferry wasn't as strong of a smell. Also, we had a larger unit but there was only one AC in the unit so it would take forever to cool the bedroom. If you opened the windows, you go the biting mosquitoes. Take a snokeling trip to the reef while there to see amazing coral and fish!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationqueen4097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaDreamsHotel, Owner at Sea Dreams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2010

Dear Vacation Queen -

I'm glad you enjoyed the service of our staff and your time on the island, though I am sorry to hear of the few unpleasant things you experienced. Fortunately, we have remedied each of these things:

- A potable water system, purified by reverse osmosis, was completed on the island during the summer. Islanders awaited this system for approximately 2 years while the pipes were installed. Now, all hotel water comes through this system (not all hotels opted for this). In addition, we continue to provide free bottled water.

- We recently installed a new, high-powered, wireless router so that the signal would make it through all of the cement walls.

- We've added more chairs to the dock, the beach, and the rooftop. In addition, we're currently completing a two-story sunrise-sunset palapa for a three-sided, sea-view from our rooftop.

Vacation Queen, we always appreciate guest feedback and strive to meet all of your expectations. We would love the chance to surpass your expectations on your return visit.

All the best,

Heidi Curry
Owner
Sea Dreams Hotel
Caye Caulker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Went to Caye Caulker without having decided where to stay. When got there asked one the taxis to show me 5 hotels based on my budget. Of the ones I saw, this looked like a quiet and nice place to enjoy a couple of relaxing days, but also close to the area where restaurants are located. I think I made a very good decision, frienclly staff and very nice location, great place to relax. Very nice roof to sit down at the end of the afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peace_respect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Caye Caulker was the second half of our Christmas trip to Belize with our 2 college aged sons. (We had spent the 1st half inland) I could have easily stayed far longer than the 4 nights that we had. The pace of life on the island is great. We lounged and had some adventures snorkeling and diving (and fishing for my husband). We used the hotel's bicycles and rode around the island. We also ate long leisurely breakfasts and sat in the hotel hammock and also on the rooftop.
The rooms at the hotel are small but wonderfully air conditioned and very clean. If you are looking for a standard American luxury hotel this probably isn't what you have in mind but then, neither is Caye Caulker. We had 2 adjoining rooms...one large bed in ours and 2 twin size beds in the room next door for the boys. Good clean drinking water is amply provided at no charge which is a real plus. The service is friendly and helpful. We felt like we were visiting with friends. It was really tough to leave. I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank librarylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Words cannot express enough gratitude and appreciation to everyone at Sea Dreams! Thanks to all whom touched our lives while on our vacation. This was a vacation my children will NEVER forget thanks to the excellent service, accomodations and just general hospitality shown to my dad and us while visiting for the week. My only regret is that we had to leave. We are in discussion phases right now to come back next year with friends to celebrate my 50th!

Heidi, Haywood, Stacey, Anna, and those of you who worked behind the scenes....thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmjcarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in January and loved our experience. We stayed in one of the rooms in the courtyard by the banyan tree. The room was small but clean and comfortable and fine for the two of us. The location was ideal for us as it was quiet and away from the main part of 'town' yet only a short (free) bike ride away if we wanted to grab a bite to eat. We enjoyed swimming off the dock where the water was clean and clear and we were able to see a lot of different fish and even turtles. We would walk to the Lazy Lizard in the late afternoon for a Belikin and to listen to some reggae music. I would recommend Sea Dreams to anyone who is looking for a quiet, clean and affordable place to stay in Caye Caulker. I know we'll stay there again if and when we return to the island for vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keke913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We were not impressed with this place. We had booked a 1 bedroom cabana ($90) in advance but when we arrived it was not available because it needed "work" after a long term rental. We were offered one of two other places hat were more expensive ($110) for our original price of $90.
One was in the "hotel" and the other was a stand alone 2 bedroom cabana/house. We choose the house as it would be quietier.
We stayed for 5 nights. The first 2 nights I woke at 2 or 3 am to my wife's frantic screaming that cockroaches were in the bathroom. After the first 2 nights we left the bathroom light on and that seemed to keep them away. We did NOT mention the roaches to the staff because we were afraid they would just spray the place to death and that would have been scarier than the cockroaches.
The bathroom was in desperate need of maintenance and that, I assume, was why the cockroaches were present.
We were willing to pay this price because we thought we would save money having a kitchen but we spoke to many people who were paying $30 - $50 per night and just buying all there meals and were paying less per day than us.
The cockroaches were bad enough but we really paid too much money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tall_Guy_Cycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seadreamsbelize, Owner at Sea Dreams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2010

Dear Tall Guy Cycling -

Our sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory stay. We wish we had known of your cockroach problem - we would have moved you to the hotel or refunded your payment.

Shortly after your stay, we canceled our lease of the cabanas to which you refer. Because we did not own the property, we could not invest the capital expense required to bring the quality up to the high standard of our hotel (which we do own). Further, because the cabanas were not adjacent to the hotel (and our front desk), we were not always able to anticipate the needs of our guests (and in your case, complaints).

As of June 2010, Sea Dreams Hotel offers 8 units at our hotel (5 courtyard rooms and 3 apartments) and soon, we will offer one cabana adjacent to the hotel. This cabana will be constructed and maintained at the same, high-quality standard of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Heidi Curry
Owner
Sea Dreams Hotel
Caye Caulker, Belize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing