We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, But Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Grill

Rainbow Grill
Ranked #19 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Good, But Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Go to the Rainbow Grill if you feel like treating yourself to a more expensive meal. The service was great and the food was tasty, but the bill was significantly more than we paid anywhere else. However, the breeze and the view on the deck are definitely worth a few bucks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissAmyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    290
    149
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond BC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had our first dinner in Caye Caulker here. The waterfront view is irresistible and food was great. The place is spacious, overlooking the sea and the sunset was amazing. Don't forget your camera!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stunningholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fish, but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Rainbow has some of the best fish I have ever tasted. I had the ginger snapper which was close to the best seafood I have ever had.

The only downside was they get really, really busy and the staff doesn't seem too interested in being there. I asked for steamed veggies as a side and the waitress informed me "look man, we're busy. You'll get rice and beans". Not very cool in my book.

Also, they are on of the few places that sneaks the GST in on you at the end. Although it was tasty, I don't think it was worth the poor service and the price.

I probably would not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoodRiverHoncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have to try the Rainbow Deluxe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Nice vibe and good location. You can sit for your meal and look out over the water watching the surf on the reef and boats go by. If your craving something from home(Canada) you must have their Rainbow Deluxe Burger. Better than most I get at home and very large portion. Couldn't finish all mine. Forgot to mention that it is a double burger. Service was very good and the staff is very friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Location on the Water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This patio restaurant overlooks the water. The menu was nicely varied. We had the special -- coconut-crusted conch -- which was delicious and there was a good variety of side dishes served with it. We were only on Caye Caulker for three days, but this was the best dinner place we tried. I look forward to returning the next time I visit Caye Caulker.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DivineMissMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Rainbow Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing