We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caye Reef”
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CayeReef
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Caye Reef”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Caye Reef is a nice newer small condo complex. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom 2 bath penthouses. It is conveniently located near the popular cut. Everything worked so there are no issues. They do not provide maid service but if you need anything such as additonal towels they will provide them. They provide unlimited bottled water which is nice. The jacuzzi is not heated and that did not make my wife happy. I have been to Caye Cauker several times and would stay at Caye Reef again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roneiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review "roneiges" and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Jacuzzi is only heated in the evening to be hot for sunset as most guests find the days too warm for a hot tub - we are always happy to turn it on early if a guest requests. Our maid service policy is on our website's booking page.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Caye Caulker. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    23
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best staff and best condo on the island. I cannot say enough good things about caye reef. So close to the split and such a great view from any room. The rooftop hot tub is perfect to the the night. Beds are so amazing and Bobbi is possibly the must accommodating host ever. I will be back in June to enjoy again! Thank you all so much!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank abbymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow, what a tremendous review "abbymark" thank you; we are very pleased you had such a fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Strongly recommended. On this trip we were a retired couple traveling with our son and his two daughters ages 10 & 14. We prefer less structured, casual, independent travel. Rustic is okay if fairly clean and safe. We are avid photographers and often wander off the beaten path.

We've stayed on Caye Caulker before and seen most of the places to stay. This would be our #1 choice. A nearly perfect place in a perfect location – the Caye Reef is very attractive consisting of 6 units plus a pool and a roof top hot tub area with views both East and West. The entrance area and pool are surrounded by a wall. We felt extremely safe because of the layout, locks, etc.

The Caye Reef is on Front Street about 2 blocks south of the Split. It faces the East (windward side) and there's a nice breeze most of the time. Very important for comfort and keeping the bugs down. Each unit has a balcony with seating and a hammock. The view to the East is unobstructed by any other buildings. The view is through palms to a couple of docks and the water. We were on the second floor in #3 and we'd choose it again. High enough for a good view, but only two sets of stairs to climb. Access to the units and pool is by a door through the wall. The door is locked at night and each unit is given keys to the door.

The manager Bobbi and her assistant Heidi are very helpful and friendly. We used Bobbi to make our reservations on Tropic Air to and from Caye Caulker. Bobbi communicated efficiently and clearly with us about our reservations at Caye Reef and about our reservations with Tropic Air. She offered to have us met when we arrived on Caye Caulker. At our request Bobbi also made our reservations with C&N Cart rentals.

Our unit was spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, a full kitchen and a large living room. The A/C is very strong and there are ceiling fans as well. The unit was decorated with very attractive local art. The description online and the photos are accurate. The unit was very clean. Although it was a bit worn in some places, that's to be expected and we would definitely stay here again. The Caye Reef is built very solidly and although we had units above and below us, we never heard any of the other guests.

Again, very strongly recommended. It's popular and I recommend booking it as early as possible in your planning. Perfect for 2 couples and 2 more if using the sofa in the living room is acceptable.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor have a view and the odd numbered rooms may have a more open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrockSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Wow, what an in-depth and supportive review "BrockSanDiego". The staff all read these reviews and they feel great to have their efforts appreciated, thank you. We hope we have the chance to host you again on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in Caye Caulker one day and one night. The hotel was very nice and confortable, everything was easy, like the people working there. We had a very specious and confortable apartment for 4 people! We would definitively love to spend more time there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your generous review "Daniela D". It is only a shame you could only stay for one night. We hope you get a chance to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We just completed our 3rd stay at Caye Reef; 2-wks, 4-wks, and 6-wks over the last three years. This is a great home away from home, all needed amenities provided. Bobbi is very professional, accommodating and speaks when spoken to. The real GEM of Caye Reef is Heydi. She always has a smile, a greeting and often asks if everything is OK and reminds you, we can't fix it if you don't tell us. Heydi will also tell you who the honest and best merchants are if you ask her. Hope they pay her what she is worth! We only wish they had a monthly rate.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you "Jan W" for the positive review, and for coming back to us. Our staff work hard and will be glad of your kind comments. We will have a discussion about monthly rates and post any changes to our web site.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 days in January and really enjoyed our condo. The two bedroom units are roomy, and have two bathrooms so are suited to couples sharing. Full kitchen (sans dishwasher) make snacks and meals easy. A generous living space is good for 6-8 people, and balconies are sizable. The concrete structure, is solid (in contrast to many shabby wood buildings here)

Having a rooftop space is special, and the hot tub a nice end-of-day sanctuary. Adjacent area has lounges and enough space for several yoga practitioners. The pool in front overlooking the beach is nice for a rinse dip after an ocean swim, at the nearby 'Split" (watch out for the strong current there)

The staff are very helpful, and Bobbi can make arrangements for a golf cart taxi to meet you at the Ferry Dock. That was a nice touch for first time arrivals; seeing your name on a poster board after a long journey to a new place is stress-relieving. Bicycles are onsite for a very cheap rental fee. For small kids, there is a local playground across the street.

Some minor negatives were the tiny TV, and the pillows were way firm for us.

Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the first level room, but upstairs have larger balconies and more ocean view. Construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyBWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of CayeReef and environs. As a result of your comments we now give every guest both a firm and a soft pillow - so the choice is yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed in the two bed condo for about one week in January 2014.

The condos are very clean, and well decorated. In fact, the decor is so modern that you would want to buy some of the artwork.

The service is good, and the manager Bobbi is very helpful.

The bathrooms are very clean, which is unusual for Caye Caulker.

The location is excellent and it is a three minute walk from the Split. Also, you can see Front Street from the balconies and therefore, great for people watching.

The biggest asset by far is the roof top terrace. The views are amazing. There is simply nothing more romantic than a late night swing in the hammock watching the stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanphilipe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments "ryanphilipe2008". We are pleased you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Property: CayeReef
Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing