We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
242
23
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
23
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caye reef hot tub full kitchen local calls place to stay great condo two couples living room rooftop jacuzzi water taxi locked gate top floor cool off lazy lizard great rooftop laid back golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We loved all the room in this place - not just 2 good sized bedrooms each with an ensuite bath, but the large living room (3 couches!), full kitchen, balcony with hammocks, etc - The management was incredibly responsive to fixing little things like a leaky blender - replaced in minutes, literally. Not inexpensive, but we stayed in 3 different places on Caye Caulker and this was by far the best value for the 4 of us... The roof has a great view, a lukewarm hot tub, the pool was clean and inviting, etc

Room tip: Only six apartments - views are better higher up, but they cost more - just reserve early!
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booklovingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Four of us shared the "penthouse" condo #6 for 4 nights. The price was right, and it was centrally located near just about everything including restaurants and "The Split". The condo was clean, very nicely decorated, and felt safe. We especially enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night on the roof. Great place to watch the sun set! Very relaxing vacation! My only complaint was that the hot tub was not very hot until about 8:00 at night. Other than that, I would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank wendy19716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review "wendy19716". The hot tub is on a timer as most guests seem to prefer it cool during the hot days and hot in the evenings. 8pm is quite late so the timer may be a bit go-slow. I will have it checked. For your next visit please just ask if you would like the heater on earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

My fiance and I just completed a week-long stay at Caye Reef and were hard-pressed to head back to the winter chill in Chicago. Our top-floor apartment blew us away as soon as we walked in. The door opens into a large entry-way with two couches and a large coffee table splashed with sunlight from the French doors leading to the balcony. The fully-loaded kitchen is separated by a neat breakfast bar, and it included everything you'll need for a tropical island stay - refrigerator, microwave, blender, stove, oven, toaster, ice trays, a large supply of drinking water (think water cooler) and plenty of helpful cooking tools/utensils. We frequently cooked our own breakfasts to save some money, and we relished waking up early to a cup of coffee and homemade breakfast to start our day. The master bedroom was spacious with a large king-size bed, walk-in closet and a master bathroom featuring a large shower. But the real gem of the room is the balcony. With ample space for multiple people, Caye Reef also supplies two chairs, a small couch, a coffee table and a hammock for lounging with a book in case you need to escape the afternoon sun (which we did frequently). The apartment has a second bedroom which would make Caye Reef ideal for two couples or a family.

In the evenings, we would venture upstairs to the roofdeck for a drink and a gorgeous view of the sunset. The roofdeck features multiple hammocks, deck chairs and tables, as well as a hot tub. Caye Reef also has an in-ground pool on the first floor with ample deck chair space that is perfect if you need a day away from the crowd at The Split.

Location-wise, Caye Reef is ideal. It is very close to The Split and right across the street from Terry's Grill (who serves up some of - if not the - best lunch on the island). Everything on Caye Caulker is a short walk, but Caye Reef manages to be just far enough away from "downtown" that you feel just enough seclusion when you return to room.

While there are certainly less-expensive options on Caye Caulker, you'd be hard-pressed to find a stay that provides more bang for your buck from a pure accommodation standpoint. The staff is very attentive without being intrusive, and the room was in perfect shape when we arrived. Anyone staying at Caye Reef should know this is less a hotel and more of an apartment - you will be left to your own devices for most things (i.e. no breakfast provided), but the staff will help arrange taxi service between the airport and the water taxi on the mainland, give you tour operator advice (Tsunami Tours next door is phenomenal!), and answer any questions you may have about staying on the island.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here four adults for four nights and absolutely loved it! The condo was really spacious and had everything you could posibly need. The location was ideal! There a some great restaurants on the lagoon side. A must when on caye caulker is to feed the tarpons. There is a lady on the dock who sell sardines - the fish will jump a feet to catch them.

Date of stay: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombatdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Really hard to add anything that hasn't been said, close enough to the split that you can partially see it from our second floor unit (4) yet not loud at all. The girls in the office were always very helpful with our many questions, Great walking up and down Front Street checking out places to eat, right next door to Tsunami Adventures, which was great too. We loved watching the people walk by and sitting on the beach out front. The roof top deck with hot tub is really what gives this place the extra edge over other places. Watching the sunsets, swinging in the hammock, sitting in the hot tub after a long day of snorkelling, what more can you ask for!
Cannot stress enough how laid back CC is. Really, packed way too much for the dress code which is a bathing suit (not even necessary to wear a beach cover up) then into shorts for supper.
We used the bikes one morning which was fun, they are a great way to get around even though we had pretty much already walked the whole place. Rent a golf cart too, delivery and pick up right at your door.
We spent our first 7 nights on CC then 5 nights in San Pedro. If we were to do it again we would spend all of the time on CC, it was way more relaxing. All depends on what your looking for. We found San Pedro to be bumper to bumper Golf Cart gridlock.

Room tip: Stayed in #4, 2nd floor. If you don't mind stairs go for the 2nd or 3rd floors. Rooms 2,4 & 6 are on the North side (the split) Great accomadations for 2 couples or families.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winterpeg880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews