We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
242
23
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
23
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caye reef hot tub full kitchen local calls place to stay great condo two couples living room rooftop jacuzzi water taxi locked gate top floor cool off lazy lizard great rooftop laid back golf cart
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2016

This was our first trip to Belize. We traveled with another couple, so we really wanted a place with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, which weren't easy to find. CayeReef was great! The condos are nice, with a great rooftop view in all directions. The location is a little out of the way from most of the restaurants. We anticipated the island being a little livelier at night, but it was super quiet, which was fine with us. They provide housekeeping every third day, which is just right.

Probably my only complaint is that you don't have access to the thermostat, and the first night we all froze! We could have gotten up and removed the key, which would have turned it off completely, but after a long day of travel I don't think any of us even thought of that! I understand that all of the power there is produced from a generator and must be pretty expensive, so I get why they do it this way.

It's a bit on the spendy side, which is the only thing that might get us to look for something else next time, but you can't go wrong here!

Room tip: Higher floors have better views, but the view from the roof is the best!
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deb18560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

We appreciate your positive review "Deb18560". The island does have a laid-back vibe and the nights (outside Easter and Lobster Fest.) can be quiet. There are some busier places, but they won't suit every taste - best to check with the front desk.
We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Comfortable rooms. Right in the heart of the town. Very clean and a private pool. The hot tube had a beautiful view but the temperature of the water was always cool.
The staff made all our connections for the ferry, taxis and even had a cart waiting for us at the condo. This is a small island with wonderful people and outstanding scenery.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us "Janet W". We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we can host you again soon. Next time, if the hot-tub temperature does not suit, please let the front desk know and we are happy to adjust. As you can imagine, given the tropical heat, some people prefer it cooler than others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed in Penthouse #5 for 5 nights in January and it was amazing! The condo was very spacious, clean and bright. Although we did not make use of the kitchen very much, it was nice to have for the odd meal or light snack. Having the living room was nice if we just wanted to relax on the couch for a nap before dinner. The views from the balcony were amazing but the view from the rooftop is even better! The pool was great to have for a quick dip to cool off. The location was AMAZING - easy walking to lots of restaurants and bars and of course, The Split! Very nice to have 2 bathrooms - easy for a family or 2 couples to share.

Room tip: The higher the room, the better the view from the balcony.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Not only is this is the best located property on the island, it is also beautiful, spacious, modern & extremely clean. Each room has a private ensuite, large living area, well equipped kitchen, private balcony, large pool & roof spa. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

This property is gorgeous, there is a pool, the villas are spacious, bikes are included, and it's right on the main strip.

We got such a great deal. We booked the Hummingbird villa on AirBNB, but it was double booked, so they upgraded us to the CayeReef hotel. It was a great deal and we were really happy to be so much closer to everything.

We were able to rent bikes to ride around town, making our commutes that much quicker.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews