We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the nicest place to stay-if you are looking for ammenities.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CayeReef
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the nicest place to stay-if you are looking for ammenities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed at Caye Reef Thanksgiving week 2009. Prior to coming into Caye Caulker, I felt secure in the fact that all reservations were a go and the plan was set for the week due to lot's of friendly emailing. Upon arriving in Belize City we were greeted and picked up by Jason who took us to the water taxi dock. Great guy, no problems and he was helpful. The ride on the boat over to Caye Caulker was about 50 minutes through the beautiful waters of the Caribbean. When we arrived Frederick greeted us and took all of our backs on his luggage lugging bike. We walked through the sandy street up to Caye Reef. Bobbi greeted us and seemed hurried and eager to be done with us but we had what we needed for now. Keys to the condo and few directions on how to operate things. The place was great and looks like everything you see in the photos. The location was perfect overlooking the street and if you go to the top, both sides of the island for both sunset and sunrise!. We have been to the Caribbean many times staying at many different places. Cay Caulker is REALLY laid back and all you need to do is rent a bike at the Friendship grocery store for about $25 USD. It was almost too fancy some times to come back to our very modern and air conditioned condo but were not complaining! The only thing I must say is that Bobbi was helpful when you needed her but not very friendly most of the time. You have to remember that you are staying in a small village and you see the same people all the time. Most times when we ran into Bobbi she acted like she didn't know us. I was puzzled about this especially since we had such good luck speaking with her on email. We realized that Bobbi has to run the whole show and has a lot to do. But a little more friendly hospitality would go a long way on an already friendly island. Again, we felt that it was probably the nicest place on the island but of course you pay for it. For us it was reasonable as we split it with another couple. Overall we really loved the slow island life of Cay Caulker, the little markets, the price of lobster, the little restaurants and bars. If we returned, we would stay at Caye Reef hands down!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Searay91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    20
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

You can definitely go cheap when visiting Caye Caulker but that is not the way I fly. Caye Reef is priced right and truely a great place to stay. You could not ask for a better location on the island. Close to everything including the split where everyone swims. It exceeded all my expectations and the staff was great. Bobbi is a great lady and will arrange everything for you from transportation to tour bookings. She is a wealth of knowledge. Caye Reef is new and they keep the property spotless. A true gem on the island. Thanks again for your hospitality and I look forward to my next visit to Caye Caulker. You have my business for sure.

Clark from Chandler, Arizona

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

The hotel was wonderful, the staff top notch and available and ready at your command; the rooms were wonderful

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana_newknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

Caye Reef was a truly great experience. From the moment I landed in Belize City, the staff was at my service. They arranged a taxi from the airport to the water taxi. When my flight was late my driver got me to the last water taxi of the day, which he got to wait (something I hear never happens).
After arriving on the island, we were met by Bobbi who arranged someone to take our luggage to our place (about a five minute walk from the water taxi dock). Along the way she pointed out great places to eat, like the Sports Bar (which has great ceviche).
The hotel was beautiful and secure with a privacy gate. We stayed in the penthouse, which sleeps four (two bedrooms: one with a queen and one with a king). The balcony had fantastic views, as did the roof top, which has a hot tub and four hammocks. There are two bathrooms, a kitchen and a living room/dining area.
The kitchen is fully equipped with a full size fridge, microwave, sink, and oven/stove, as well as cooking utensils, dishes, etc... The only problem we had was the stove taking a long time to heat up, which was a electrical grounding issue that was being resolved.
The staff provided fresh towels, garbage removal, and drinking water as we needed it. Caye Reef also has one of the only swimming pools on the island.
The location is great, just a few minutes from "The Split" (the best place for swimming), next to Tsunami, who hooked us up with great deals for snorkeling, cave tubing, and fishing (bigger discount if you pay in cash), and Wish Willie restaurant where we ate huge mounds of shrimp, chicken, lobster tails, and pasta for about $25 USD.
If you are looking for a place with all the comforts you might need, stay at Caye Reef.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eightMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Property: CayeReef
Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing